We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, regular location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It is is a very good hotel. It is located in the downtown of the city, but it is important to know how to reach it. I have to take a taxi, because I don't know Siena has a modern system of escalators that comunicates the train station (which is outside of the city) with the downtown.

The breakfast is ok, but the coffee is not a real coffee, but made of barley (italian toasted barley).

Room Tip: The rooms are good there
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmcuencaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Cannon d'Oro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel wasn't very upscale or impressive, but if all you need is a clean bed and a good shower, it fits the bill. Great location on the main street in Siena, only 5 minutes walking to the Piazza del Campo, the main square, so everything is very easily accessible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerBR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

The Cannon D' Oro was booked by my husband based on the reviews he read on trip advisor. The hotel is located in a nice area close to the Campo and walking distance to the Basilica and stores.

The hotel felt more like a hostel to me. It would be perfect for travelers who don't care about ammenities. However this is not a place for me.

The room is very sparse and the noise level at times was loud due to the echoey hallways and thin doors. There is literally one outlet in the entire room and none in the bathroom. There is also no hair dryer although one can be provided at the front desk. Our room did have air conditioning, but our kids room did not. Even with the air conditioning, it never got comfortably cool in the room. The ventilation in the bathroom was horrible and had a funky smell.

There is a elevator, but it only accesses a small section of the hotel. So if walking up stairs with luggage is a difficulty - this isn't the hotel for you.

Breakfast was simple and satisfactory with one exception....the coffee was horrible! If you are like me and enjoy a delicious cup of Italian cappuccino to jump start your day - you definitely will be disappointed.

Wifi is spotty and my room didn't get it but my boys room did. As for the staff, they were very nice and helpful so no bad marks on the staff.

So If you are looking for a hotel verses hostel experience, you might wanna rethink this one.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laney1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Need a clean room, hot shower, and a place to lay your head at night, a short walk from all the interesting bits of Siena while sticking to a budget? Then this may be your hotel. I was booked as part of a group so don't know the specific price for our accommodations, but I am guessing our Italian host was making her pennies count.

Rooms are very basic, but clean. The towels were weirdly non-absorbant. No trouble with hot water or bad smells in the bathroom. View was an alleyway, not exactly a thrill but not noisy with traffic at night, either.

Location is great, just walk out the door and you'll find shops, restaurants, and a short hike will bring you to many historic sites and the Campo. Staff was very pleasant as well. Breakfast was fine, nothing to write home about for good or for ill.

Noise was . . . well, a factor. The first night our radiator for reasons of its own began to glurg and gurgle. Loudly. First we thought the toilet tank was leaking, but then I figured out it was the radiators--which we were not using. I tried to tighten the knob to no avail. Eventually we wrapped it up like a burrito in extra bedding to muffle the racket. After about two hours of glugging and gurgling it just stopped, never to make another sound the rest of our stay.

That aside, it is impossible to walk, talk, move luggage, or open and shut a door without making one heck of a racket, no matter how quiet you are trying to be. If you are a light sleeper, this is going to be annoying. If you are really tired and can sleep through sounds, you're good to go. Beds are comfy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

If you're after a (very) comfortable bed in a friendly hotel literally inside the historic for a reasonable price, then you've found it.

Great location tucked quietly away but only a few steps from the main path of Siena. Friendly, knowledgeable hosts. Good, typical breakfast. Sure, it's not 5 star, but everything you need is here.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AreDeeDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Our group of twelve had a great one night stay at Cannon d'Oro ans had good service for our stay. Our reservation was made for the following day by mistatke, but they were able to accommodate us for the day we arrived without issue. The rooms were large and contained more than enough beds for for each room. The bathroom was also of good size though shelf space is sparse. The wireless was excellent and free and the best we had in all four of our hotel stays in Italy. Some of the views from the rooms were fantasic and supplied some good pictures. The breakfast is just adequate and the capuccino is instant coffee out of a machine. However, it was fine for our needs and we just ate an early lunch. We didn't have an issue with noise but I can see that there might be more in the busy Summer season. I think if the hotel just put cushioned seals on the doors they could eliminate much of it. The value of the hotel was the best for our group in the four cities we stayed and since we were not in the hotel except to sleep it it was just right for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Quite a lovely property with impressive historical credentials - having been converted to Hotel use from a previous private mansion. The floors are impressively marble and stone throughout while the doors are solid oak. Closing a door in the middle of the night causes echoes of noise to roll down the hall much like a cannon shot and perhaps this is where the name is derived!

Clean hotel, well located and close to transportation but when travelling, the one needed thing and likely all that a hotel should ensure, is quiet repose and slumber. Not at Cannon D'Oro.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#32 of 40 in Siena
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#24 of 40 in Siena
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#28 of 40 in Siena
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#21 of 40 in Siena
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Cannon d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cannon d'Oro

Address: Via Dei Montanini 28, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range: £47 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Cannon d'Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albergo Cannon d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cannon d`Oro Hotel Siena
Albergo Cannon d Oro Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing