We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Scacciapensieri
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Athena(Siena)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chiusarelli(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Minerva(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Executive(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alma Domus(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NH Siena(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Italia(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Garden(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$512
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$396
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
269
134
41
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
134
41
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshead waiterthe buspool and tennis courtadjacent buildingold world charmlounge arealocal busesfood and winetuscan countrysidegreat poolhill overlookinga lovely place to staysitting roomspectacular viewssmall balconyminute driveglass of wine
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed four nights in this villa (in the annex, with garden view) and had a very pleasant stay. The property is quite old (fashioned) but comfortable. The staff goes out of their way to assist and has good tips and advice.

The rooms are spacious (almost a suite), only the bathroom is very small, and I never liked having a shower in the bathtub.

The location is nice but out of the city (3K, € 12 for a cab)). Beautiful gardens and views of the Tuscan hills.

Breakfast is OK, but limited and exactly the same every day, so not much fun there.

There is also a tennis court and a swimming pool. Free parking.

Do have dinner in their restaurant Altri Tempi, and have the Panna Cotta for dessert - it is divine (so is the chocolate pie).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff were excellent, helpful, professional and eager to ensure our stay was with issue.
The room was spacious and to have a balcony surely made it that more enjoyable. The Villa is about 4km from the center of town, Sienna. You can take a bus, but I would recommend for 10 euros to take a cab to/from Sienna, ease and saves time.
The rose garden was in full bloom.
Excellent stay... Excellent staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtravel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This beautiful villa is located about a 20 minute bus ride from the walled city of Siena. We had a car for our time in Tuscany, but took the bus because it was cheaper than to pay parking outside Siena. The staff were very helpful providing information about the bus times and fares. The fare was 1.2 euro each one way.

Parking is behind the gates of the villa and is quite safe. We found a car invaluable. It enabled us to see the beautiful towns of Cortona, Perugia, Assisi, San Gimignano.

The rooms are lovely, clean and traditional. Absolutely spectacular gardens surround the villa.

I wouldn't say the staff are overly friendly (but coming from Hotel Davanzati in Florence is hard to beat!)

There are no restaurants close by, so eating at the villa restaurant can be quite expensive.

There is free bike hire,however I wouldn't ride outside of the gates as the roads are terribly narrow and treacherous in places. We were deterred from even walking into Siena by the staff because there are no footpaths.

The walls are very thin!! However, we slept in most mornings because it was so lovely and quiet with only the birds chirping to let us know it was morning.

Room Tip: Room 51 has windows that open up to overlook the beautiful garden
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majelaja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Be prepared to get lost if you're driving. Finding this hotel can be a bit frustrating, but staying there is well worth the trouble. We arrived without reservations (not advisable) and were lucky enough to get a room in the main house.

Worn out after driving from Milan, we had dinner in the hotel's restaurant. The food was excellent and the service exceptional. Our room overlooked a well-kept garden and the open windows let in the fragrant spring air. It was cozy and comfortable. Beautifully decorated and furnished with period furniture, it made us feel like like we were going back into a slower, more civilized time.

Buffet breakfast (included in the price) was more than ample with a variety of freshly squeezed juices, delicious breads and pastries, meats and eggs.

We were so impressed that before leaving we made reservations to go back in June.

The name of the hotel, Scacciapensieri, means put down your cares. And, that's exactly what you'll do when you stay there.

Room Tip: Room 31 in the main house is wonderful. The annex rooms are a bit less expensive, but most are on two levels so you have to take the stairs between bedroom and bath.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evamaria13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This place has wonderful views of the city and is very close to Sienna..Loved the place and the staff was very helpful in planning our trip. The breakfast and dinner here is the best..So do not miss the breakfast for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSanghvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews