We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Ask for room 37. It's the last room in the back, very quiet, spacious and nice views. Room was spotlessly clean and bed very comfortable. Although simply and sparsely decorated, extremely comfortable room. Location is terrific. Breakfast was adequate and more importantly convenient. Excellent hotel for the price and location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vamanos44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    185
    175
    62
    20
See reviews for
82
203
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We could hear every traveler coming home at night, every door being opened and closed. Voices traveled very well in the halls...making it difficult to sleep. Breakfast was served in a tight little room, with a coffee machine (the horror!) and no selection. Breakfast was not worth going to....just awful.

The bed was hard and the pillows thin.

The only good thing was the location.

If we go to Siena again, we will pick another hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GourmetGirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siena hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This hotel was excellent. It was located right in the city center; just a short walk from the Campo. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The room was clean and bright. There is an elevator. There was a lot to choose from for breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This hotel is perfect location for touring and also arriving by the most convenient bus method. The staff were most kind when I had to cancel abruptly for an emergency back home. I will definitely stay here when planning my next trip to Siena.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Bused in to Siena from Rome and stayed at this hotel for 1 night. The hotel is behind the street where the bus terminal is, very convenient as you probably don't want to be rolling your suitcase for very far on the cobblestoned streets. The hotel is minutes to the Campo and Duomo (Sta. Maria Della Scala). It is on a nice street lined with different shops and restaurants. There is no elevator, so depending on which room you are given you may be looking at negotiating several flights of stairs. Our room was basic - a full/double bed, flimsy sheets, couple of nightstands, small TV, armoire; there was a ceiling fan.

The bathroom was a wet bathroom - actually like this the best compared to our bathroom in Rome (where the shower did not have a door or shower curtain so you could not move freely for fear of flooding the whole place). The water pressure was strong and full and made showering after a long day of galavanting a delight. The towels however need to be changed. They were literally the larger version of the towels they leave for cleaning the (you know what) after using the bidet.

The breakfast was nothing special but enough to get you started for the day. Alternatively, you can eat at several of the bakeshops/patisseries on the same street.
The breakfast room was a bit of a character - it looks like a dungeon.

In all, we would recommend and stay at this hotel again. My husband and i loved medieval Sienna. Don't forget to spend some time at the Campo; enjoy a capucchino at one of the cafes surrounding the campo, people watch, check out the shops, talk to the locals, etc.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightingale0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We were in Siena with our teenage daughters for Palio. We picked this hotel due to the location. We were not disappointed with the location. However, don't expect anything beyond the basics. Room is bare bones and no safe etc and flimsy doors. Noisy. The air-conditioning did not work and it was extremely hot in the room. We did get a 10% discount for the inconvenience. The breakfast was the worst we experienced on our trip. Bottom line, great location but that's about it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMCSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

stayed here 1 night arriving by bus from Florence. just steps from the bus stop - you don't want to be wheeling suitcases much farther on the steep hills of Siena. hotel was also very close to all attractions and there is a nearby supermarket.
reception very friendly at all hours - a generous Brit even gave me his newspaper to read before he'd read it.
no rooms with view but single had a very large window over a narrow street where the palio men paraded several times - thrilling.
arriving by bus? stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatinRzeszow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#25 of 40 in Siena
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#31 of 40 in Siena
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#30 of 40 in Siena
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 40 in Siena
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Cannon d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cannon d'Oro

Property: Albergo Cannon d'Oro
Address: Via Dei Montanini 28, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Cannon d'Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Albergo Cannon d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cannon d`Oro Hotel Siena
Albergo Cannon d Oro Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing