We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations...”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is slightly out on a limb from the centre, but don't let that put you off (I mention it because it worried me for a moment on arrival)....The walk to the centre of town is just a few minutes but compensated by the massive upside of the truly beautiful views over the Tuscan countryside - doubtless unique in Siena...

On arrival, our allocated room had a view of the road, but a quick enquiry to the front desk and we were whisked to a room that can only be described as perfect.... (I've never before been taken to a room by the front desk to check it was ok, I'm afraid I didn't catch your name but thank you so much)

Which brings me to customer service - just perfect from every single person we encountered in the hotel from bar, to concierge, front desk and room staff..

Athena team, all of you made a wonderful Siena experience really outstanding.

We will be back without doubt

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Paulh62,

Your words are awesome! Thank you very much for your time to write this wonderful review! All the staff want to send you his heartfelt thank you!

We’re so happy to see that you appreciated the room and the amenities inside. You booked a superior room and by paying a little extra you hade one beautiful deluxe room with view of the countryside. Great choice!

For your next reservation be sure to get the best deal booking through our website where you can find some special offers or just join us on facebook and book directly through the social network.

Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 3,337 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in this hotel and I cannot even think of any negative thing about it. The location is perfect, inside the wall, 5 minutes walk to the Duomo and 7 minutes walk to Piazza del Campo and quite a lot of really good restaurants around. The room is quite spacious and very clean. All the staff are friendly and very helpful.

We initially had a glitch with the wifi, but they fixed it ASAP after we gave them a call. Never had any problems with it during our stay.

We will definitely stay in this hotel again when we come back to see the rest of Toscana.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alba A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Alba,

thank you for your kind review, we’re happy to realize that the reviews are so useful to inform the people about our services.
We use all our effort on the job and we have some great results!

Thank you for point out that our free wifi is working properly.

Do not hesitate to come back soon and check our website where you can find always something good for your needs.

Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Spent 2 nights in The Athena and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. It does not have all the charm of some other tuscan hotels, but makes up for it with location, parking and outlook. Not the easiest Hotel to find, so use satnav or a good map to ensure you are on route. Breakfast is not bad and service is also pretty good for such a busy Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnneNap33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear AnneNap33,

Thank you for your tips, your review shall be so helpful for all the travelers to which I want to say that if you wish to visit Siena by foot without giving up the car for some excursion in the countryside, that’s the place to stay!

Thank you twice for all the appreciations. Do not hesitate to stay with us again, maybe with more families or friends. We’ll be here waiting for you. Just check our facebook page where you'll find so many tips and tricks about the city.

Warmest regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This Hotel is ideally located just inside the city walls but away from the crowds and walking distant to great shops, resturants, various Cathedrals and the El Campo. The Hotel is charming with an amazing terrace that overlooks the beautiful countryside. We spent a lot of time relaxing here and enjoying the bar and food service available after a hectic day of sightseeing. The staff is super helpful and the room we stayed in was standard but very spacious, clean and comfortable. We stayed 4 nights here and would return and stay longer to make it a base for our future travel due to the comfort and location of this hotel. The free wifi was very reliable and efficient We highly recommend this hotel and while upgrades are usually nicer, in this hotel standard is great too. Great food and wine in this vicinity!

Room Tip: We had a standard room close the lobby and first thought it would be noisy but it was not. This room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Tara,

I don’t see any default on your review….that’s perfect!

We had been delighted by your company and we hope to have been professional and at the same time warm and friendly with you.

Thank you for all tour apperciations, just come back ASAP!

See you in Siena next time and don’t forget to check our brand new web site full of special offers and packages.

Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great location, just inside the wall but away from the crowds. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast vast and yummy. We took a room over looking the hills and liked the views and quietness. Our room was a bit small but functional. We loved the terrace for evening drinks. We used the Carpark and found it easy to access.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear AmandaGar,

Thank you so much for your review. Your comment and your feedback about our services is very important to us. A special thank you is sent by the staff that it is feeling so proud to have been described as friendly.

We are also happy that you have appreciate the hotel at 360°.
.
For your next stay do not hesitate to contact us or visit our website to do not miss the special offers for your next stay with us.

Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I'm a budget traveller who treat myself nice occasionally. I want to have a classic experience in Siena. I'm so surprised and happy that Hotel Athena flooded my expectations with stars. I thank the hotel for its secure parking service. I thank Tomasso for his professional hospitality. I thank the hotel for having our room ready and cool before our arrival. I thank housekeeping for making the room exceptionally clean and tidy. I thank the boss or management to insist on using environmental friendly materials. I sincerely recommend Hotel Athena for travellers who are not too tight in budget.

Room Tip: do an upgrade to stay in top floor. request for a tuscan view. you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AngusLovesOurWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear AngusLove,

WE THANK YOU one, two and three times!
We really did enjoyed your company here in Siena, you had been so sweeeet!

From Tommaso and all of us we hope you had a great way back to Toronto and we hope you shall have a great return to Siena but I think if you'll choose us you'll have it for sure!

See you soon

Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were traveling with another couple from our college days (20+ years ago), and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. While it is not in the center of the old city, the location is actually quite convenient since the city bus stops right at the door step and allowed us to avoid the steep hills at the end of the day when we were tired. The room was spacious, and the bathroom included a tub which ensured enough room to shower comfortably (not always true in European hotels). The terrace bar offered a lovely view and the restaurant offered the best steak we have had during my six weeks in Italy. The front desk was somewhat hectic and therefore a bit slow but the people were always pleasant to deal with. We would happily return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tscollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear collett,

let me say thanks for your comments.

It is very important to us that you appreciated our clean rooms with all the comforts and one of the best view in Siena from our San Marco Terrace. Our central position helps because in within 10 minutes walking you can reach all the main attraction, but as you pointed out, we have a city bus stop next door.

All my colleagues and me too are so glad to read your nice words.

I like to invite you to visit our website, so next time you come to Siena you’ve got a place to stay.

Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
764 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
678 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £60 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing