We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Selva Agriturismo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Selva Agriturismo
Ranked #16 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Quiet and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

This place was the best we have stayed during our 15-days trip around Toscana and Umbria. Close to Siena la Selva is a very convenient place to drive sightseeing numerous Toscana places - San Giminiano, Volterra, Monteriggione, Montepulciano, Pienza and others. The hotel disposes of rather large territory with the major part given to numerous horses, which grase all the day (very impressive view against the background of Toscana hills!). On the other side la Selva has all the necessary things for comfortable staiyng: spacious, ideally clean and cordially designed rooms, flowered terraces, large and regularly cleaned pool, playground for babies, bicycle paths. The breakfast was balanced and fresh. It`s worth to mention a specific smell near the stables, but it wasn`t annoying for us as we adore horses and were glad to contact with them. The hotel owners and the staff were very helpful and friendly (despite some language barriers), so we felt like guests, but not clients. We would love to come back to this wonderful place sometime.
From Moscow with love
Olga, Katerina and Sergei

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank oval_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    36
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

Me and my husband went to italy for our honeymoon. We stayed here for 5 nights. the people there were amazing.. they were so helpful to us and all of our needs. They called taxis for us which was a huge help since we couldn't speak a lick of italian. It is about a 15 euro taxi ride form the train station. You can take a bus but it will drop you a while from here, and the walk is not recommended. the roads are small and the cars are fast. our room was delightful we stayed in PIno. It was a 2 bedroom apartment with a kitchen. it was so cute. We were about an hour train ride from Florence. If you stay here you will defiantly need to rent some type of transportation. If you stay here you should really STAY here, like at the property, is amazing. the pool is awesome... we didn't use it for all it was worth, so if you are looking for a place to come and stay and relax in a perfect beautiful place.. this is your spot......

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristynlong2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

If you are lookig for a quit and peaceful place in Tuscany - surrounded by beautiful nature and really nice and warm people, you should visit Agriturismo La Selva. We have been there 3 years in a row, and we will keep coming back!

At La Selva there is no noise, no discos, no loud music. No trafic jams. No nonsense! On the contrary, you are hosted by the very warm and welcoming family Mario & Renata, and once you enter this place, your pulse decreases to a very comfortably level. La Selva is situated in the country side outside Siena, between hills and horse fields. If you already love horses, you will favor La Selva. Sun bathing next to the nice and clean pool, you can hear the horses close by - or you can stroll for a walk to the stables, where the horses are kept.

Definately, we can recommend Agriturismo to anybody, who wants to spend a relaxing and peaceful holiday in the beatiful Tuscan country side.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheDanes_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

It is very close to Siena but look like full countryside. They manage horses, but smell and flies have not been a problem, nice to have small walk along small paths in the wood, easy to visit many enchanting Tuscany's towns.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandepicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limbricht
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

Ger en Yvonne ( Holland) stayed four nights in La Selva. We were heartily welcomed by the owners Mario and Renate.We enjoyed the beautiful views on the hills and the grazing-lands with many horses.No problems with smell or flies.There are 3 marked hikes on their own land, so you can walk without any traffic.
We loved the very spacious room, good bed and complete bathroom. Breakfast buffet was a nice start of the day including home-made marmelade and cake. We had dinner twice at La Selva and we were surprised by the very nice authentic taste of all the courses, prepared by the owners Mario and Renate. We made very interesting trips to Siena (5 km) , Colle di Val d'Elsa , San Gimignano and the Chianti district. Mario was very helpfull giving us information and providing us with glasses and a cork-screw ( we learned it is called cavatappi !) to enjoy some wine in our room. We really liked our stay in La Selva and hope to visit them again. Grazie mille ed arrivederci !

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeloLimbricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2005

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very happy with our accommodations. The proprietor was very nice and made sure we had everything we needed. When you arrive at the locked gate you will need to use the intercom to get Marco to let you in. Make sure you know how to say "reservation" in Italian as this will speed the process up. This agriturismo is on a working stud-horse farm, so there are stables right around the corner from the rooms, but there was absolutely no "horse" smell. We're from a city; we would know farm smell if it were there! The large bedroom window had a screen, so the flies were not bothersome. Just bring a magazine to kill the ones that make it in when you open/close the front door. :) The room was huge by any standards, European or American. Breakfast was buffet style down in the dining room overlooking the pool. I wish it would've been warmer when we were there, because I sure woulda spent a few hours lying beside/in it. They had a full layout of cold breakfast items. There was cereal, fruit, yogurt, croissant, bread and a toaster (rarity in Italy), juice, milk, coffee. Make sure you ask about dinner each day as it's up to the Mrs. if she makes dinner for the guests or not. She wasn't making dinner for the nights we were there, so we went out to dinner instead. Be aware there's not a lot of dining options close by, so make sure on the way back from your daily travels that you plan where you want to eat that night. The views from this place are spectacular and well worth the drive off the beaten path.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
3.9 mi away
Agriturismo Malafrasca
Agriturismo Malafrasca
#24 of 84 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Agriturismo

Property: La Selva Agriturismo
Address: Strada Pian del Lago 19, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Selva Agriturismo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your La Selva Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Agriturismo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing