We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with an excellent staff!”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms were spacious and very clean. The breakfast was a very well stocked buffet with a variety of options. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. It is about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the major attractions in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkkack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Ikkack,

That's an amazing review!
Thank you so much for being so kind. We really enjoyed your company and we're so happy to understand that you did the same!

We can't wait to host you soon again here at Athena.

See you soon

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,305)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Athena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 3,305 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The Athena is a magnificent hotel in an incredible city. Our only disappointment with our stay was that it was only a short stay. The staff was amazingly accommodating, the room luxurious, and the view was breathtaking. This was our favorite hotel our our ten day trip. When we come back (and we will!!), we will again enjoy this incredible property.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FallsWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear FallsWarrior,

We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, all our staff wants to send you his heartfelt and huge thank you very much for your words. Magnificent?..............We're speachless!!

We are very happy to see that we take part in the building of your holiday and that it was great!

Don’t hesitate to contact us for everything you need and check our website, it’s a very good way to know news and events in Siena for your next holidays in Siena, which is already planned as I see :-)


Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

WE loved this hotel. We stayed here May 2013 on a trip to celebrate milestone birthdays. The location was terrific with a couple of good restaurants nearby, the staff was very nice, the rooms were lovely and the breakfast buffet was in quite extensive and delicious. We would definitely was here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmbcauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear jmbcauld,

thank you for your very useful review, few words but fill of content!
We're so glad to read that you had a terrific stay with us.

It is so glad to see that the people who lived the hotel leave a 5 on 5 review that means perfection and we don't know if we are but for sure we look for it!
May is long time ago, justo go ahead and book your next stay with us.

Thank you again and see you soon in Siena

Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here. We had a room with breath taking views, a lovely bottle of wine in the room and were greeted by friendly staff.
We loved Siena and will definitely be back. Thanks for making our honeymoon so memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fudgerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear fudgerina,

Let us send you our big thank you for your review and for the time you spent talking about your experience with us. All the comments are very important for us because they give us the opportunity to improve our services.

We appreciate that you have been delighted by your beautiful, large and clean Deluxe room overlooking the Tuscan hills. It’s an unique and unforgettable experience.

We’re looking forward to see you soon at our hotel and for your next stay with us I recommend you to check our website where you can find many special offers and big deals designed for every needs.

PS: congratulations again for your wedding!

Kindest Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Athena from the 26th of October till the 30th of October 2013.
When I had booked the room in April of 2013 I had informed them that I would be arriving on my birthday.
Upon arrival,we went to the front desk and met Allessandro,who was simply awesome,most helpful man.He even wished me a happy birthday.
Our room was a deluxe that overlooked the countryside and it suited us divinely.We had read reviews of the restaurant and the awesome food they served there so thats where I decided to have my b'day meal.We were not disapointed,the food was excellent as were the staff.
Simona even brought out a cupcake with a candle in it and sang(very softly)happy birthday,she was simply first rate as were all the staff we encountered during our stay.Another plus was the location,6-7 minutes from the Duomo and Il Campo.
When we return to Siena we will most definately stay at the Hotel Athena again.
Awesome city,super hotel,kind,caring and most helpful staff.
You all deserve a standing ovation in our books.
Ciao,and thanks again Hotel Athena for making it a wonderful birthday and most awesome stay.
Tracy and Doug Schnurr,Victoria,B.C.Canada.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 7th floor over looking the countryside,very very relaxing.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charly03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Doug, Dear Victoria,

Wow, I don’t know what to say….Perfect review! You left me speechless, all our effort had been repaid by your beautiful words.From Alessandro and Simona to all the staff wants to send you their personal thanks and They remained so satisfied for the great job done.

We’re glad to see that you enjoyed your b'day here in Siena with us, we hope to had being more family than staff in that day.

We can’t wait to host you soon again, don’t’ forget to visit our website and catch the best deal.

Best regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The staff at the Athena were exceedingly welcoming, despite our staying for a single night ( for which we were reproached - we have promised to return for a longer stay). It proved the perfect location for exploring all the sights of Siena. Despite having booked through Expedia at what we thought were very good rates, we were upgraded on arrival. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The breakfast alone is reason to stay at this hotel - far more extensive than what is customarily offered. But the service is what really stands out - from the restaurant recommendation to the sightseeing advice - the staff at this hotel really shine. Highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Louise,

Thank you so much for your review. Your comment and your feedback about our services is very important to us. A special thank you is sent by the staff that it is feeling so proud to have been described their services as "shine."

We are also happy that you have appreciated the room and overall the breakfast buffet and the restaurant. Our Chef Vincenzo and his crew shall be so happy resding this.
.
For your next stay do not hesitate to contact us or visit our website to do not miss the special offers for your next stay with us.

Best Regards
Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. The rooms are large (with great views) and there is a bottle of wine waiting for you when you enter. The people are friendly, breakfast is great and the location is perfect. we love it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear ckmurph,

We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, all our staff wants to send you his heartfelt and huge thank you very much for your words.

We are very happy to see that we take part in the building of tuscan vacation and that it was great!

Don’t hesitate to contact us for everything you need and check our website, it’s a very good way to know news and events in Siena for your next holidays in Siena.


Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,453 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
761 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £65 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing