We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff.”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed in an Executive Room with balcony, which included free Wi Fi and minibar (soft drinks only) as we booked directly with the hotel. Spacious room and bathroom, clean and comfortable.
The hotel staff were exceptionally helpful and very friendly. Good choice at breakfast. At busy times, however, there were queues for the coffee machine and toaster which were next to each other, causing a bit of a bottleneck. The hotel is just outside the city walls by Porta Camolia. The centre of Siena is about a 20-25 minutes walk along a pleasant street with many shops and a good choice of places to eat. There is a series of escalators across from the hotel leading down to the train station and a modern shopping mall.
We obtained a pass from reception enabling us the use the pool at the sister Hotel Garden about another 10 minutes walk out from Siena in a charming setting. A quiet place to relax. We visited the Duomo (very good), Crypt and Baptistry on a joint ticket, the town hall and the botanical gardens - good views of the old city walls from here.
We toured by bus and train to nearby towns - Buonconvento, Monteriggione, Asciano, Colle di Val d'Elsa (nice walk to Poggibonsi along an old railway track from here) and had a great wine tasting trip with My Tours (booked through the hotel) to Abbadia Ardenga vineyard near Montalcino. Our thanks to Franceso our tour guide and Paolo from the vineyard.
Lots of good restaurants to choose from, our favourites were the ones in Piazza Mercato behind the Campo, including one in a little park behind the piazza.

Room Tip: Executive Room 354 - probably the best balcony choice. Also at the back of the hotel away from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Padrone WOW!
What a great review!
It's plenty of amazing suggetions and advices, I'm sure it will be very useful to all the readers.
From our part we are all very glad you enjoyed the hotel stay and thet you would choose us again...let's ewait then for your next visit!
Sincere regards from Siena,

Federica Fiochi and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 2,195 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Because we booked directly through their website the rate included breakfast and wifi. The location is about a 20 minute walk away from the city center but it is a nice walk. It was nice to be staying in a quieter area and the rate was good. Our last night there the power went out for about 6 hours so it got really warm in the room and there was no hot water for a shower in the morning. But otherwise the stay was great.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

good morning from Siena.
Let me thank you for choosing Hotel Italia and for posting your review.
I'm really sorry about the power matter. There was a breakdown in the central control unit in Siena. We had to wait the company power solved it. I'm really sorry but we too were in great troubles...fully booked hotel...138 persons coming down for breakfast and we didn't even know if we would have been able to serve it...
Thanks God at 7:30 power was back...
I'm glad this inconvenient didn't compromise your opinion and your stay was enjoyable!
Looking forward to welcoming you again, please accept our sincere regards.

Federica Fiochi and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We booked to stay at the Hotel Italia in Siena based on great reviews and it was such a pleasure. The hotel staff is warm, friendly and exceptionally helpful. We had a lovely, clean room and because we made the booking directly through the hotel website we received free Wi-Fi during our stay. There was parking available at the small hotel parking lot which we paid for upon departure. The hotel is conveniently located approximately 20 minutes by foot from the center. Breakfast was also included and it was a delicious spread. It really is an ideal accomodation for a visit to Siena.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 070314Bellissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

where did we miss the fifth score? :)
I was hoping for a 5 based on your wonderful review.

Many many thanks for everyhting you wrote about us, it'a a great reward knowing a guest spent such a great time here.
We all really hope to deserve your choice again if you'll come back...
A great and sincere CIAO from Siena,

Federica Fiochi and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We are currently staying at Hotel Italia, I booked based on trip advisor reviews. Beautiful room and bathroom, we are in a triple executive room, plenty of space, glad that we upgraded. Breakfast is by far the best we have had anywhere, just a really beautiful hotel. Thank you for such great hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Queen37NiagaraCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Queen37Ni,

it's a real pleasure receiving your amazing review, many thanks for posting it but moreover thanks for staying with us!
I'm a little bit surprised by the score...I was expecting the maximum after reading...ok, next time!
We all, will do our best to deserve 5!
Looking forward to welcome you again, please accept our sincere regards,

Federica Fiochi and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

It's a walkable distance to Siena's centre, and outside the ZTLs.
We payed for an upgrade, and the room was very pleasant.
The staff is very nice, and told us about one of the restaurants we went to during our whole trip.
Had to pay for parking.
Breakfast is amazing!!!
We had a very nice experience and would come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sitraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Good Morning from Siena!
It's a pleasure receiving a review like yours.
Many thanks for according us your preference choosing Hotel Italia.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our Buffet Breakfast that much.
About parking please be informed it's also possible to park for free on the street or at our Sister Hotel parking, 600 mt farway.
Looking forward to welcoming you another time, please accept our sincere regards,

Federica Fiochi and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We rented a car in Napoli and drove to Milano, stopping in Siena at this hotel. What a lovely place! The staff are excellent and super helpful. The room was gorgeous and convenient to locations in town. The restaurant recommendation was outstanding.

I highly recommend this town and this hotel. We are hoping to visit again in a couple of years.

Room Tip: We booked a superior and were upgraded to executive. If you are driving, try to book a parking spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moharaphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Good Evening from Siena!
First of all many thanks for staying with us during your visit to Siena and for sharing this great review.
It's such a good sensation reading comments like yours...it makes us fell well :).
We are all very happy you could spent such a good time during your vacation and we really hope you'll come again in 2 years...we will look forward welcoming you open arms.
Warmest regards,

Federica Fiochi and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I decided to brave driving through Tuscany for a week and after Florence, this was our starting point. It was super easy to get to, clearly marked signs all along the road. It was charming inside- the gentleman even upgraded us to a better room because he had them available which was much appreciated!!!! To get wifi, it is only free if you book through their website, which I wish I would have known, but they gave me a three hour voucher which was sufficient. It was a perfect location and a perfect stay and I would highly recommend for a visit to siena or a base point for Montalcino! Also, if you plan on parking, you have to book it with them! I didn't know this but luckily found street parking easily behind.

Room Tip: Free three hours- then you have to pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laura128000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Laura,

what a nice review! many thanks.
It's a real pleasure reading you enjoyed your stay with us.
The location is perfect both to visit Siena and as base to discover Tuscany and its splendors, I'm glad you appreciated that.
I hope you'll come and visit us again...and this time booking directly with us...best rate ever, complete information and free wifi ;).
Sincere regards from me and the Staff,

Federica Fiochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,462 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
790 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
2,206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#12 of 40 in Siena
1,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour, 67, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Siena
#3 Business Hotel in Siena
#5 Family Hotel in Siena
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £50 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 3 star Hotel close to the Siena City Centre,completely refreshed, easy access from the train station by the escalator, parking (to be reserved). All comforts: Air Conditioned, Tv Lcd Sat with free Sky Channels, WiFi (free for reservation on our web site),Great Buffet Breakfast with cold and hot delicacies, dainties for the sweet tooth guests, gluten free and vegan food.From May to September enjoy the Garden Hotel’s swimming pool (free admittance, from 4 years old a 5€ drink is required). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing