We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Scacciapensieri
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Pretty cool hotel. Quite a surreal feeling when I walked up the driveway, it reminded me of the hotel out of the 'Shining', bit creepy actually - on that subject, one of the waters was a dead ringer for the waiter in the bathroom who convinces Jack to correct the family. In any event, had quite a lot of pros and some cons. The room was comfortable enough, ok bed, ok air con, clean and functional bathroom, beautiful surrounds, very good breakfast, nice pool and most of the staff were helpful, particularly the Scot (who I believe was the manager). Cons - Drinks, meals etc. re pretty expensive at the hotel but as one reviewer has mentioned there's a pretty reasonable restaurant just up the road at the caravan park - to get there don't try to walk up the road, it's too narrow - just wait for the bus to take you a couple of stops. Also, there was no clear indication a single room contained a single bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShoelessJoe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    114
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
53
214
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Wow! From the moment we book to the end of our visit, it was lovely. Very quiet and beautiful. Room was clean and quaint. Far enough removed for privacy, yet close enough to catch the bus(right outside hotel)to the town. Meals were on the veranda and food was spectacular! Enjoyed cappuccinos.nightly on the patio. very classy place, yet comfortable feel. Would stay here again in a heart beat.
R&A 20yr

Room Tip: Beds were a tad too hard, but no problem sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nutzinoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
623 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Let me start with the positives the staff were very friendly and we had the bbq dinner which was
very nice.The hotel was nice and worthy of its 4 stars the only problem was the staff on reception do not take there advise on restaurants as the one they sent us to was not very good and don't get them to organise restaurants that you want to go to as this will not happen as they will not get your phone number.
The scotish owner also really dose not care about the trip adviser community because when i said i use it to book restaurants he said to me it is personal view
Babarra at check out was very sorry and gave me a small discount give this place a try if you like but book your own restaurants

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

After 3 nights in Rome in a heat wave, Villa Scacciapensieri provided a welcome, friendly haven in the heart of Tuscany. During our 4 day stay, all our meals were taken outside on the terrace. We have been here for the last three years, and it has been so nice to see the same staff each time. Always smiling and friendly, joking ( when the language difference allows !) well turned out and wiling, whatever is asked of them. Good breakfast, plenty of choice and a good restaurant in the evening. Considering the location and the quality of the surroundings, great value. We will be back.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We booked here last minute after our hotel in Florence overbooked our room and we were put in an unacceptable replacement. We decided to head to Siena after finding this place on the internet and are so glad we took a leap of faith and hopped on the train to Siena. Lovely grounds, loved the pool, friendly staff. The villa is a lovely older building that is well maintained. We had a suite, which was huge and had 1 1/2 baths. The breakfast was good and the restaurant under the huge old trees was a treat. I wish we had stayed longer. Access to Siena was quick and easy via a bus that stops at the entrance to the villa. Florence may have more art, but I thought Siena was a prettier and less hectic city to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeniceNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilkley
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were staying in a rustic cottage near Siece (20 miles from Florence) but we needed a special few nights.
And indeed we were not disappointed. Within easy (by bus at the bottom of the drive) striking distance of Siena which you can see from the hotel on the hill.
Beautiful gardens with ample terraces and a swimming pool overlooking hills north of Siena.
The staff in reception are so nice and knowledgeable of the area.
We stayed in the main hotel building. We had booked on the internet a double room which we visited but were also offered an upgrade to a suite...one of which viewed Siena. There was a large lounge, bathroom with shower, separate shower room, a corridor with ample clothes storage and a superb bedroom with one of the best mattresses I've slept on.
The restaurant is a delight.
The staff are superb.
The food is brought to you on a trolley with a fantastic choice. Breakfast is ample for the most discerning. Evening meal is leisurely because it is cooked to demand. We particularly enjoyed the Tuscan "tasting" menu at 40 euros each.

Room Tip: If you want the view of Siena from your bedroom you need to book a room above reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanilkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This really is a great place... it's lovely, but not over the top. Room was excellent and sparkling clean. Location is easy access to highway to head to Montepulciano and other regions. I had a car, so I don't know about bus service. I'll definitely return next time I'm in Siena.

Room Tip: My room had an internal staircase to go up to the loft where the bed is. If you are prone to getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RC T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,100 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
3.4 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Scacciapensieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Scacciapensieri

Property: Villa Scacciapensieri
Address: Via di Villaggio Scacciapensieri 10, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Scacciapensieri 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star hotel “Villa Scacciapensieri” is ideal for clients looking for a peaceful, warm and cordial atmosphere, an excellent kitchen and attentive service. Location : the hotel is set in its own large park and gardens on top of a little hill only 2.5 km north of the medieval city walls of Siena, 1,5 km from the train station, just on the border of the Chianti wine region ; all the main sights of Tuscany are easily reached. There is a very regular public bus service from the Villa to the historical centre every 15 minutes (on weekends twice an hour, after 8 p.m. once an hour). The main Villa, constructed in the late 1790’s – early 1800’s, has rooms on the two upper floors, while the reception desk (24 h.), the restaurant "Altri Tempi", the cosy bar-lounge with open fire place and library, the private little chapel and the media-room with Internet access are all located on the ground level. There are two annex buildings "Limonaia" and "Villino" both very close to the main Villa. All rooms are air-conditioned. The outdoor swimming pool (open from mid May to October) overlooks the Chianti hills. We also have a tennis court, bicycles and parking for the exclusive use of our guests, there is no charge for these facilities. Garages are available on request (Euro 20,-/night). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Scacciapensieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Scacciapensieri Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing