We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Athena
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Claudia(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,523)
Filter reviews
3,523 results
Traveller rating
2,024
1,098
285
64
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,024
1,098
285
64
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace barfree parkingseventh floordeluxe roominside the city wallseconomy roomtuscan countrysidefront desk staffhotel restaurantpiazza del campowithin the wallsshort walkthe hotel staffbeautiful viewold citylovely hotelloved this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
943 - 948 of 3,523 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Spacious and gracious environment. Sparklingly clean and comfortable.The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, Free parking which is necessary in Siena if you have a car as parking charges can be high. The roof terrace is a lovely way to wind down with a Prosecco in hand before dinner.On arrival there were 2 complimentary bottles of water and a bottle of chianti with biscotti on the desk and a chocolate on the pillow. Breakfast was a treat with a hot option of bacon, scrambled eggs and cheese and ham flan alongside 3 different sorts of croissants, etc.
We felt very pampered.

Room Tip: Our room was economy, on the brochure it stated that there was no view, but being on floor 5 we overlooked the road at the front. The floor below was at pavement level but in our opinion as we only sleep in our room it was no problem. It is a quiet location and there was no road noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Marilyn,

Well well well…..now I’m really in trouble. I don’t know what to say, let me tell you just that this is what we are working for!

We work hard to give an experience to our guests not just a good treatment, we want to be a good memory and we would like to see the people come back again to our hotel, to become friend of them. Well, I think we did it so with you.

I’m not going to point out anything, you did a great job instead of me and from all of us a huge hug from Siena. Follow us on twitter #AthenaSiena

See you soon

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. (Set us up with a great driver to take us touring outside Siena). While the room was small, it is very up-to-date. Be prepared to walk uphill to the main parts of Siena, but if you don't like that, you wouldn't be coming to Siena - the whole town is up and down little streets - and it's wonderful. The breakfast is very good with many selections. They also have a patio on the 7th floor that is great to hang out at, have a drink and take in the lovely Tuscan countryside. Bed was very comfy. The price was very reasonable as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribbean Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear carribbean....
wow...wish to be there!


Let us send you our big thank you for your review and for the time you spent talking about your experience with us. All the comments are very important for us because they give us the opportunity to improve our services.

We appreciate that you have been delighted by our fresh and typical breakfast buffet, in fact our Chef and all the kitchen's staff is always on duty to give every day a different taste to offer to the guests.

We’re looking forward to see you soon at our hotel and for your next stay with us I recommend you to check our website where you can find many special offers and big deals designed for every needs.

Kindest Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

For our first stay in Siena, the Athena was just perfect.Friendly and efficient staff who went out of their way to "make a plan" when asked to, comfortable and clean rooms with the added bonus of a balcony with suberb views. The best breakfast we had anywhere in Italy during our two week stay. And the roof top bar and the wonderful barman was the best way to finish off each day. The fact that we could walk to all the restaurant and into the centre was also a great advantage. Will definately be back the next time we visit

Room Tip: the rooms with the balcony( of which i believe there are only three) were wonderfull, altough i do belive the bathrooms are smaller because of this, but this is just what i was told, and they were quiet as they were at the back of the hotel and not on the street
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smokey128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Smokey128,

This is a great review! Thank you for your words. We all remained very well impressed by your comment.

In fact our hotel offers to all the guests a really perfect location inside the city walls, with free parking lot and just 500 mt to the main attractions. BTW the chef, who is so shy, wants to thank you personally for the compliments.

We're happy to see that you appreciated it!we don't see the time to host you soon again!.

Best regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Athena in May. This was our first trip to Siena, and we would love to return someday. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with all the amenities one could desire. And the view!! We were stunned by the panoramic view of the Tuscan hillsides from our window. If you unable to get a room with this view, do take note that you can still enjoy it from the terrace. We arrived by bus from Rome and walked from the bus stop to the hotel (about 20 minutes). We chose to do this rather than take a taxi so that we could immediately begin an introductory exploration of the town. We were warmly welcomed by the staff who gave us maps and information about activities in the area. Once settled in our room, we took the 10 minute stroll back into town.There is so much to see and experience in Siena! Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent with great service. We started each day with a good breakfast focusing on the more traditional local foods. I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0Loulouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Loulouk,

Thank you very much for your kind review with all those wonderful information that you have written regarding overall the location of the hotel, really few steps away from the main attractions.

Next time you'll visit us do it on summer time when you can to try again our restaurant but in his beutiful location up on the panoramic terrace, shall be a great experience. We hope to see you on your next holidays in Siena: feel free to contact us and we will give to you a better quotation for your stay in Hotel Athena! That's the most convenient way ever!
Remember that you can even book a museum's tickets through our website.

Best regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Overall, one of the best run hotels I have ever been in. The staff and the accommodations were superb. The roof bar was such a great way to end the day and the breakfast was more than I could have imagined. Would love to go back and would stay there without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Every room is great.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear SB1644,

You left us literally speechless, let me thank you first to use part of your time sharing your opinion about us online and thank you twice for all your compliments that refund us all the effort done to guarantee a prefect stay to everyone.

In fact our breakfast buffet is so good and respect every needs and every way to start the day. Just try it!

Don’t wait too much and check our website full of special offers an packages, for your next stay, maybe for leisure, we’ll confirm you the best treatment ever.


Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews