We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet but expensive and old” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Scacciapensieri

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villa Scacciapensieri
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet but expensive and old”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

We picked this place based on positive reviews, and while it was quiet and friendly staff, it was not convenient for frequent trips into Siena (had to take a bus and as you might guess they do not follow the schedule in Italy!). Expensive lunch (sandwich and drink for €12) and thought the room a bit pricey. The staff are the highlight because they are friendly, but we found ourselves locked out one night and the night porter was none to friendly when we had to wake him! This is a quiet place but does not live up to our expectations (though the scenery and views really were nice).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    111
    35
    8
    6
See reviews for
53
211
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

Great place to stay outside the city. Since the bus stops outside the gate, it's easy to get to Siena and you can park your car at the villa. We had an economy loft room and it was excellent. The windows opened to a beautiful garden and we didn't mind that the bedroom was an upstairs loft. The bathroom was the nicest of all the places we stayed in Italy- it was actually a normal sized shower! The staff at the hotel was extremely helpful. The service, especially for breakfast, was very formal and the restaurant was expensive for dinner so we didn't eat dinner there. The grounds are beautiful and we wished we had more time to just relax at the villa. We got a great rate booking on venere.com. The wi-fi was free on our laptop in the lobby, but it doesn't work in the room. Overall, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

Although the hotel is outside Siena city center, transfer to hotel by bus is convenient. Rooms and garden are comfortable.
We found the ceremony during breakfast unnecessary.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolga_Nilay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

The hotel is set in its own large park and gardens on top of a little hill only 2.5 km north of Siena, 1,5 km from the train station, just on the border of the Chianti wine region ; all the main sights of Tuscany are easily reached. The location is nice and secluded but convenient since there's a very regular public bus service from the Villa to the historical centre every 15 minutes (on weekends twice an hour, after 8 p.m. once an hour).

The main Villa, constructed in the late 1790's - early 1800's, has rooms on the two upper floors, while the reception desk (24 h.), the restaurant "Altri Tempi", the cosy bar-lounge with open fire place and library, the private little chapel and the media-room with Internet access are all located on the ground level. There are two annex buildings "Limonaia" and "Villino" both very close to the main Villa. The outdoor swimming pool (not heated, open from mid May to mid September) overlooks the Chianti hills. They also have a tennis court, bicycles and parking for the exclusive use of the guests, there is no charge for these facilities. Garages are available on request (Euro 20,-/night).

The stuff is very friendly and the view from the hotel's sun terrace and pool just stunning.

Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SabineJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

We had a great time there,very romantic interior and exterior.Original furnishing...take a look at the ceilings.... every thing in this hotel is a masterpiece.The service is great... very helpful and friendly stuff.They speak (some of them) also german.In the restaurant you can try original home hand made pasta..... very very tasty....
We are comming for sure once aigain but this time we want to stay for at lesat a week.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muessli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

The staff were friendly and keen to assist, this Villa is beautiful with nice rooms - great views over the valley and looking back over Siena.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Del11syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashvillle
Level Contributor
518 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

The hotel is truly is one of the best in Tuscany/Toscana. The rooms are lovely, and for the quality the prices are reasonable.

Altri Tempi, the restaurant, serves pastas which are typical of the region and freshly made, often daily, as are the sauces. The fish is extraordinary and prepared in the typical Italian style – whole and filleted table-side. The wine list is mainly regional and has many solid offerings. The maitre’ds are extremely knowledgeable and good at offering suggestions to all tastes. As well, the chefs have been at the hotel’s restaurant for many years.

The bar/lounge is quite cozy with a roaring fireplace on cool evenings and a wonderful spot to end your evening in romantic Siena with a nice warm drink.

Michela is the owner. As the Villa has been in her family for generations, she enjoys sharing her beautfiul property with guests.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Scacciapensieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Scacciapensieri

Property: Villa Scacciapensieri
Address: Via di Villaggio Scacciapensieri 10, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Scacciapensieri 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star hotel “Villa Scacciapensieri” is ideal for clients looking for a peaceful, warm and cordial atmosphere, an excellent kitchen and attentive service. Location : the hotel is set in its own large park and gardens on top of a little hill only 2.5 km north of the medieval city walls of Siena, 1,5 km from the train station, just on the border of the Chianti wine region ; all the main sights of Tuscany are easily reached. There is a very regular public bus service from the Villa to the historical centre every 15 minutes (on weekends twice an hour, after 8 p.m. once an hour). The main Villa, constructed in the late 1790’s – early 1800’s, has rooms on the two upper floors, while the reception desk (24 h.), the restaurant "Altri Tempi", the cosy bar-lounge with open fire place and library, the private little chapel and the media-room with Internet access are all located on the ground level. There are two annex buildings "Limonaia" and "Villino" both very close to the main Villa. All rooms are air-conditioned. The outdoor swimming pool (open from mid May to October) overlooks the Chianti hills. We also have a tennis court, bicycles and parking for the exclusive use of our guests, there is no charge for these facilities. Garages are available on request (Euro 20,-/night). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Scacciapensieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Scacciapensieri Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing