We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect stop!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
moharaphd
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A perfect stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We rented a car in Napoli and drove to Milano, stopping in Siena at this hotel. What a lovely place! The staff are excellent and super helpful. The room was gorgeous and convenient to locations in town. The restaurant recommendation was outstanding.

I highly recommend this town and this hotel. We are hoping to visit again in a couple of years.

Room Tip: We booked a superior and were upgraded to executive. If you are driving, try to book a parking spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moharaphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Good Evening from Siena!
First of all many thanks for staying with us during your visit to Siena and for sharing this great review.
It's such a good sensation reading comments like yours...it makes us fell well :).
We are all very happy you could spent such a good time during your vacation and we really hope you'll come again in 2 years...we will look forward welcoming you open arms.
Warmest regards,

Federica Fiochi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    766
    160
    32
    13
See reviews for
362
1,013
96
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I decided to brave driving through Tuscany for a week and after Florence, this was our starting point. It was super easy to get to, clearly marked signs all along the road. It was charming inside- the gentleman even upgraded us to a better room because he had them available which was much appreciated!!!! To get wifi, it is only free if you book through their website, which I wish I would have known, but they gave me a three hour voucher which was sufficient. It was a perfect location and a perfect stay and I would highly recommend for a visit to siena or a base point for Montalcino! Also, if you plan on parking, you have to book it with them! I didn't know this but luckily found street parking easily behind.

Room Tip: Free three hours- then you have to pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura128000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Laura,

what a nice review! many thanks.
It's a real pleasure reading you enjoyed your stay with us.
The location is perfect both to visit Siena and as base to discover Tuscany and its splendors, I'm glad you appreciated that.
I hope you'll come and visit us again...and this time booking directly with us...best rate ever, complete information and free wifi ;).
Sincere regards from me and the Staff,

Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This smart hotel is outside the old city, and is about a thirty minute walk into the city centre. We booked a standard double room , but were upgraded to superior room, which was comfortable and spacious. Small bathroom, with a shower over the bath, and lovely toiletries. We had booked a car park, so parked in the hotel grounds for €10 per day. The staff were exceptionally helpful with organising many special requests, and making recommendations for castles, tours, and wine tastings in Chianti. Good wifi, and a number of good basic places to eat within five or ten minutes walk. Breakfast is outstanding. We did not use the pool, however it is written in the compendium that you can use the pool at the sister hotel nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Sue C,

first of all let me thank you for choosing Hotel Italia and then for sharing this great comment about us.

We are all very glad your stay matched your expectations and you could appreciate our Staff welcome, our good breakfast and our services.

We'll wait for your next visit...you have to try the Sister Hotel Swimming Pool ;)!

Warmest regards from Siena,

Federica Fiochi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
185 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great location to travel from and to explore Siena! We got the flavor of Tuscany in the five nights we stayed here. Travelled to Montalcino, Pienzq (Pecorino cheese at its best) and Montepulciano one day and still returned by 6pm to diner in Siena. Another day travelled to Assisi, one hr and 40 min. Next day to San Gimignano were I bought lInen kids clothes. The hotel is serviceable and Davide was the BEST! Bar open all day and night and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. No negatives at all! Breakfast was superb!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a5035805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for this amazing comment. It's a pleasure reading how good was your stay.
You perfectly cought the good of our loocation...walking distance from the old town but accessible by car... incredible base to explore Tuscany!
Davide is one of our gem...and he will appreciate your words very much.
Many thanks again for staying with us and looking forward to your next visit please accept our sincere regards,

Federica Fiochi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

While not fancy, this hotel had everything we needed in Siena. We were close enough to the old town to access its wonderful charms, but we were also right across the street from the train station, which made connections in and out of Siena super easy. Note that it is not in the old town area, but more like a 20-30 minute walk there. We had an executive room with a huge terrace (not the greatest view, but a nice bit of space). The room was very clean and quiet. The women running the buffet breakfast were incredible at keeping everything well stocked. There is a hole in the wall Turkish kebab shop right down the street from the hotel that we grabbed dinner from one night, which was great after two straight weeks of pizza and pasta. The only area of improvement would be that the front desk seemed a little chaotic at times--the phone was constantly ringing and other guests always seemed to be milling around waiting to be served.

Note that the mall inside the train station contains a large grocery store as well as other shops, which were nice to pick up snacks and water.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinelover33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Sunshinelover33,

first of all let me thank you for staying with us and for posting your opinion. You give a lot of useful information, I'm sure they'll be very appreciated.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, we always do our best to give our kind guest a nice accommodation.
What you say about front desk is true...you know...it's the heart of the hotel...phone calls, check-in, check-out....concierge service... This is the first time I read something about that...I'm sorry...maybe you wait....don't know...really my Staff is usually very very fast and efficient, I'll check anyway.
Hopping to welcome you again, I remain with my best regards.

Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at Hotel Italia. Great location within easy walking distance of all the sights. We stayed in a double executive room, which was spacious and bright, with a large balcony. Bathroom was fabulous, large walk in shower with great smelling toiletries! Breakfast room was beautiful, a good selection of food available. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, with great suggestions for restaurants and day trips. Much appreciated!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilar/Santiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Pilar, Santiago...

GRAZIEEEE! It's a great comment and we are all so glad to read your words.
They mean your stay was good and that's what we want for all our guests.
Many thanks again and please..let's come back very soon!
Warmest regards from Siena,

Federica Fiochi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Very happy with the overall stay.
Hotel does what it says and the staff have learnt the wonderful lesson that customer courtesy pays.
A little disappointed I did not read about the swimming pool at the sister Hotel, will definitely be looking forward to this next time.
Good breakfast. Easy walk to city centre and train station.
As a business traveller I find high season rates a nuisance as there is no added advantage to me compared to Autumn or Winter. However still an acceptable rate for the value of the service.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Fan M,

many thanks for staying with us and for sharing your opinion about Hotel Italia.
I'm glad your stay was satisfiant but you should definitively come back again to take a bath at our Sister hotel Pool....it's is amazing!
Our prices changes depending on season and occupancy. We also have special deals with frequent guests, in case let me know, I could send you an offer.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, please accpt our kindest regards.

Federica Fiochi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Viale Camillo Benso di Cavour 67, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siena
#4 Best Value Hotel in Siena
#7 Family Hotel in Siena
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 3 star Hotel close to the Siena City Centre,completely refreshed, easy access from the train station by the escalator, parking (to be reserved). All comforts: Air Conditioned, Tv Lcd Sat with free Sky Channels, WiFi (free for reservation on our web site),Great Buffet Breakfast with cold and hot delicacies, dainties for the sweet tooth guests, gluten free and vegan food.From May to September enjoy for free Garden Hotel’s swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing