We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Caterina
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

one night in Siena. The hotel just outside the city walls but a nice walk inside to main square. We were family of 4 and we got a kind of a peculiar room with an alcove up top with double bed and a single then down a kind of spiral staircase the second single bed (cot). This "mezzanine" level had the spectacular view across the Tuscan countywide but the "upstairs" did not and was a bit dark and attic-like (with AC so not hot). would have been awkward to stay for longer given the layout. Still, tough to get comfy accommodations for 4 in Europe where everything is lilliputian. The hotel lobby is beautiful, the staff super helpful, the views, million dollar worth. Finally, the breakfast was quite good and plentiful and we got to sit outside in a lovely garden with fruit trees and a fountain overlooking the fabulous tuscan landscape. Now that we are in Florence which is like Italian Disneyland, Siena and hotel there seem especially lovely and quaint.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 495gabrielas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santa Caterina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Previous glowing reviews of this hotel are spot on. It sits just outside the old town walls near the Roman Gate and is a delightful place to stay. 10 to 15 minutes on foot into the center of town, the Santa Caterina has large and nicely decorated rooms that are spotlessly clean. Sitting on the edge of the old city, it offers lovely views of the surrounding countryside, especially from the delightful garden, which is used for breakfast in good weather and is an excellent place for a late night grappa. Breakfast is a cut above average for Italian hotels with fresh juices and a nice variety of pastries (as well as fresh coffee, of course). The staff is courteous, friendly, professional, and welcoming ... willing and able to help with directions and advice. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMOverby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

What a wonderful spot!!!! The hotel was charming and well maintained. We were traveling with our 21 year old son and shared a great room with plenty of room for three. The garden is so beautiful and a wonderful place to have breakfast or just share a glass of wine watch the sunset. The staff were quite friendly and very helpful!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MRL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for four nights and couldn't have been happier with our choice. Our travel agent initially suggested a much more expensive hotel inside the walls of Siena. We opted to save some money and stay just outside the gate.

We arrived in the afternoon and our room was ready on the first floor. The desk checked us in quickly and took our luggage upstairs.

Our room overlooked the courtyard and the street next to the hotel. Though the street was busy, we didn't hear any traffic until we opened the windows. Like many hotels in Italy, the windows have 3 or 4 layers, so it's nice and quiet at night. Our room was big with a king-size bed. It also had that old-world charm with a frescoed ceiling and a non-working fireplace that lets you know this building must be very old, but well kempt. The bathroom had only a shower, which was fine. they offered plenty of toiletries and cleaned the room almost immediately every morning.

The hotel itself is very quaint and nicely decorated. they seem to have one person working overnight who greets you when you come back for the evening, will pour drinks and get you anything you need. It's a small place, so you're never waiting for anything. There is a small lobby near the entrance that is more like a nice living room where you could pick up a newspaper (offered in English or Italian). There were also many brochures about tours in the area. the front desk will book those for you if you're interested. The service here was top-notch and it was all done with a smile. I got the feeling that it is family owned, but I"m not sure. One worker didn't speak English and we didn't speak Italian, but she was very patient and nice as we figured out a way to communicate what we wanted.

Breakfast was included and served in a small dining room off the lobby that was enclosed by windows to let the sun in every morning. It was nicely appointed and opened up to the courtyard. Breakfast was good. It was a cold breakfast with cereal, breads, pastries and cold cuts. It's plenty to fill you up. Orange juice was fresh squeezed.

The courtyard is what makes the hotel so special and sets it aside from others. It's a small courtyard that overlooks the Tuscan countryside. You can sit here for meals or just a bottle of wine and take it all in. We couldn't have gotten such a view inside the walls of Siena because there is no greenspace there.

The only downfall for the hotel is that they could use new bedding for a little more comfort. However, we slept just fine. I highly recommend this hotel as a less expensive alternative. It's a nice home base while sightseeing in Tuscany, and it's only an hour from Florence.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beach bum in ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The staff were friendly and the courtyard was very pretty, with a view of the countryside. The hotel is well-located just down the street from the gate to the old city.

We made a last minute reservation through Expedia after reading all the many reviews about the fantastic view. Unfortunately, our room had no view, just opened onto the very busy street, and indeed it was pretty inferior. It was a triple, which meant there was a loft with the bed, and a downstairs area with the bathroom. The window was downstairs, but at least there was air conditioning so the sleeping area wasn't as stifling as it looked.

I think you can have either a great experience here with the right room, or a really disappointing one with the wrong one. If you are going to book here, be sure to call and reserve a room with a view.

Room Tip: Call ahead and request room with a view. Don't take a chance.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After a very tiring journey up from Rome, we were greeted by an extremely courteous and helpful front desk employee; Luccio. He knew exactly what we needed and got us settled in and introduced to this quiet place with a fantastic view. Everything from the comfortable loft room to the great breakfast service on a courtyard overlooking the Tuscan countryside was beyond our expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have the Tuscan countryside views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was chosen by me based on Tripadvisor reviews. From the moment we arrived, I could feel the warm hospitality. The manager on duty, Laurinza was most efficient in checking in all 30 of us in record time. The 2 bell men on duty did a stand up job assisting with the handling of the luggage and getting it delivered to the rooms as well as on the bus at departure. The hotel looks pretty basic from the exterior but once inside you see the real charm. It of course is an older property but it's quite evident the management has gone to great lengths to refurbish it and maintain high standards. I was in room #19 which has the only balcony and a panoramic view of the countryside. They have free wi fi which is always a plus for me. The staff kept the breakfast items well stocked and it was quite enjoyable whether it was in the bright and cheerful breakfast room or the lovely garden. I would definitely return on my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katnegril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
673 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,451 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Elda
Hotel Villa Elda
#12 of 40 in Siena
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Caterina

Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 7, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £61 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Caterina 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Caterina Hotel in Siena offers more than a bed and a breakfast service. Housed in a renovated 18th-century patrician villa, it is a small and cosy hotel lying just a few metres from Porta Romana (Roman Gate), one of the medieval accesses to the town centre of Siena.If you are looking among all the hotels in Tuscany - and specifically among the hotels in Siena - for the one that can serve you both as a base for daily excursions and as a comfortable pied-à-terre within the city limits, our 22-room facility will meet your needs. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, direct telephone, TV Sat, minibar, air conditioning, wireless Internet access, and are furnished, as the lounge is, in the typical old Tuscan style.Providing guests with the cheerfulness and cosiness of a typical Siena’s bed and breakfast, Santa Caterina guarantees much more. The wide and luxuriant garden with its veranda where breakfast is served can offer you what other Siena hotels cannot, that is, a view over the splendid Siena landscapes that will paint before your eyes every morning unexpected, changing colour shades among hilly lines. The refined but homely atmosphere and its privileged location, make this hotel the ideal place for a romantic and pleasant stay in the land locals love to call the old-fashioned way, "Terra di Siena", the land of Siena in Italy's heart. At Santa Caterina, “hotels in Siena” means home. Come and enjoy our home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing