We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Good hotel, close to the historic center, but not inside it. There is a public stairwell few steps way that connects the hotel street with the train station (very good to avoid tanking cabs).
The breakfast is good. The room is comfortable and true to pictures, the bathroom is really good, especially for European standards.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberta_romiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear Roberta,

today I’m really proud… We received 4 new reviews … all very good :-)!
The reason I’m so glad is your satisfaction.
There is nothing more frustrating than a concerned guest. Our first goal is to give you an outstanding service and a genuine welcome and these days’ comments are rewarding us.
Many thanks!
Kind regards from me and the Staff,

Federica Fiochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just outside old city, clean and bright rooms. Excellent breakfast buffet. Staff are extremely helpful. Warm, friendly atmosphere. Genuinely seemed interested in helping their guests.Had left personal items and they mailed items to us. At no charge, room was upgraded

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear Charles B,

Your caught perfectly our spirit… it just doesn’t seem…we are really interested in helping our guests and in giving them an excellent service.
Many thanks for pointing this out!
Awaiting to welcome you soon please accept our sincere regards from Siena.

Federica Fiochi and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in September. We found the hotel staff spoke english and were very accomodating with directions for driving, dinner, etc.

We stayed in a small annex off the back parking lot, but it was very quiet. The room was small but very clean.

The breakfast was very good with many choices and the room was busy but they kept cleaning tables quickly as the people left.

The parking was a nightmare and we didn't have a reservation for the first night so we did manage to find something on the street. The next night we had a reservation but it was such a tiny parking lot some people needed guiding into it and still couldn't park properly. Thank heaven my husband can park anything!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Kelowna,

thanks for your review.
Let’s start with the parking… YOU’RE RIGHT! We tried the impossible to buy spaces from the Town Hall but nothing :-). Depending on the day it’s also possible to park easily in the street behind us, but not on Wednesday and Thursday night…if your first night was on one of these 2 days I really believe it was nightmare, I’m so sorry.
Fortunately we can offer as last chance also the free parking of our sister Hotel, 600 mt faraway always available.
Good thing that from the title I understand you enjoyed staying with us and our services very much…despite the parking matter.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, me and the Staff say “ciao” from a rainy Siena.
Best regards.

Federica Fiochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2012 with my girlfriend.

Staff were very helpful, very approachable.

We booked a basic double room but were upgraded for free on arrival.

Our room was lovely. Good size, (not too big or small), nice TV with lots of channels, and a great big bathroom. The shower deserves a special mention for being particularly powerful!!

Rooms were particularly clean.

Breakfast was also included and, having experienced many many breakfast buffets in Italy, it compared quite well - though I am never a fan of hotel breakfasts in Italy. Croissant were fines, coffee machine had good coffee for a buffet, and there's even bacon and eggs, as well as the usual ham, cheese, cereal, yoghurt, fruit juice etc etc.

The only criticism, and we knew this before we booked, is that it is a good 15 minute walk from the city centre, and the light from their hotel sign was quite bright by our window at night. We only noticed later that we had some shutters as well as curtains, so that's partly our fault!


We didn't have a car so can't comment on anything car related.

So a very good 3 star hotel in a lovely town. Just a bit of a walk away (though the walk is hardly a bad one).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_Chasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Rick,

first of all may thanks for leaving this kind review about us.
You give a lot of useful suggestions and this is very important to me.
I’ll “steal” from your words some precious information to improve our service and if you’ll come back, I hope to surprise you with nice news!
Distance from the old city centre is just 300 mt and 1,5 km from Piazza del Campo but I understand the feeling about that can be very subjective.
With the hope to welcome you again, I remain with my kindest regards.

Federica Fiochi and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Found this hotel at the last second when arriving in Sienna, bit on the steep side for pricing but very central, can walk to the centre of Sienna within ten minutes and the rooms are specious. Parking is a bit of an issue due to local roads being closed off for cleaning

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidg777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear daviddg777,

Many thanks for sharing your opinion about us.
Let me inform you that our tariffs are very changeable, depending on the occupancy and the season. Many deals and convenient offers are always available on our web site.
I’m glad your stay was overall satisfying, it’s very important to us.
Kindest regards from Siena.

Federica Fiochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Just stayed 2 nights at Hotel Italia. My original plan was to stay one night only and I am very glad that I changed my plan.

I took the train to Siena from Florence so it was a very short walk to the hotel. As a reviewer said before, just walk through the mall and take all the escalators up. And you are there.

I stayed in one of the executive rooms and apart from the occasional toilet flushing sound, it was very nice and quiet. Bed was huge and comfy. Room is also big per European standard.

Breakfast spread was decent but I am quite sure they baked their own croissant in house as my last morning I was awaken by the smell of freshly baked croissant from downstairs. Staff are very friendly and helpful and provide lots of tips restaurant and travel planning etc. This is especially helpful when many of the shop owners don't speak English and bus schedules are only in Italian.

I would definitely recommend Hotel Italia to anyone looking for a place to stay in Siena and hope that I can return soon.

Room Tip: Some of the buses traveling to nearby towns like San Gimignano stop in front of the hotel on their w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KcatHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

KcatHK, thanks!
Thanks for choosing Hotel Italia and for extending your stay with us. I’m very pleased you appreciated our services…the approval of a Top Contributor… :-)…what a satisfaction!!!
It’s very kind from you recommending our hotel to anyone, I hope we will always match up with the highest standard quality.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, please accept our sincere regards.

Federica Fiochi and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

As mentioned in numerous other reviews, the staff at Hotel Italia are exceptional. In addition to their great tips for getting the most out of a visit to Siena, they are consistently personable and approachable.

I could give multiple examples, but one in particular stands out. Early one morning, my husband awoke with a headache. We had not packed anything to take for such an event, so I went to the front desk and asked if the hotel had any aspirin. The lovely woman working there had no sooner heard my question than she was zooming off to a back room to get the item. Something about the speed at which she responded seemed to be utterly kind to me.

So, if you are looking for a place to stay in Siena with genuinely helpful and friendly staff, look no further.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank emeraldine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Sometimes I’m amazed at reading all these wonderful words about my staff… You seem surprised at finding a sincere and smiling welcome… What’s going on? It should be natural in every hotel, in every house… But nowadays world doesn’t seem to go the same direction.

Hotel Italia, me and all the Staff just want to give this: a genuine hospitality and thanks to my staff this is possible every day!
I’m really pleased you were so touched and I’m also glad we were helpful with your head upset.

So, dear emeraldine69, many thanks for sharing this incredible review, we all wait for your next visit with the promise we won’t let you down :-).

Sincere regards from Siena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
773 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#10 of 40 in Siena
2,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour, 67, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Siena
#3 Business Hotel in Siena
#7 Family Hotel in Siena
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £46 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 3 star Hotel close to the Siena City Centre,completely refreshed, easy access from the train station by the escalator, parking (to be reserved). All comforts: Air Conditioned, Tv Lcd Sat with free Sky Channels, WiFi (free for reservation on our web site),Great Buffet Breakfast with cold and hot delicacies, dainties for the sweet tooth guests, gluten free and vegan food.From May to September enjoy the Garden Hotel’s swimming pool (free admittance, from 4 years old a 5€ drink is required). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing