We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Loved this hotel Spent several lovely days here had spectacular room on 7th fl, the bath was eye popping. Great view fantastic service. Only issue was the "green" lighting Harsh light takes away from a lovely ambiance. There was a movie being filmed in Siena and the crew and actors were staying here & got real hectic. The staff handled everything with class and aplomb. Made it so enjoyable

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank P0larisguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear P0larisgu...

Wow what a wonderful words! Thank you very much for the time that you spent to write your opinion, it is very important for us and for all travellers.

We are very happy to see that you appreciated the hotel and all services: the all staff are gratified to see your words regarding whats happened in hotel “The staff handled everything with class and aplomb”.

We hope to see you again in Siena in a short time: feel free to contact us for information and visit our web site to see our special offer and package.

Best regards

Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 3,377 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Was a great stay, my wife and I enjoyed the hospitality and location. Free parking was also very handy with restaurants within walking distance. Great value and easy location with helpful staff. Would recommend it to any traveller. Joel

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile reception at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Joel J,

Your words are awesome! Thank you very much for spending your time in writing such a wonderful review!

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed the Hotel location, our free car park and our helpful staff.

For your next trip to Siena be sure you get the best deal booking directly on our website where you can find special offers anytime during the year!

Best Regards,

Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The location is perfect and the hotel comes with a private garage which is free. If you are driving anywhere in that area, staying at a hotel with a private garage makes a big difference. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Wi-Fi connection was good. Buffet breakfast was excellent. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandriaGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile reception at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Alexandragirl123,

To receive such a beautiful review from a Top Contributor like you make as really really proud.

Thank you very much!

We hope to see you again so please feel free to contact us whenever you like or visit our website for your next trip to Siena.

Best Wishes,

Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was really nice. Prices at the restaurant at the hotel were very high. The lobby is nice, little outdated but nice. And I believe this would be a 4-star hotel if you pay a 4-star price fors 4-star room above floor 6. We however paid a little over a hundred forty dollars a night and stayed in the basement where there was a complimentary bottle of water and snacks you had to pay for. To top it all off they were doing construction directly above our room. The receptionist said that the construction would stop at 5 p.m. And it didn't stop until around 7:45 p.m.. Loud drilling and pieces of masonry falling between the walls very loud you couldn't hear someone speak. if you are going to book a room under $200 a night at this hotel I suggest you request a room with an even number. The beds were fine the room was fine the hotel was fine not impressive, just fine. But I'm pretty sure I'll never come back to Siena because they really really didn't like tourists or Americans it seemed. And this was during the of season. Now Montepluciano, that place is beautiful and everyone is kind smiling and willing to help if need be we will definitely be back there again and again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank jrsplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Jrsplorer,

I’ll start from the end,

Hotel Athena is a family business from Siena and we can tell you, knowing the reality of our town, that Siena is very tourist-oriented, it means that all the people from restaurants, bars and hotels are very happy and proud of how his city is appreciated by the tourists
Montepulciano is a great town indeed but we disagree totally your feeling about Siena.

Concerning your stay with us you left me very astonished because the lobby has been recently renovated as many other floors and common areas so is very up to date, we are always ready to renewal, testified by the drilling you heard: we are updating an entire economy rooms floor…… Classic Tuscan style is not old but just….Classic, that’s different!

I don’t like to talk about prices and rates, our fares are very flexible, you can book the same room paying many different rates depending the time of your travel, winter time is always the cheapest period.

Greetings and smiling from Siena

Ronny F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Athena for 8 nights in October. It was the nicest hotel we've ever stayed at. The room (# 708) was spacious, immaculate, and nicely furnished. We had a lovely view of olive trees, grape vines, and the Tuscan countryside. The hotel staff were uniformly warm, welcoming, and helpful. The parking was free and very convenient. If you plan on staying there, be sure to follow the hotel's advice about using the Porto San Marco to get to the hotel: as soon as you are through the archway, turn left and follow the road--it will lead you directly to the front of the hotel. Don't let your GPS try to get you to use one of the other portos!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Fred V,

This is a wonderful review!

Your beautiful words left us breathless, it is hard to explain how satisfying is to read a review like yours.

All the staff would like to say thank you for all your appreciations. We are waiting for you in Siena, at Hotel Athena…the best Hotel you have ever stayed at!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We've made three trips to Italy and Hotel Athena was the best hotel we've ever had in Italy. The hotel is located inside the walls of Siena but they have parking at the hotel. When we arrived in our room, we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of wine, and a bowl of fruit with wine glasses, plates, linen napkins, and silverware. Our room had a view over the wall into the Tuscan countryside with wonderful sunset views every evening. Given the height of the town walls, not all rooms are going to have such a view, so I recommend requesting a higher room with a view, either of the city or the countryside. The staff were extremely helpful. We speak Italian, but the front desk staff speak English and you don't need to be able to speak Italian. The breakfast was wonderful with a wide selection of everything you could want. We used the Hotel Athena as our home base for 5 days of exploring the ancient mountain top Etruscan towns in Tuscany and Umbria, and even went to Assissi and Spello one day, so Siena is perfect home base for an extended trip by car. (Just as an aside, if you plan to visit the old Etruscan mountain top towns, rent the smallest car that will hold your luggage as the streets were barely wide enough for the small Fiat we had. Several times I thought I was going to lose a mirror. And take out full insurance as most of the rent cars in that area have scrapes and dents when you get them and you don't want to argue with the rental company over when they got there!) When we get back to Siena, we will definitely stay at the Hotel Athena again!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view over the wall to the countryside for a wonderful view and great sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Gary,

Reading your words give us the strength to look forward and give us the desire to improve our services more and more.

All the staff is really satisfied for the job done and to read your review confirm us that to choose Hotel Athena is a choice of quality, convenience and customer satisfaction. All our work is focused on it!

We are delighted to see that you enjoy the beauty of our rooms which are spacious, clean and really comfortable. Every year, in February, we do some renovation’s work to make the hotel even more charming and welcoming.

From all the people’s staff you knew in the days you were here I send you our big thank you and the hope to see you soon again in Siena for the second part of your trip. In that case we will be honored to take part in the construction of your holiday, by our side we will guarantee you the best service as ever.

Kindest regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Located at the top of Siena, the hotel has great views, but it does mean you have to be willing to walk about 10 minutes to get to the attractions. Of course, anywhere you go is up and down steep roads. I didn't put on any heels during the day or evening for dinner.

The good. Staff greet you warmly and the lobby area is bright and comfortable. You are given a good map and the city highlights are circled. Two elevators and nice wide staircases make it easy to go from floor to floor. A complimentary bottle of wine and biscotti was delivered to the room.

We booked a superior room with a view for about 169 euros/ night. Large bright nicely furnished room with mini fridge,a safe, good closet space and enough surfaces to be able to spread out easily. Task lighting good, but would still have liked more lights for the evening. Comfortable bed. Windows have shears and blackout curtains. Great bathroom. Very large with huge soaker tub and separate shower. Excellent lighting, including lit makeup mirror, (we left that on as a bathroom nightlight) and very cool step lights around the bottom perimeter of the room. Too bad they couldn't be controlled separately for either mood lighting for a soak in the tub or for night lights. Towels are good and supplied in several sizes, nice amount of racks and hooks. Also a laundry line (don't grab the line with the red pull - it's an alarm). Nice assortment of toiletries. Robe and slippers.

Breakfast room is large and bright with comfortably upholstered chairs and a plentiful buffet of hot and cold items. Had lunch in the hotel the day we arrived, (the only people there) and the food was excellent. We ordered wine and the initial taste presentation was the most elaborate I’ve seen anywhere. The waiter had two glasses in order to aerate the first taste for my husband. They have a sophisticated menu.

Great terrace bar which stays open till midnight has wonderful views and excellent internet connection. We skyped with our son and he loved seeing the view in the background.

The not so good The rooms with views are adjacent to the terrace. Two problems: you have to keep your shears closed most of the time unless you want to be on display to everyone out there, which defeats the purpose of paying extra for a view, plus you are cutting out nice daylight. Second problem, since the terrace is open till 12, it can be very noisy if you want your windows open, everything from loud laughing, drifting smoke fumes to clarinet playing (at least he was good and played jazz, so that didn't disturb us). But if you plan to go to to sleep before midnight, think twice about the view side of the hotel. Other problems - thin walls. Could hear people to the side of our room (one night the father was singing non stop and his kids had the tv on loud.) In the bathroom I could hear people using the shower and toilet above us. Internet service is terrible. The hotel offers several connection options, but the only one that worked was outside on the terrace. Since we were right next to the terrace we could set up out there in the late afternoon and pop in and out of our room as needed, the one advantage of being so close.

Housekeeping was spotty. One day no fresh glasses and one day no towels which we didn't notice during a very busy day until almost midnight when we wanted to shower and had to call for emergency towels.

Our room was 720, the leftmost room which only has a partial view because of the terrace. I would request a room as far on the other side as possible if you want the best view and one which won't be affected by the terrace.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not by the terrace - it can obstruct your view and the interior of your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear alwayplanahead,

thank you for your exhaustive review, fill of content, the travelers shall find it so useful. For this reason let me do some clarifications: the superior rooms have no view, it is not guaranteed. Nowhere is write and nobody told you that the superior room has the view of the countryside, just the deluxe rooms have it. The room you had is a family superior room which is very large with sofa and with beautiful bathroom with the shower separates from the tub, just two rooms are like that and we thought to do a nice thing giving one of them to you.

From the pictures you adjoined I honestly don’t see the mix of three and four stars, I see a very well furnished room, large, with view of the medieval roofs of Siena and a super bathroom. I see even a personal touch with local wine and cantuccini biscotti. The terrace is close but the floor of that room had been recently renovated and no noise can be heard from the window.

Mix of stars does not mean nothing, if we provide the personal chef are we a mix of even five star so? We are a 4 stars hotel inside the old city of Siena, 500 meters from the Duomo which is not a long journey at all.

Kindest Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
772 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £52 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing