We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming retreat right in the heart of Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Scacciapensieri
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming retreat right in the heart of Tuscany”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

The hotel is set in its own large park and gardens on top of a little hill only 2.5 km north of Siena, 1,5 km from the train station, just on the border of the Chianti wine region ; all the main sights of Tuscany are easily reached. The location is nice and secluded but convenient since there's a very regular public bus service from the Villa to the historical centre every 15 minutes (on weekends twice an hour, after 8 p.m. once an hour).

The main Villa, constructed in the late 1790's - early 1800's, has rooms on the two upper floors, while the reception desk (24 h.), the restaurant "Altri Tempi", the cosy bar-lounge with open fire place and library, the private little chapel and the media-room with Internet access are all located on the ground level. There are two annex buildings "Limonaia" and "Villino" both very close to the main Villa. The outdoor swimming pool (not heated, open from mid May to mid September) overlooks the Chianti hills. They also have a tennis court, bicycles and parking for the exclusive use of the guests, there is no charge for these facilities. Garages are available on request (Euro 20,-/night).

The stuff is very friendly and the view from the hotel's sun terrace and pool just stunning.

Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SabineJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    114
    36
    8
    7
See reviews for
54
214
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

We had a great time there,very romantic interior and exterior.Original furnishing...take a look at the ceilings.... every thing in this hotel is a masterpiece.The service is great... very helpful and friendly stuff.They speak (some of them) also german.In the restaurant you can try original home hand made pasta..... very very tasty....
We are comming for sure once aigain but this time we want to stay for at lesat a week.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muessli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

The staff were friendly and keen to assist, this Villa is beautiful with nice rooms - great views over the valley and looking back over Siena.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del11syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashvillle
Level Contributor
523 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

The hotel is truly is one of the best in Tuscany/Toscana. The rooms are lovely, and for the quality the prices are reasonable.

Altri Tempi, the restaurant, serves pastas which are typical of the region and freshly made, often daily, as are the sauces. The fish is extraordinary and prepared in the typical Italian style – whole and filleted table-side. The wine list is mainly regional and has many solid offerings. The maitre’ds are extremely knowledgeable and good at offering suggestions to all tastes. As well, the chefs have been at the hotel’s restaurant for many years.

The bar/lounge is quite cozy with a roaring fireplace on cool evenings and a wonderful spot to end your evening in romantic Siena with a nice warm drink.

Michela is the owner. As the Villa has been in her family for generations, she enjoys sharing her beautfiul property with guests.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

We read about this hotel on several travel websites and chose it for the location, photos and solid positive reviews. Once in Italy, on our way from Venice to Florence on the train, we met an Italian woman (who happened to be born and raised in Siena). We chatted about where we'd been and where we were going. When we mentioned we'd be staying at Villa Scacciapensieri, she just went (Italian) crazy... She could NOT say enough about it- the grounds, the staff and the restaurant. She told us it's where she and HER family go for special occasion dining. I was relieved with her encouragement and grateful I had booked us an extra day right before we had left home. Once we got there we were overwhelmed with how lovely EVERYTHING was. Our room and it's views were amazing (we got a corner room overlooking the gardens (from one window) and the hillsides (from the other). The staff were friendly and accomodating...recommending a wonderful wine tour to Montalcino/Montepulciano. The in-house restaurant was beyond compare. Not only is the dining wonderful, the wait staff is donned in white coats and wait on you, hand and foot. There is also a wonderful maitre'd/sommelier that was extremly friendly and genuine. In addition to the great dining room, there is a beautiful lounge with fireplace and couches for cocktails, boardgames and socializing... Although the hotel is located outside the walls of Siena, there is a bus stop, literally at the bottom of the driveway, that will take you straight to town. We had our own car (and parking was free), but, would not recommend driving into Siena!!! We already pledges we'd return when we could spend at least a week here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gotro17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinatot
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

My husband and I drove around Tuscany for a week and the last town was Siena. We had to return the car so we needed a hotel with good transportation into the center of town. This hotel is at the top of the hill in Siena, about 10-15 mins drive to the city center. We loved this hotel. When you arrive you are greeted with lovely lemon trees and green well manicured landscaping. Check in was easy and we were able to purchase the bus tickets at the front desk, the bus stop is literally at the end of the drive way. The bus trip into the city center is about 15 mins. We didn't stay in the main hotel but right across the gravel path in the Villino, it was cute. Walk in and there is a sitting area and bathroom, up the stairs was a loft with the bedroom overlooking the sitting area. You can stroll around outside and there is plenty of outdoor sitting areas around the property. The pictures on their site tell it all. The room we were in had a nice view of the garden. It was very clean, bright and quite.
Lastly, our breakfast was included, in which you sit down and the staff rolls over the cart and serves you. Hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinatot76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed for a week at this wonderful quiet country house. It is located in a charming district comveniently located just outside the town. We did not stay in the main buiding but in an adjacent structure with only a few rooms called the lemon house. Our suite was very spacious with two lovely windows and a balcony that overlookd the town in the distance.
The gardens were very well maintained and a pleasure to sit and relax with a lovely glass of wine. Relxing by the pool with it's wonderful views was equally enjoyable.
The food and service were excellent. We arrived late in the afternoon and were offered a very delicious meal prepared just for us as the kitchen was not open.
When I return to Siena, I will only stay here.
A superb vaction.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
3.4 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Scacciapensieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Scacciapensieri

Property: Villa Scacciapensieri
Address: Via di Villaggio Scacciapensieri 10, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Scacciapensieri 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star hotel “Villa Scacciapensieri” is ideal for clients looking for a peaceful, warm and cordial atmosphere, an excellent kitchen and attentive service. Location : the hotel is set in its own large park and gardens on top of a little hill only 2.5 km north of the medieval city walls of Siena, 1,5 km from the train station, just on the border of the Chianti wine region ; all the main sights of Tuscany are easily reached. There is a very regular public bus service from the Villa to the historical centre every 15 minutes (on weekends twice an hour, after 8 p.m. once an hour). The main Villa, constructed in the late 1790’s – early 1800’s, has rooms on the two upper floors, while the reception desk (24 h.), the restaurant "Altri Tempi", the cosy bar-lounge with open fire place and library, the private little chapel and the media-room with Internet access are all located on the ground level. There are two annex buildings "Limonaia" and "Villino" both very close to the main Villa. All rooms are air-conditioned. The outdoor swimming pool (open from mid May to October) overlooks the Chianti hills. We also have a tennis court, bicycles and parking for the exclusive use of our guests, there is no charge for these facilities. Garages are available on request (Euro 20,-/night). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Scacciapensieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Scacciapensieri Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing