We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & close to the historic center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Stoughton, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean & close to the historic center”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had decided to stay in Siena at the last minute, just looking for an overnight so we didn't have to drive back to our home base near Perugia. Large, clean room with comfortable beds. Front desk was very helpful. Great location not far from Piazza del Campo. We weren't expecting much for the price but were pleasantly surprised. Nice fluffy towels, big bathroom. Included breakfast too. Worked well in a pinch, would go back for a few nights stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, away from main street. It does get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    185
    175
    62
    20
See reviews for
82
203
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Probably the best value for money hotel in Sienna. Comfortable and clean rooms with air conditioning. Breakfast included in price. Just a couple of minutes to the central piazza of Sienna. We also had to check out 1 day earlier than the datea we booked and they didn't charge us for late cancellation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We arrrived in Siena dragging our bags so just stopped at first albergo we came across. Was 50 euros for each for us in 2 separate rooms. Neither room had a window but it was simple and pleasant. Did not like the fact I had to climb out of bed across the room to turn out light and stumble back into bed. A bedside lamp would have been a good thing. Breakfast was the barest minimum, coffee undrinkable andt fresh rolls with silver wrapped cheese the only edible offering. Very good location. My friend did not sleep much as he heard the night club next door going all night. So not a big success. We were just grateful to have found somewhere central on a Saturday night. There are some much larger rooms ( with windows!), probably much more expensive and who knows what the noise was like.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank philo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

It is a good choice for your accomondation in Siena!The location is perfect,just one minute far from the city center.We stayed there for one night.The room was clear.Unfortunately,there was not a fridge in the room but we could use a shared one.in addition,the price included a good breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diamonts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I found it very difficult to find the hotel by car. It is only possible to drive through the city wall on a few places, and my GPS didn't know them... Therefor we walked to hotel from a public parking and we received a great explanation of nearby free parking places. The people were very friendly. The room was spacious and clean (we had a double and two single beds) but the beds and pillows were terrible. I did'nt sleep at all, they were much to firm. Breakfast was fine,. Nothing special. The location was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We parked at the stadium. The hotel was surprisingly easy to find after an easy walk of perhaps 10 minutes. The hotel is perfectly situated in the center of Sienna. We had a large family room with and extra bed for the five of us. It turned out to be a very good value. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast was not spectacular but better than we expected. But, perhaps the best reason to stay was the helpful hotel management. We enjoyed chatting as they gave us excellent advice regarding where to eat and what to do around Sienna.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_ATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Cannon d'Oro is a lovely small hotel right in the centre of Siena. It is clean, quiet, and beautifully kept - a perfect base for exploring the city. We arrived on the bus from Florence, knowing little about Siena, and discovered that not only is the Cannon d'Oro only 5 minutes' walk from the bus station, it is only 5 minutes' walk from most of the beautiful sights of Siena and is in the middle of the main shopping area.

The hotel is set back from the main shopping street (via Montanini/via Banchi di Sopra) and you enter it through a small covered lane which speaks of the centuries of history of this lovely place. Hence, noise levels are low even though the hotel is in the centre of things. While only rated two stars, the hotel is kept spotless and the rooms are beautiful and romantic. It represents excellent value for money. No air conditioning, but the ceiling fans do make a difference.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street (via Montanini) would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JR_NZ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#25 of 40 in Siena
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#31 of 40 in Siena
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#30 of 40 in Siena
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 40 in Siena
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Cannon d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cannon d'Oro

Property: Albergo Cannon d'Oro
Address: Via Dei Montanini 28, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Cannon d'Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Albergo Cannon d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cannon d`Oro Hotel Siena
Albergo Cannon d Oro Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing