We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great service and location”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is located just a short walk from the train station. We emailed them before leaving home and they promptly responded with detailed directions to the hotel. The walk to the town center was pleasant, no more than fifteen minutes, and a great way to see the city. The staff was extremely helpful with everything from restaurant recommendations to concert reservations. Anything you needed was only a request away. The room, while simple, was quite comfortable and quiet. Upon checking out, the staff went above and beyond. Our daughter was attending a music festival at another location in the city while we returned home. Davide and the rest of the staff offered to help her in any way they could during the remainder of her stay. The included breakfast had many offerings, including chocolate fondue with pastries made in house. We would definitely stay at Hotel Italia again !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear David,

good evening from Siena! How are you? And your wife and daughter?
Me and the Staff we all, want to thank you for this incredible review.
Many, many thanks.
That's what we work for....with heart and passion, your review is a great encouragement.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again, please accept our warmest regards.

Federica Fiochi and Staff (first of all Davide!!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    799
    167
    34
    13
See reviews for
379
1,063
100
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Italia and had a wonderful experience the whole time. The hotel is located just right as we were driving around Tuscany and touring the area, with easy access in and out of Siena and just a short walk away to the city walls and historic area. The staff were very friendly, super helpful and very tolerant of my attempts to learn to speak Italian. The room was clean and bright with a big bathroom. And we were lucky enough to have a balcony overlooking the town that was almost as big as our room. A wonderful place to sit and enjoy the bounty of the area with a beautiful view.

If ever we are back in Siena and for anyone looking for a central location to tour Tuscany, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Carol,

let me thank you for staying with us and for leaving such a great comment!
It's really the best reward we would expect. GRAZIE!
We all, really hope you'll come back and visit us again....Hotel Italia and Siena are waiting for you!
Sincere regards,

Federica Fiochi and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Siena beckoned to my fiancée and me while we were planning our European adventure. We wanted to visit Florence, but not stay there, and Siena seemed like the quite alternative. There are many day trips to the Tuscan wineries and plenty of wonderful things to see in the old city too. So we decided to book Hotel Italia from the reviews on the site. And all was good with the world!

I feel that, to understand an experience at a hotel, you need to know about the totality of the experience. So this review may not appeal to all readers, as it is not only about the Hotel Italia, but our experience in Siena as a whole.

Hotel Italia is very close to the train station. After exiting the train you just need to go through the adjacent mall and keep heading up the escalators until you are out of the building. The escalators take you to the top of a hill, so it does take a few minutes to get from the train to the street on which Hotel Italia sits. Upon exiting, head across to the other side of the street, turn right and walk until you reach the Hotel in about 2 minutes or less. Quite simple (once you've done it!).

We had requested a room with a balcony, and upon arrival the desk staff (who were extremely friendly) fulfilled that request for us. Our room was spectacular! The balcony overlooked Tuscan rooftops and you could see the hills in the distance. Sunset was beautiful! I can't say enough about the room. It was one of the nicest we stayed at in all of Europe (the balcony probably swayed us a bit!).

I agree with other reviews that the hotel is a little far from the Central Plaza in the old town. But my fiancée and I were 27 and 36 and the time, so walking 10 to 15 minutes wasn't an issue. Besides, with all of the wine and Italian cuisine consumed on the trip, most people need the exercise (we certainly did!)

I also agree with other reviewers that Italy (as a whole) was very difficult in terms of language barrier (ie. restaurants.) My fiancée and I speak three languages between us (English, French and some Spanish), and surprisingly none were particularly useful in Italy. Italians seem to speak Italian, and that's about it. It's slightly surprising considering all the tourism in these regions, but c'est la vie! That said, I found the Hotel Italia's staff to be able to communicate very clearly in English. We had no troubles.

The staff were also VERY helpful with booking the day trip we took to some wineries and the Tuscan countryside. If you go to Tuscany you HAVE to visit vineyards! The countryside is gorgeous! The little towns are quaint and the whole experience is memorable. The Hotel staff helped us experience that through their recommendations and contacts.

The breakfast in the morning was simple and effective. There is an inexpensive Kebab place and a pizzeria next to the hotel. I highly recommend that you also sample the Sienese cookie known as "ricciarelli". We bought a box at a bakery JUST inside the old city arches to the right. They were fantastic!

As for amenities (besides our balcony), we were able to go to a partnering hotel's pool. It was a bit of a walk (about 10 minutes), but we enjoyed our afternoon dip on a HOT July day.

Siena is a beautiful city. We ate some amazing food (especially the ricciarelli cookies!), drank some fantastic wines (go to a vineyard!) and enjoyed the sites and sounds of an historic area of Italy (we did a day trip to Florence as well. It's a short train ride away.) It was all made easier by our stay at Hotel Italia.

Should we return to Siena, we would certainly stay at Hotel Italia again. And hopefully our room with a view will be available once more!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Janson,
we loved your review, it's full of feeling :).
Many many thanks from me and all the Staff.
It's such a pleasure to know your stay was that good.
We all will wait for your next visit open arms!
Warmest regards form Siena,

Federica Fiochi and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is quite a walk from the city centre. However, there is a train station and shopping centre nearby, along with an amazing pizza place. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and recommended some reputable restaurants, along with places of interest in the city. With regards to the standard room that we booked, I must say we were somewhat disappointed! The decor was dated and the bed was extremely firm- we found it difficult to sleep! The bathroom was ok- but we found the shower somewhat basic (there wasn't an adjustable shower head) and the water temperature was temperamental at times. All in all I would say that this hotel is suitable for a one-night stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Daniella7,
it's always a pleasure receiving a review.
It gives us the opportunity to explain better Hotel Italia. What you write about our Standard Room is absolutely correct and thta exactly what we describe on our web site. That's why it's the cheapest room.
The problem is that many information are twisted by third parts and it's not easy fot the guests having the right ones.
The only way is to check always the official web site!
Maybe next time you could try one of our Superior Room or the Executive one...our crowning point!
Many thanks however for staying with us.
Sincere regards,

Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentleigh, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Such a charming and beautiful hotel. We arrived to find we had been given a free upgrade which was in the building just next to the main hotel. It was only us and a room across from us so was very peaceful and quiet. The room itself was very large and spacious and had a small balcony. The bed was firm but reasonably comfortable and there was free wifi and a mini bar. Hotel staff were friendly but many restaurants in the area were not so friendly maybe because we speak very little Italian. The breakfast in the morning was great and we really enjoyed our overnight stay here. Air conditioning worked great as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessnLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear JessnLuke,

many thanks for staying with us during your visit in Siena.
I'm very glad your stay was taht satisfiant.
I'm really sorry about what you write regarding restaurants close by...that's not good for Siena. I hope it was just a misunderstanding.
Your room in the dependance is usually very appreciated...I'm happy you enjoyed it too.
Looking forward to your next visit, me and the staff wish you all the best.

Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A newly renovated hotel, the room was spacious with a bathroom almost as big as the bedroom. Great staff, always ready to help and smiling. Location was close to the old centre and a pleasant stroll down to the square. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear martinjle,

many thanks for posting your kind review about us.
It's very important knowing our guest opinions, we can improve and understand your needs to give a better welcome!
I'm very proud about my staff...I'm so happy you report it, GRAZIE!
Looking forward to your next visit, please accept our kindest regards,

Federica Fiochi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

One night stayover, great staff very welcoming. Wonderful breakfast. Very clean, nice little lounge with free American coffee (but why) . Very bicycle friendly as we saw many cyclists stay here.
We would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We had rooms in a additional building. No noise at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finnsdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-italia-siena, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear finnsdo,

my name is Federica and I'm the Hotel manager.
I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Italia during your stay in Siena and for leaving this kind review about us.
I'm very glad you appreciated our services and you could enjoy your vacation.
Cyclists are very welcome here...we have a bike deposit, great buffet breakfast, a repair kit and an automatic loundry just in front of the Hotel.
Me and my staff would like to send you our warmest regards with the hope to welcome you another time soon.
Yours faithfully,

Federica Fiochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
753 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Viale Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour, 67, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Siena
#3 Business Hotel in Siena
#7 Family Hotel in Siena
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 3 star Hotel close to the Siena City Centre,completely refreshed, easy access from the train station by the escalator, parking (to be reserved). All comforts: Air Conditioned, Tv Lcd Sat with free Sky Channels, WiFi (free for reservation on our web site),Great Buffet Breakfast with cold and hot delicacies, dainties for the sweet tooth guests, gluten free and vegan food.From May to September enjoy the Garden Hotel’s swimming pool (free admittance, from 4 years old a 5€ drink is required). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing