We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A First Class Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salida
Level 6 Contributor
575 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“A First Class Hotel!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had been traveling for a week on bicycle and wanted a special hotel for two nights. A bit out of the center but only a ten minute walk to Piazza del Campo and Duomo. The front desk staff were first rate. Very bicycle friendly, they even have a garage especially for bikes! Rooms very nicely appointed, very comfortable bed and windows that open for fresh air. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Djack7,

Wow…..double wow! 305 reviews? I can’t figure out a better review coming from a better reviewer.
That’s amazing! Not only because your review is perfect and goes straight to the bone but even because in this way you sure shall be so useful to the other travelers and of course bike travellers!

From all of us we send you our big thank you and the hope to see you soon again in Siena for the second part of your trip. In that case we will be honored to take part in the construction of your holiday, by our side we will guarantee you the best service as ever.

Kindest regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,838
    1,025
    254
    57
    47
See reviews for
571
1,886
72
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Bottom line--reasonably priced, quiet, somewhat convenient but charmless hotel (unless you have a view).

The rooms are spacious by Italian standards. While the AC is off towards the start of May, the room does cool easily with an open balcony door. The bathrooms are ok and do have a bidet, but the tubs have the awkward half-walled shower with the moveable shower spray in a holder that's too low for a comfortable shower. This is very common in Italy unless you're staying at a very high-end or new hotel, and you can always hold the sprayer in one hand--it's just awkward.

The hotel is in a fairly convenient spot and may be a nice choice for those arriving by car. For those arriving by bus or train, hotels on the other side of town will be more convenient. There is a city bus that runs directly in front of the hotel.

While Siena is a difficult place for anyone with impaired mobility (small but hilly/lots of steps), this hotel does have an elevator which goes to all floors. There are a few steps up from the lobby, though.

If your room has a view of the hillside, you'll like it. If you have a view of the other side of the street, you probably won't. If the view is the real selling point of this hotel for you, I suggest avoiding the non-refundable rate. You'll pay more, but if you don't get the room you want you can always go elsewhere.

As to us, we really didn't like it. It wasn't bad, but the hotel and its decor lacked charm. From the nondescript gray hallway carpet to the note at the bottom of the terrace menu re frozen pizza being served there, it just didn't feel right. I much preferred my stay at the Chiusarelli the last time I was in Siena.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M2NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear M2NC,

I shall start from the bottom, it is pretty uncomfortable to read in the review that you stayed better in another hotel, we are a 4 stars hotel with all the services of a 4 stars hotel, if you prefer a small 3 stars, it’s just a personal opinion.

All our rooms have been recently reformed and even the ones without countryside view are really enjoyable because we are in the city center and the view of the city remains one of the best view ever….the view of Siena downtown.

Thank you anyway for your review, it is good to make know to the people that we are a perfect hotel for value for money. From the easy going economy to the oversized high quality Executive, all our rooms are good for every needs.

If you shall decide to stay with us again and not in some other hotel outside the city walls just book through our website and enjoy our big deals.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We just stayed at the Hotel Athena in Siena. It was the best hotel, with the friendliest staff, with the best food we experienced in Italy. The view of the rolling countryside from the rooftop terrace is breathtaking. You can enjoy a great glass of wine while admiring the view. It is only a short 10 minute walk to the main square of Siena. To get there you walk past wonderful stores. We would come back to Siena and stay at the Hotel Athena time and time again. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Michael,

That's great....I don’t know what to say….Perfect review! You left me speechless, all our effort had been repaid by your beautiful words. All the Athena staff wants to send you his personal thanks and They remained so satisfied for the great job done.

We’re glad to see that you enjoyed our delicious hot & cold breakfast buffet and the great food at the restaurant we're so happy to offer to everybody a big choice of typical and local products.

We can’t wait to host you soon again, don’t’ forget to visit our website and catch the best deal. Like us on facebook and stay up to date.

Best regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It was amazing stay here. I stayed here about 2 years ago for 4 days but had a great experience. I had the room with the view and it was beautiful. Rooms are a bit small but not that small too. The view from the room and service from the staff is great ! I would love to stay here again if i visit the place again. The breakfast was not bad. Found a good few things to eat inspite of being vegetarian.
Over all a great experience.

Room Tip: ask for the room with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohanMachhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Rohan,

thank you very much first of all for having chosen us, and thank you twice for the beautiful words of your review. It is so satisfactory to read appreciations like these!

I see from your feedback that you stayed with us 2 years ago…long time ago, isn’t it?! Why do not come back to Siena this year, the city is still beautiful and we do so!

Check our website, you’ll find many offers focused on those periods, stay tuned!

Best Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lawn, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are great. The roof top bar and the rooms have one of the most pleasant views in Italy. The staff is wonderful. We stayed here for our 30th anniversary and they had chocolates and towel swans waiting for us on the bed. The breakfast is really good. The only negative is the location. If you are a mountain goat you'll love the location. You might want to drive here. If you walk around Siena ask the staff for directions. All of the streets in Siena have hills, but, some are really, really steep. It's good to avoid them.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank markfschenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear markfische,

thank you very much for your review, we appreciated very much all your words, we’d like to have a 5 stars score every time but surely next time we’ll be able to convince you.

I must disagree about the location…is it really negative? 500 meters on foot through the medieval streets of the old town of Siena to get all the main attractions is too much? I don’t think so.
All the main sights of Siena are located at the top of the hill and if you want to visit them you must start from the bottom unless you decides to sleep inside the Duomo Cathedral.

I’m just kidding and I know you enjoyed us and you’ll chose us again in the future.

If you like our hotel tell us on facebook

Best Regards
Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Good location, friendly and helpful staff. Room a bit on the small side however I have noticed this in most of Europe. The shower head sprayed water everywhere, I reported to reception the next morning and when I returned that afternoon there was a brand new shower head. I had to check out before breakfast on my last day and they booked my taxi and supplied a take away breakfast as I had paid for breaky in my booking. Can
not ask for better service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Elizabeth,

Your beautiful words left us breathless, it’s hard to explain how satisfying is to read a review like yours.

All our job is finalized to the maximum satisfaction of our guests and we’re so proud to see that we did a great job with you

All the staff, who blushed reading your words, wants to send you his biggest thank you for the appreciations you showed on your review and is waiting for you again in Siena.
I hope next time you would award us with a 5/5 score, I think we'd deserve it.

While you’ll be planning your return check our website where you can find lots of special offers and feel free to put in touch with us any time you desire.

Kindest regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Lovely hotel, not far from the main square. Extremely helpful and pleasant staff. Free wifi. Good breakfast selection. Divine terrace on the 7th floor. Comfortable rooms. Coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALS226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear ALS226,

good to read you! Thank you very much indeed for your review.
All the comments are really welcomed but with a better rating would be much appreciated. All the opinions about us are useful to improve the services but your words help us to let know the people how important is for us the satisfaction of our guests.

We’re so happy to see that you had a big time with us and we want to thank you once again for your beautiful words and we are all waiting for your return to Siena. You’ll be always welcome!
Follow us on twitter #AthenaSiena

Warmest Regards

Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,416 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
656 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,044 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.9 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing