We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Scacciapensieri
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed at Villa Scacciapensieri for 3 nights in July. It's main advantage is the fact that you can enjoy relaxing I villa grounds with access to a great pool while still being very close to Siena so a short bus ride away takes you in to an amazing city with lots of great dinner and drinks options. For the location and grounds it is reasonably priced (we booked through booking.com) although note that it is rather outdated. While it does have an old world charm about it, it is also really quite old-fashioned and tired. We had a room in the main house which was positioned on a corner. We looked out on a dense garden which was lovely and was great to get the morning sun particularly since we were there in mid July and it gets extremely hot during the day so much better to face this way rather than the room heating up with the heat of the afternoon. Breakfast was served on the outdoor terrace with trees all around and was very relaxing. Rather odd that they served breakfast to you by wheeling around this oversized cart and serving you but was nice for something different. If you are in a rush, make sure you go early as this service all takes time and results in a very leisurely breakfast (which suited us). Service at reception was rather brusque and not at all friendly. Prices of restaurant and bar were way over-priced and highly recommend getting the bus in to Siena for dinner which is really easy to do and then gives you a great array of options.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank CKH_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

On a trip through Tuscany we got the recommendation from a hotel receptionist in Florence to stay at Villa Scacciapensieri when visiting Siena. Having looked at the hotel on-line we saw that the comments were great and decided to pick it for our stay, even if the hotel type was not exactly what we look for (we like more modern, design type hotels). Upon our arrival we were immediately received by a smiley laduly at reception, doing the most to make us feel good about our stay. She asked us if we wants to check a better room (room 43 with a very nice view to Siena) than the one we had booked. We've checked both and for a small increase of cost picked the best room.
From that momen we kept having great service - the people at the restaurant of the hotel is simply great, always gentle and ready to help on whatever asks we have.
Small but, the hotel is not new, hence get ready for the limitations this brings. In our case we felt that the service, cleaningness and overall experience were more than enough to forget that this is not our type of pick. It was an excellent choice and we would do it again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PepitoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We learned of this hotel from "Italy for Dummies" when planning a family trip to Italy. We stayed here for 2 nights and upon arrival were awed by the beauty of the grounds and the views! We all wished we had spent more time there for leisure and relaxation as the accommodations certainly provide this. We dined there for dinner our first night which was wonderful. This was by far our top lodging spot during our travels. The entire property is stunning and the staff very polite and friendly. Our teenagers were even highly impressed! Loved the ambiance and the bar area as well as the multiple patios and terraces to enjoy the sunset or a drink. It was such a pleasure to be outside of the city but very close as well. Would definitely return and recommend highly!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We had a fantastic stay here. The staff was gracious and welcoming. The room and grounds were beautiful! Terraces abound to enjoy great views with a bottle of vino and delicious fare.The bus stops at the bottom of their drive to take you to Siena Centro. 15 min.
I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minervaprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We were looking forward to our stay at Villa Scacciapensieri and the actual hotel itself was very attractive. On arrival however the gentleman on reception did not make us feel particularly welcome. His entire demeanor was one of superiority and we had the distinct impression that he did not like us. Our room was very pleasing aesthetically but we were right next to the road. At 4.30am we were woken up by the noise of scooters whizzing past the room. We ate in the restaurant and the head waiter was very attentive but the food did not live up to expectations. We ordered Florentine Steak which arrived the way the chef had cooked it which was absolutely fine (rare) but it was quite chewy and certainly not worth the money paid. I do not want to put anyone off visiting this hotel as it is in a lovely location with beautiful grounds but we were very disappointed personally with the service and the food. Perhaps we were expecting too high a standard but it does promote an extensive list of previous guest such as Grace Kelly !!.The next 2 hotels we stayed at during our visit did not fall short unlike Villa Scacciapensieri

Room Tip: Please ask that you are not next to the road. If you can, ask for a room that overlooks the manicure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SIMON D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spent three nights here in April with our two children (with whom we shared a suite) and my parents in law. It's a lovely hotel. Many I'm sure would say it needed updating but I think the old-fashioned interior was charming, even if the bow-tied waiting staff might have been a bit over the top! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the one dinner that we had in the hotel restaurant was good. (note to foodies: when in Siena go for the truffle menu in the Taverna de San Giuseppe in the old town). We were unlucky with the weather but I imagine that in hot weather the pool would be a joy, as the surrounding gardens were very attractive and Italianate.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here and were generally pleased with the Villa. Unfortunately our first room overlooked a busy road and the traffic at 7 woke us both up. The front desk arranged a second room and it was much better. Try and stay in the main Villa or at least away from the main road.
The rooms were spacious and clean. Nicely appointed bathrooms and a very nice Lobby and dinning room in the main Villa. We were in one of the out buildings but were only 30 feet from the main Villa so it was ideal.
There are extensive grounds with a garden a swimming pool and a great are to sit and enjoy a glass of wine a have a fantastic view of the Tuscan countryside. After a long morning in Siena or visiting some hill towns we would return with some snacks and a nice bottle of wine and sit in the garden or the rooftop patio and enjoy the late afternoons before heading out for dinner.
The Villa is about 10 minutes outside the walls of Siena but the bus into town runs right by the front gate and it is only a 10 Euro taxi ride back.
Worth the stay if you want to see Siena but want a taste of the Tuscan countryside as well.

Room Tip: Stay in the main Villa or the other buildings are OK but ask to be away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rusty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
786 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#3 of 40 in Siena
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
2,190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,443 reviews
1 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#2 of 40 in Siena
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Scacciapensieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Scacciapensieri

Address: Strada di Scacciapensieri 10, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £61 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Scacciapensieri 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star hotel “Villa Scacciapensieri” is ideal for clients looking for a peaceful, warm and cordial atmosphere, an excellent kitchen and attentive service. Location : the hotel is set in its own large park and gardens on top of a little hill only 2.5 km north of the medieval city walls of Siena, 1,5 km from the train station, just on the border of the Chianti wine region; all the main sights of Tuscany are easily reached. There is a very regular public bus service from the Villa to the historical centre every 15 minutes (on weekends twice an hour, after 8 p.m. once an hour). The main villa, constructed in the late 1790s – early 1800s, has rooms on the two upper floors, while the reception desk (24 h.), the restaurant "Altri Tempi," the cosy bar-lounge with open fire place and library, the private little chapel and the media-room with Internet access are all located on the ground level. There are two annex buildings "Limonaia" and "Villino" both very close to the main Villa. All rooms are air-conditioned. The outdoor swimming pool (open from mid May to October) overlooks the Chianti hills. We also have a tennis court, bicycles and parking for the exclusive use of our guests, there is no charge for these facilities. Garages are available on request (Euro 20/night). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Scacciapensieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Scacciapensieri Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing