We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book direct and choose a room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Caterina
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Book direct and choose a room with a view”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The staff were friendly and the courtyard was very pretty, with a view of the countryside. The hotel is well-located just down the street from the gate to the old city.

We made a last minute reservation through Expedia after reading all the many reviews about the fantastic view. Unfortunately, our room had no view, just opened onto the very busy street, and indeed it was pretty inferior. It was a triple, which meant there was a loft with the bed, and a downstairs area with the bathroom. The window was downstairs, but at least there was air conditioning so the sleeping area wasn't as stifling as it looked.

I think you can have either a great experience here with the right room, or a really disappointing one with the wrong one. If you are going to book here, be sure to call and reserve a room with a view.

Room Tip: Call ahead and request room with a view. Don't take a chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    261
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
162
380
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Villa Park, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After a very tiring journey up from Rome, we were greeted by an extremely courteous and helpful front desk employee; Luccio. He knew exactly what we needed and got us settled in and introduced to this quiet place with a fantastic view. Everything from the comfortable loft room to the great breakfast service on a courtyard overlooking the Tuscan countryside was beyond our expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have the Tuscan countryside views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.F., Calif
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was chosen by me based on Tripadvisor reviews. From the moment we arrived, I could feel the warm hospitality. The manager on duty, Laurinza was most efficient in checking in all 30 of us in record time. The 2 bell men on duty did a stand up job assisting with the handling of the luggage and getting it delivered to the rooms as well as on the bus at departure. The hotel looks pretty basic from the exterior but once inside you see the real charm. It of course is an older property but it's quite evident the management has gone to great lengths to refurbish it and maintain high standards. I was in room #19 which has the only balcony and a panoramic view of the countryside. They have free wi fi which is always a plus for me. The staff kept the breakfast items well stocked and it was quite enjoyable whether it was in the bright and cheerful breakfast room or the lovely garden. I would definitely return on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katnegril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach,Florida
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three days and thoroughly enjoyed it. This hotel is just outside the city gates and is easy to walk into the city. The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel is quaint and our room was clean and comfortable. It had beautiful window doors that opened to the courtyard. The courtyard is such a relaxing area. It looks out into the Tuscany countryside. The tables are there for breakfast and anytime you want to use it. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is great. It is quiet despite being on a Main Street. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank drwsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Daughter booked our room as a gift and the woman on duty was so accommodating. Gave us a great room, overlooking the lovely garden and an amazing view of Tuscany. Enjoyed breakfast in the garden and just sittting outside. Staff were so helpful and courteous. Restaurant recommendations were very helpful. Best location - walking distance into the piazza and even a bus outside their door if you didn't want to walk there or back. Our best stay in our visit to Italy. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: May be a little more than you might want to pay but well worth the $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristianstad, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I went here after some nice pictures and good reviews here on tripadvisor. We had a really great time, the view from the room and the breakfast is just sublime, the true Tuscan experience.

A special thanks to the staff for a great help with excursions, resturant recommendation etc. and would also give an extra thank to Tiziana, our breakfast hostress.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwood, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a lovely 350-year old boutique hotel with a rich history, some of which has been preserved through framed documents in the little lobby. There are 22 lovely rooms with all the essentials: great beds, good bathrooms, free Wi-Fi, and air-conditioning. The highlight, however, is the beautiful garden with several tables, overlooking the country-side. An atmosphere of serenity pervades. Breakfasts are excellent and served in a glassed-in room with views to the garden and country-side -- or you can eat outside in the garden. The other highlights are the excellent, friendly, and knowledgeable desk staff who have each worked there for many years, and the proximity to the town. The hotel is located near the Roman Gate, and we walked into the main square of Siena in about 15 minutes and could walk to every restaurant and really, every part of the town. The guests were from many and diverse countries. Highly recommend this hotel for a great stay in one of Italy's loveliest towns.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor with a little balcony and our friends had a room with a loft--both were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,043 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Caterina

Property: Hotel Santa Caterina
Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 7, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Caterina 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Caterina Hotel in Siena offers more than a bed and a breakfast service. Housed in a renovated 18th-century patrician villa, it is a small and cosy hotel lying just a few metres from Porta Romana (Roman Gate), one of the medieval accesses to the town centre of Siena.If you are looking among all the hotels in Tuscany - and specifically among the hotels in Siena - for the one that can serve you both as a base for daily excursions and as a comfortable pied-à-terre within the city limits, our 22-room facility will meet your needs. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, direct telephone, TV Sat, minibar, air conditioning, wireless Internet access, and are furnished, as the lounge is, in the typical old Tuscan style.Providing guests with the cheerfulness and cosiness of a typical Siena’s bed and breakfast, Santa Caterina guarantees much more. The wide and luxuriant garden with its veranda where breakfast is served can offer you what other Siena hotels cannot, that is, a view over the splendid Siena landscapes that will paint before your eyes every morning unexpected, changing colour shades among hilly lines. The refined but homely atmosphere and its privileged location, make this hotel the ideal place for a romantic and pleasant stay in the land locals love to call the old-fashioned way, "Terra di Siena", the land of Siena in Italy's heart. At Santa Caterina, “hotels in Siena” means home. Come and enjoy our home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing