We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Caterina
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Had intended to turn up in siena and find somewhere really central. Didn't work. Booked here on line and thought it looked miles out, but it really is a ten minute stroll to the centre,and for the money, it's one of the nicest places I have ever stayed at. My room (3) has flagstones, beautiful old furniture, a desk, a television( which I haven't turned on) , a gorgeous view over the hills, beautiful painted ceilings. In short, I feel I have got a great deal. The breakfast, which I have had in the lovely garden has been good quality continental standard. On arrival, hot sweaty having struggled with a heavy,ruck sack, I asked for a gin and tonic, and had it in the garden. I settled my billtonight, and see that it cost me 5euro, which for,siena, is nothing.
The staff are friendly. There,are dishes with sweets. The reception smells lovely. The flagstones and the rugs and the,fittings are all delightful. I am reluctant to go, but intend to come back very soon, and bring others. I feel like I have had a great holiday. The ambience of the,Santa,caterina,has,had,a lot,to do with this. Oh, and the room is beautifully clean, and well made up,every day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We want to thank you and your staff for a wonderful stay.
Everyone.... and we mean everyone was gracious and helpful.
Wonderful breakfast and breakfast staff.
Please tell them all to keep up their wonderful service... it is so appreciated.
We especially want you to know how helpful Lucio has been.
When we had a question he was so very helpful.
We also observed him working with what appeared to be some more demanding guests.
He is excellent in his charm and skill in working quickly and effectively.
All our regards.

Room Tip: We booked early and got a wonderful room with a view to the gardens that are also accessible from lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The staff is friendly, accommodating and fluent in English. The hotel is charming with comfortable well appointed rooms and a splendid view from the garden where one can breakfast, enjoy the view and soak up some sun or sit in the shade of a magnolia tree. Breakfast is very good. The hotel is just a brief stroll from the Porta Romana and the city walls.
Parking on site is free and easy to access if you aren't a dolt. Ask for a room on the garden side.
Both of our stays have been great and I would definitely go back again.
CapeBrian

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

CHECK-IN:Terrible experience from the moment we set foot in the door! We had accidentely booked the room for just one, although all the beds are double, so the receptionist was flustered and informed us right away that we will have to pay more. Which is fine, however the receptionist could have asked about our trip or finding the hotel, which he did not. Very rude.

PARKING: This hotel is on a very busy corner, no parking unless they give you the clicker to open the gate, so we drove by a few times before having to illegally park our car in front of the hotel to check in. When the recptionist finally gave us the clicker and we got into our car to go around the corner to pull in the parking, the clicker did not work!! Italians were honking at us, and my husband was forced to pull as close to the wall as possible to let others pass, while I ran up the street and around an incredibly busy and dangerous corner (with no sidewalk at all) to get the recptionist and inform him that the clicker does not work. He came out with me with another clicker to open the gate. At this time my husband was trying to back into the busy street to get an angle that allowed him to enter this tiny gate since he had to pull forward to let others pass, and scratched the side of the car really good...all the while the recptionist was guiding him. So don't trust their clicker or guidance if they try and direct into the spot. The worse part is that the receptionist did not even bother to apologize or acknowledge what he had done. If you drive to Siena, DO NOT STAY HERE.

ROOMS: You can hear people walking in the hall way, the toilets run for 10 minutes after you flush, and you can hear the plumbing from all the other rooms when they flush as well. We were extremely hot in our hotel room, even after we had turned off the heat, and to our dismay the Air-Conditioning was not "on yet for the year" according to the staff. Which would have been fine because you can open the window for a nice breeze. But the traffic is so loud and dense on the busy street that you cannot sleep, it's way too loud. So me and my husband would lay in bed with the window open to let the room cool down for an hour wide awake, miserable. When we informed the staff they didn't care, and offered no help, no solution.

BREAKFAST: I keep hearing people say that breakfast is amazing...but it is really basic and bland. Was not tasty at all.

LOCATION: Too far from the city. Not worth it. Stay somewhere more centrally located.

CHECKOUT: they charged us for the parking and a 15EURO city tax charge that had to be paid in cash, my guess is that they kept the money for themselves. Not convinient for the guests. I am not sure why Rick Steves would recommend this hotel, or anyone else for that matter.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feliciagdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience although on our point of view it looks things are different from what you said.
First of all, when you walked into the hotel, the Concierge noted that you have booked a single room and pointed it out since there were two people. You clearly said that even if the bed were a single one it wouldn’t have been a problem. At that point the Concierge told you that the bed in the room that you booked is a queen size bed and could have had two people too and offered you to see it. You said that it was all right and asked for the parking. The Receptionist being flustered is probably due to your mistake, not to our fault, since it wasn’t our mistake at all. Therefore, your point clearly states that even the single rooms have a bigger bed which makes our hotel even more comfortable.

You were rushing things up and you agreed on the solution very quickly which made the receptionist confident enough about your choice not to go forward seeking for other solutions. Even because when he asked if you wanted to see the room you didn’t want to see it. Also, at that point there was only a single room left and since you choosed a not refundable rate we already charged you, as we are supposed to do, the total amount of your stay. So the only practical solution other than allowing you to stay in the room that we correctly assigned you, would have been not to permit you to stay in the same room and obligate you to pay, and cof course have, another single room so that you and your husband couldn’t even have slept togheter. The only other solution, if you wanted to be togheter, would have been to help you finding another hotel without refunding you since the booking you made clearly stated “NOT REFUNDABLE”. If it may have seemed rude not to do such a thing please forgive us, but it looks like we helped you.

About the additional price he informed you that there was a small additional cost to pay right after you agreed to take that room because, due to our transparency policy, we want people to know what there is to pay BEFORE staying with us and not at the checkout. We also like to state that we just charged you the breakfast for the second person, being the price of single room included of just one breakfast as the Concierge clearly said to you, and not for the room usage and bathroom supplies, which we could have.

About the parking we would like to apologize since the gate’s remote wasn’t working. As the concierge did when he came out with a new one there was a technical issue on that specific remote he had given to you and as he reports, he promptly apologized clearly saying that the remote wasn’t really working due to an issue on the device at that specific moment. Although, he came outside to open the gate , he remained with you and stand in the middle of the street, behind the car in order to block cars to allow your husband to backup and drive the car inside. From that position obviously he couldn’t guide him also because to block cars he was standing IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET ten meters behind. We are deeply sorry your husband scratched the car, but we cannot be held responsible. While this was happening you were standing in front of the car and since that is the natural position for guiding someone in, probably the concierge thought you were giving directions to your husband.

About the heat in the room while you stayed in our hotel the outside temperature was down to 9° C. Our guests were asking for the heating system to be turned on. Since our system must be totally switched from heating to air conditioning we thought that the temperature didn’t allow us to do such a thing since even the forecast was predicting lower temperature and we should have been prepared to deal with this eventuality.

For what it concern the breakfast we are sorry you didn’t like it. It is a matter of personal taste and obviously we didn’t satisfy you. But you stated that you heard people saying it was amazing. This must mean something.

About the location the Hotel is 100 meters out of Porta Romana, one of the city gates to access to the historical center. And it’s a 10/15 minute walk away from Piazza del Campo, the center of the city. This is written in any website that describes our structure and you can verify it on any map. Our Hotel offers also a backyard garden with a view on the hills which makes it unique compared to any other city Hotel. Again it is a matter of taste, and we want our guest to be happy choosing us, but in this case, since you didn’t even were aware to have booked a single room instead of a double probably you didn’t even read about the peculiarity of our structure.
And now it comes the most important part.

We are really sorry you didn’t enjoy your staying. Our guests are almost always happy and enjoy their staying. Critics can be good to improve wherever they are based on an objective analysis and prove that we can do better as we always have the will to do. Any suggestion is welcome at our place to help us make a better job.
But we do not accept that you can, in any case even suspect that we can steal money. We ask to pay cash the local city tax only because it goes directly to the city taxes collectors Your review has reached the lowest point and you should be more careful to say such a thing since we gave you a regular receipt that the City Administration had given us to give to our customers

We understand that you had a problem accessing our parking place scratching your car and we are sorry but we have nothing to apologize and we now see how it affected your mood by outbursting your frustration in this review.
If we wanted to take your money we could have charged you € 15 for the parking as it is written in the front page of our Hotel on the website you used to book with us, instead of offering you a discount of € 5 per day which, by the way, equal the local city tax you paid like everybody have to pay in the Italy Hotels since 2012

We could have charged you for the plates and the glasses we gave you to have your wine and you food and we didn’t. We could have charged the full price for the parking and we ddin’t. Moreover we could have let you choose only between taking another single room or to walk out without a refund but we didn’t.
Your allegations are a calumny that has nothing to do with our professional work as fortunately stated by the hundreds of positive reviews.

I do not usually respond with harsh tones to the Guests's reviews but in this case I think these your statements have been highly detrimental to our image therefore I was forced to explain exactly how really the things turned out. One thing are the points of view other things are the unfounded allegations.

Greetings
The Manager
Lorenza Capannelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The view is just magnificent, nice small breakfast looking at the valley, friendly service, small but efficient rooms. Old nostalgic building. Free wifi, great terrace overlooking the view. Lots of green and plants everwhere, I reccomend!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Jon217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. Your words make us very happy and we are extremely satisfied that you have fully appreciated our structure and our service. We work every day to ensure a wonderful stay to our guests and your words repay us for our efforts. Spring is blooming and we just planted some new flowers. With the warm weather will start to serve breakfast in the garden. We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel to make your stay even more memorable.

The Manager and the Staff all !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

After searching for a hotel in Siena, we came upon Hotel Santa Caterina. A friendly staff, fair price, close to the old city, a large room and its own parking space. What else do you need from a hotel when staying in Siena?

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sagi Ve Ilana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

we are extremely happy you enjoyed our Hotel. We are always willing to make you stay perfect and your words testify our goal achievement. It’ a pleasure to have had you with us and that you had such a good experience. We wish to welcome you again in a near future, maybe during the warm season when we serve breakfast on the patio, to start the day in the terrace over Heaven.

The Manager and the Staff all !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

These are outstanding accommodations! The hosts are attentive, the location and the rooms are outstanding…away from the tourist mob yet close walking distance to the old town. We had the luxury of speaking English with the staff. Rick Steves was right…stay here. We’re going back this spring!

Room Tip: choose the side with the view if you can, but you don't come here to sit in your room, so it rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimJanetCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorycap, Direttore at Hotel Santa Caterina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all THANK YOU for your nice words!
We are very happy you had a great time at our Hotel and that you liked so much your accomodation!
We always work to make it happen and as we know we did it we cannot be more happy!
Thank you again! We cannot wait to have you here again this spring.

Best regards and see you soon,

The Manager and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
680 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,470 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Elda
Hotel Villa Elda
#11 of 40 in Siena
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Caterina

Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 7, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £60 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Caterina 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Caterina Hotel in Siena offers more than a bed and a breakfast service. Housed in a renovated 18th-century patrician villa, it is a small and cosy hotel lying just a few metres from Porta Romana (Roman Gate), one of the medieval accesses to the town centre of Siena.If you are looking among all the hotels in Tuscany - and specifically among the hotels in Siena - for the one that can serve you both as a base for daily excursions and as a comfortable pied-à-terre within the city limits, our 22-room facility will meet your needs. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, direct telephone, TV Sat, minibar, air conditioning, wireless Internet access, and are furnished, as the lounge is, in the typical old Tuscan style.Providing guests with the cheerfulness and cosiness of a typical Siena’s bed and breakfast, Santa Caterina guarantees much more. The wide and luxuriant garden with its veranda where breakfast is served can offer you what other Siena hotels cannot, that is, a view over the splendid Siena landscapes that will paint before your eyes every morning unexpected, changing colour shades among hilly lines. The refined but homely atmosphere and its privileged location, make this hotel the ideal place for a romantic and pleasant stay in the land locals love to call the old-fashioned way, "Terra di Siena", the land of Siena in Italy's heart. At Santa Caterina, “hotels in Siena” means home. Come and enjoy our home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing