We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel, convenient and awesome view”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and we had a really nice stay. Very good service. The room we had was very nice: Size above average, small bathroom, very clean and the view was spectacular!!

If you happen to stay at Hotel Athena, ask for a room on the 7th floor, specifically room 710-712-714 or the one we had 716. Those rooms have a small balcony with a unbelievable view on the tuscany landscape. part of the view the Siena with the edge of the fortification, the balance is a no-end view of the beautiful italian nature.

Breakfast was ok, it's a little buffet. We've seen better in our stay in Rome and florence but it's still pretty decent. Like any other hotel in Italy, you can order a real cappucino instead of using the coffee machine.

All in all, if you go to Siena, don't waste your time to search for an hotel, this one suits all need for a good price.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Benoit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Benoit,

Thank you, thank you and thank you again for your beautiful words. We all remained very impressed by your comment, full of details, and we’re all very proud to have worked for you.
Thank you twice for point up that our beautiful Delue rooms with view are spectacular!

Feel free to contact us whenever you desire and we’re all waiting for your return to Siena….it’s a quite long journey from Canada, I know! Here you’ll always find a warm and friendly people doing their best to make your vacation wonderful as much as possible.

Warmest regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 3,433 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and it was a good experience. The hotel is located a 10 minute walk from the Dome, so very convenient. It has parking and wifi service, always something good to have.

The rooms are ok, very spacious, a little dated, but very comfortable. Bathrooms are too small and showers too, but for a short stay, it is ok. The service is really good and the breakfast is way above average, tons of options.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mariocrosswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear mariocros,

This is a wonderful review! Thank you that you spent a time to write your feedback!

We are happy that you appreciated hotel Athena and their location in the historical centre of Siena, the delicious breakfast and all our service.

For your next trip in Siena, contact us for information and visit our web site where you can find very special deals like the ROMAITIC PACKAGE.

Best regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel was easy to find from the directions. Of course, I have always been good with directions. Plus they had a sign on the hotel, so when I drove past it................. :). They had a car park. Use a small car if you want to go in the garage.

The front desk staff were polite and very helpful. My broken Italian was not as good as their English. Their restaurant was popular, and it filled up on a Saturday night. The service was excellent. The food was overall pretty good. The hotel puts on a great breakfast.

The room we got was on the 6th floor. It was comfortable, a nice bed, a small desk, a nice armoire.
They knew we were having our anniversary, and made a towel heart, and sprinkled a lot of chocolates wrapped in red foil. The hotel has decent wi-fi.

The location is inside the wall and is less than a 10 minute walk to the main square and gorgeous cathedral. If you are there on a Sunday, you can see the drummers parade through town.

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: 6th floor seems nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Kathy,

We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, all our staff wants to send you his heartfelt and huge thank you very much for your words.

We are very happy to see that we take part in the building of your city break and that it was great!

Don’t hesitate to contact us for everything you need and check our website, it’s a very good way to know news and events in Siena for your next vacation.


Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Athena for 3 days recently. The hotel is in a good location, with lovely views of the Tuscan countryside from our room on the 6th floor. (we did ask for a room with country views and not one overlooking the street). Our room was a superior one which was large and comfortable. Shower was over the bath which was adequate but if you have mobility problems climbing over the bathtub to have a shower would not be good). This is my only slightly negative point, everything else was very good. Would return here again. Nice clean hotel within easy walking distance to the sights. Pleasant bar on the terrace rooftop where you can enjoy a drink.

Room Tip: 6th or 7th floor rooms are good. Ask for countryside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HolidazeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear HolidazadeL,

Let us send you our big thank you for your review and for the time you spent talking about your experience with us.
All the comments are very important for us because they give us the opportunity to improve our services.

We appreciate that you have been delighted by your beautiful, large and clean Executive room overlooking the Tuscan hills. Yes we upgraded your room from a superior (which has no view) to an Executive Large room. It’s an unique and unforgettable experience.

We’re looking forward to see you soon at our hotel and for your next stay with us I recommend you to check our website where you can find many special offers and big deals designed for every needs.

Kindest Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a really enjoyable stay here, unfortunately it was only one night but due to its location we managed to cram lots in. The hotel is very well located inside the city walls and is one of the few which can offer car parking as well. The rooms are good and well equipped also the view from ours was excellent, we had dinner in the hotel and it was absolutely first class - quality food well prepared.
There is so much too see here and locally we will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Robert,

Thank you so much for your review. Your comment and your feedback about our services is very important to us.
We are also happy that you have appreciated the room and your meal at our restaurant which, during the summertime, serves up on the panoramic terrace.....very suggestive...

For your next stay do not hesitate to contact us or visit our website to do not miss the special offers for your next stay with us.

Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We arrived with no booking and the staff on the front desk were unbelievably helpful, friendly and accommodating. They suggested we went to Nonna Gina's to eat, a really great suggestion and the cheapest yummiest meal.
The rooms were well equipped and clean. The breakfast was pleasant in a nice dining room.
Having just spent two days in Como and having spent double per night, this hotel was very good value for money and when I go back to Siena I would definitely stay there again! The location of this hotel is perfect to walk a few minutes into the old town.
A special thanks to Massimo on the front desk who squeezed us in!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Elizabeth,

Such a really nice comment! All the reviews are important for us and every tips can help us to improve our services but a good feedback like your is a double satisfaction!

We’re happy to see you enjoyed our suggestion, Nonna Gina is a really good restaurant very close by.

For your next stay in Siena we hope you’ll choose us for the second time, we’ll be so happy to welcome you once again and to give you one of our best room with a beautiful view of the Tuscan hills.

Best regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Checked in late our first night and were shocked to find our room, 404 was nothing like what we saw on the website. The room was dark, dank and had a wonderful view of a brick wall. Management reluctantly moved us the next night to a newly finished floor. This was the hotel we thought we originally booked. Great location and good food with a nice rooftop view. Just make sure you know which room you are booking.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear MikeyDead,

I’m sorry but I have to say no! I respect your opinion but I cannot agree at all! I personally charge the photos on the website and all the photos reflect the reality. The family room photos had been token from the family rooms like the one you had, please do a double check, there are 4 photos, the second is exactly the room you had firstly, the first photo, instead, is the room where you moved to. No frills….all clear and transparent!!

Let me remind that the countryside view is a deluxe rooms’ prerogative as written on the website and that we sure deserve more that the rating you gave us. Sad to see that you gave us this ranking just for something you slighted.

Best Regards
Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
786 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#3 of 40 in Siena
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,443 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
2,190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#4 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £51 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing