We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, 1.5 km from Campo”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is a typical tourist hotel, not sure it really deserves its three-star rating. But it is comfortable and clean, with friendly desk staff. No services other than this, the bar that is open but not attended, and a breakfast which is tasty but low on choices. Good pastries. You have to walk about 20-25 minutes to get to the center of Siena, but is a nice walk through the streets of the old city. I would choose this if it gave a good rate, but would not spend a lot to stay here. Free wifi is only if you book direct with the hotel, rather than through a website or other third party. Otherwise, you have to pay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back on the 2nd floor or higher; this will give you lots of light, plus the ho...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jag343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear jag343,

many thanks for staying with us and for posting your opinion.

I'm sorry your stay has not been fully satisfactory but I'm preatty sure we deserve the 3 star.
Of course it's not possible to match all guests expectations and we will always do our best to improve services and comforts, but...there's no doubt this is a 3 star hotel.

It's always unpleasant fail at something, and we of course are very sorry you have not had a perfect stay.

Kind regards from Siena,

Federica Fiochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,108)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Italia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Perfect venue if you're travelling in by train which makes it an ideal base for exploring Tuscany. As previous reviews mention, there is a climb up to the town via seven or eight escalators which you access through the shopping mall opposite the train station. Turn right and the hotel is a five minute walk on the opposite side of the road.

The room that we had booked was unavailable due to unforseen circumstances so we were given a junior suite which, once we'd got accustomed to the green patterned cloth on almost every available surface, was welcoming, spacious and the beds very comfortable. Good sized bathroom with quality toiletries. The room safe was very small though so, if you're thinking about bringing a laptop or iPad you may want to check with the hotel first to see if there is anywhere else that they can be stored. There is a desktop PC for guests to use. I was disappointed that the cups supplied in the rooms for hot drinks were cardboard and were prone to leaking.

The breakfast room was light, airy and ladies darted in and out of the kitchen area at speed to ensure that provisions were replaced as quickly as possible. There was a plenty of choice and guests were very well looked after.

There was a separate lounge / bar area in contemporary design with complimentary coffee and pastries, and was a super place to relax after a day spent walking.

Everywhere in the hotel seemed spotlessly clean. What really made the hotel special though, and one of the reasons that I selected it for my trip, was the staff. All of the staff on the reception desk, with whom I had the most contact, were incredibly friendly, helpful, patient and informative.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukey2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Good morning from Siena!
What a great review.
This is the best reward we could expect. Your words about the staff really touched us, GRAZIE!
We all are very very happy you could enjoy your stay.
A sincere and warm regard to you and your mother...we look forward welcoming you again!

Federica Fiochi and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed in an Executive Room with balcony, which included free Wi Fi and minibar (soft drinks only) as we booked directly with the hotel. Spacious room and bathroom, clean and comfortable.
The hotel staff were exceptionally helpful and very friendly. Good choice at breakfast. At busy times, however, there were queues for the coffee machine and toaster which were next to each other, causing a bit of a bottleneck. The hotel is just outside the city walls by Porta Camolia. The centre of Siena is about a 20-25 minutes walk along a pleasant street with many shops and a good choice of places to eat. There is a series of escalators across from the hotel leading down to the train station and a modern shopping mall.
We obtained a pass from reception enabling us the use the pool at the sister Hotel Garden about another 10 minutes walk out from Siena in a charming setting. A quiet place to relax. We visited the Duomo (very good), Crypt and Baptistry on a joint ticket, the town hall and the botanical gardens - good views of the old city walls from here.
We toured by bus and train to nearby towns - Buonconvento, Monteriggione, Asciano, Colle di Val d'Elsa (nice walk to Poggibonsi along an old railway track from here) and had a great wine tasting trip with My Tours (booked through the hotel) to Abbadia Ardenga vineyard near Montalcino. Our thanks to Franceso our tour guide and Paolo from the vineyard.
Lots of good restaurants to choose from, our favourites were the ones in Piazza Mercato behind the Campo, including one in a little park behind the piazza.

Room Tip: Executive Room 354 - probably the best balcony choice. Also at the back of the hotel away from the m...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Padrone WOW!
What a great review!
It's plenty of amazing suggetions and advices, I'm sure it will be very useful to all the readers.
From our part we are all very glad you enjoyed the hotel stay and thet you would choose us again...let's ewait then for your next visit!
Sincere regards from Siena,

Federica Fiochi and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Because we booked directly through their website the rate included breakfast and wifi. The location is about a 20 minute walk away from the city center but it is a nice walk. It was nice to be staying in a quieter area and the rate was good. Our last night there the power went out for about 6 hours so it got really warm in the room and there was no hot water for a shower in the morning. But otherwise the stay was great.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

good morning from Siena.
Let me thank you for choosing Hotel Italia and for posting your review.
I'm really sorry about the power matter. There was a breakdown in the central control unit in Siena. We had to wait the company power solved it. I'm really sorry but we too were in great troubles...fully booked hotel...138 persons coming down for breakfast and we didn't even know if we would have been able to serve it...
Thanks God at 7:30 power was back...
I'm glad this inconvenient didn't compromise your opinion and your stay was enjoyable!
Looking forward to welcoming you again, please accept our sincere regards.

Federica Fiochi and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We booked to stay at the Hotel Italia in Siena based on great reviews and it was such a pleasure. The hotel staff is warm, friendly and exceptionally helpful. We had a lovely, clean room and because we made the booking directly through the hotel website we received free Wi-Fi during our stay. There was parking available at the small hotel parking lot which we paid for upon departure. The hotel is conveniently located approximately 20 minutes by foot from the center. Breakfast was also included and it was a delicious spread. It really is an ideal accomodation for a visit to Siena.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 070314Bellissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

where did we miss the fifth score? :)
I was hoping for a 5 based on your wonderful review.

Many many thanks for everyhting you wrote about us, it'a a great reward knowing a guest spent such a great time here.
We all really hope to deserve your choice again if you'll come back...
A great and sincere CIAO from Siena,

Federica Fiochi and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We are currently staying at Hotel Italia, I booked based on trip advisor reviews. Beautiful room and bathroom, we are in a triple executive room, plenty of space, glad that we upgraded. Breakfast is by far the best we have had anywhere, just a really beautiful hotel. Thank you for such great hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Queen37NiagaraCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Queen37Ni,

it's a real pleasure receiving your amazing review, many thanks for posting it but moreover thanks for staying with us!
I'm a little bit surprised by the score...I was expecting the maximum after reading...ok, next time!
We all, will do our best to deserve 5!
Looking forward to welcome you again, please accept our sincere regards,

Federica Fiochi and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

It's a walkable distance to Siena's centre, and outside the ZTLs.
We payed for an upgrade, and the room was very pleasant.
The staff is very nice, and told us about one of the restaurants we went to during our whole trip.
Had to pay for parking.
Breakfast is amazing!!!
We had a very nice experience and would come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sitraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Good Morning from Siena!
It's a pleasure receiving a review like yours.
Many thanks for according us your preference choosing Hotel Italia.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our Buffet Breakfast that much.
About parking please be informed it's also possible to park for free on the street or at our Sister Hotel parking, 600 mt farway.
Looking forward to welcoming you another time, please accept our sincere regards,

Federica Fiochi and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
2,134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
761 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour, 67, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siena
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#7 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £56 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 3 star Hotel close to the Siena City Centre,completely refreshed, easy access from the train station by the escalator, parking (to be reserved). All comforts: Air Conditioned, Tv Lcd Sat with free Sky Channels, WiFi (free for reservation on our web site),Great Buffet Breakfast with cold and hot delicacies, dainties for the sweet tooth guests, gluten free and vegan food.From May to September enjoy the Garden Hotel’s swimming pool (free admittance, from 4 years old a 5€ drink is required). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing