We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa in Beautiful setting just short bus ride from Sienna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Scacciapensieri
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely villa in a small suite. It is in the most beautiful setting as long as you avoid looking at the hospital which is big and very ugly. Very unfortunate.

The rooms were reasonably clean and the decor was ageing, but did suit the villa well. Think that little touches for this type of accommodation were missing - like thick towels - we were supplied old rough towels. I would also think that this type of villa would provide dressing gowns and slippers but they don't.

The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly and the service was exceptional. Breakfast was tasty and offered a good choice.

Some of the gardens were beautiful, but some needed to be tided up bit, but to be honest I am being hyper critical. It was lovely. The swimming pool was large and cold!

Overall we had a lovely time and I would definately recommend this to relax in and enjoy your Siena trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpleprincesskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2010

This must have been a wonderful hotel in the 50's. The inroom literature tells you that Princ Ranier and Grace Kelly once stayed and you can believe it. The property and grounds are wonderful with good views from our room over to Siena. Unfortunately the literature also tells you that the hotel is run by three generations of the family that has owned it since the 50's and the signs of this are all around you. There is a major lack of investment and consequently it is untidy and needing a refurb throughout, it is almost in a time warp.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gables123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This is a year old but its been one of our favorite places we have stayed in Italy so wanted to comment. We stayed there last summer for two nights. It was a beautiful villa close to the city but felt like we were in the countryside. We were able to take the bus to the city then escape away from the crowds back at the hotel. There was free parking which is such a luxury in Italy. The room was large, bathroom remodelled and beautiful! The views were amazing. Also had a great pool. The nights were quiet and cool. The restuarant was wonderful. Great food and staff. There are wonderful gardens to sit and relax. Truely feels like ltaly. We are excited to go back this summer!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinoalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

My husband and I just returned home after a 14 day trip to Italy. While in Italy, we spent two nights at the Villa Scacciapensieri, The hotel is wonderful. Our room was on the top floor and had an incredible view of the hillside. The rooms are quite large but it was the luxury of the bathrooms that set this villa apart from the other inns we visited while on our trip. The villa provides nightly turn down service which was a nice addition and was extremely helpful in booking tours we were interested in. There is an onsite restaurant and bar. As mentioned in other post these two eateries on the property are quite expensive. We wanted to support the local restaurant and decided to eat there one night. Although it was pricey, it was well worth it! The service was great and the food was wonderful!

My only complaint was the maintenance of the grounds around the villa. It is a large property with multiple outside sitting areas. The lawn was overgrown and the patios were covered in leaves. There is likely a good explanation for the neglected lawn care but this was the only downside I found!

For those that have selected this villa and are coming from the train terminal, you can take bus line 3 OR 8. The villa's website suggests line 3. If you take this line, be aware that the bus lets you off at the Scacciapensieri campsite. The Villa is about a half a mile up the road. Because the road is very curvy and the sidewalk does not continue all the way to the villa, we opted to take line 8 which is right in front of the hotel to the left. This line takes you to the center of town and the terminal.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We picked this place based on positive reviews, and while it was quiet and friendly staff, it was not convenient for frequent trips into Siena (had to take a bus and as you might guess they do not follow the schedule in Italy!). Expensive lunch (sandwich and drink for €12) and thought the room a bit pricey. The staff are the highlight because they are friendly, but we found ourselves locked out one night and the night porter was none to friendly when we had to wake him! This is a quiet place but does not live up to our expectations (though the scenery and views really were nice).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Great place to stay outside the city. Since the bus stops outside the gate, it's easy to get to Siena and you can park your car at the villa. We had an economy loft room and it was excellent. The windows opened to a beautiful garden and we didn't mind that the bedroom was an upstairs loft. The bathroom was the nicest of all the places we stayed in Italy- it was actually a normal sized shower! The staff at the hotel was extremely helpful. The service, especially for breakfast, was very formal and the restaurant was expensive for dinner so we didn't eat dinner there. The grounds are beautiful and we wished we had more time to just relax at the villa. We got a great rate booking on venere.com. The wi-fi was free on our laptop in the lobby, but it doesn't work in the room. Overall, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Although the hotel is outside Siena city center, transfer to hotel by bus is convenient. Rooms and garden are comfortable.
We found the ceremony during breakfast unnecessary.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tolga_Nilay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,462 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
790 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#3 of 40 in Siena
698 reviews
1 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#2 of 40 in Siena
167 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Scacciapensieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Scacciapensieri

Address: Strada di Scacciapensieri 10, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £63 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Scacciapensieri 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star hotel “Villa Scacciapensieri” is ideal for clients looking for a peaceful, warm and cordial atmosphere, an excellent kitchen and attentive service. Location : the hotel is set in its own large park and gardens on top of a little hill only 2.5 km north of the medieval city walls of Siena, 1,5 km from the train station, just on the border of the Chianti wine region; all the main sights of Tuscany are easily reached. There is a very regular public bus service from the Villa to the historical centre every 15 minutes (on weekends twice an hour, after 8 p.m. once an hour). The main villa, constructed in the late 1790s – early 1800s, has rooms on the two upper floors, while the reception desk (24 h.), the restaurant "Altri Tempi," the cosy bar-lounge with open fire place and library, the private little chapel and the media-room with Internet access are all located on the ground level. There are two annex buildings "Limonaia" and "Villino" both very close to the main Villa. All rooms are air-conditioned. The outdoor swimming pool (open from mid May to October) overlooks the Chianti hills. We also have a tennis court, bicycles and parking for the exclusive use of our guests, there is no charge for these facilities. Garages are available on request (Euro 20/night). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Scacciapensieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Scacciapensieri Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing