We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and quality”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel is inside the city walls and has plenty of parking. This parking itself is potentially a little tricky but the staff are obviously well used to making it work and have cameras at reception to keep an eye on things. We had a spacious room with a small balcony overlooking the hills; a great place to sit and just relax. Staff were helpful and informative, giving us just the right information to see the practice Palio and share the excitement that was buzzing around the main square. Breakfast was plentiful with a fair choice of hot and cold items. The rooftop terrace was fabulous both at day and night - highly recommended! Siena is a such a beautiful and characterful city and I really hope to come back and stay at the Athena again.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with a balcony if you're going in good weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallileofigaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Gallileof,

To read a review like yours is always a great satisfaction, we work so hard every day to take part in the construction of a wonderful holiday for our guests.

We’re so happy to see that we did a very good job for you and you repaid us in the best way you could. To receive a great comment such as you did from people who stayed with us during the hustle and bustle of the Palio time is a double satisfaction.

We’re waiting for you and your partner here again in Siena and we’ll be so happy to confirm you the same high quality treatment. Do not hesitate to contact us directly whenever you desire to make your next reservation.

Kindest Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 3,435 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for only one night on our trip in Toscana. Excellent location (5 minutes away by foot from city center!), good infrastructure, clean and spacy room, complete breakfast offer (for Italian average). Good welcome and service. Since they have quite narrow parking spaces, you are asked to leave car keys at reception, which I didnt want to do (I had made the reservation asking for privare parking, they didnt tell me about leaving car keys at reception...). So finally they managed the situation very well, finding a solution in a way that our car would be parked without blocking others). Very much appreciated.
Can recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aurelio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Aurelio,

Thank you for your review.

Great to know that you had good time at the hotel Athena, we love to look after our guests, and obviously the beauty and cleanliness of our rooms, our terrace bar and the central position with a free car park (which is free of charge and not bookable, leaving the car keys at the front desk is just the way we manage some situation, nothing to be worried!), make the hotel the best choice in the city.

Keep in touch with us on facebook and twitter and check our web site for the best offers.

Best regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

booking a hotel online is sometimes a hit and miss affair. However, we were delighted with our choice. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were lovely and the breakfast above average for Italy.
There are tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a Safe. They even put a complimentary bottle of wine (with opener). The location is excellent. Just a short stroll (5/10 minutes) to the centre of the city. Ask the hotel for recommended restaurants. The one we used on the first night was terrific.
Check out the little terrace they have. You can enjoy a drink there or simply take in the wonderful views.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dumbo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear dumbo56,

Thank you very much for your review. Your words get us the possibility to improve our service and to let know the people how, the relationship with the guests, is important for us.

The Hotel is definitely close by all the main attractions and give to the guests the possibility to leave the car into our garage and “just” walk is really a great service from our point of view.

Sir, feel free to contact us again to make your next reservation and check our website, many special offers are waiting for you, especially for the next fall approaching.

Kindest Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We traveled here for 2 nights with kids and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is clean and comfortable and a short 5-10 minute walk to all sights. Breakfast was good and there is a rooftop terrace overlooking beautiful Tuscany which we visited several times. The staff were very helpful and attentive and arranged for dinner at wonderful restaurants. This is a highly recommended very reasonably priced hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bluestraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Bluestrav,

Let me send to you our big thank you from all our staff for your incisive words. We’re so happy to realize that your stay with us was “great” and that you appreciated all our services. The best result for us is make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible. We like to take part on the construction of a beautiful memories.

Let me send you our sincerely thank you once again and we’re waiting to host you soon again. Just check out SPECIAL OFFER web page.

Best Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We enjoyed this hotel for its amazing view and location. The folks who run it were all so nice and welcoming. We felt like they were all ambassadors of this great town, and they really cared that we enjoyed our visit. (We did!) I will say there's not much to brag about regarding the room itself, but it was extremely clean, very comfortable and it served us well! We were so busy seeing Siena that we didn't spend much time in the room anyhow. Do your best to get a room with a view. The view is so great that I'd sleep in a tent just to get it! If you want a room inside the old city walls, a good value, great location and pleasant room... check out this one!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view! That's the best part of this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KimandJimM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Kim & Jim,

Such a great and exhaustive review! I think your words can be so helpful for all the travelers who are planning to stay in Siena and to whom I recommend to stay with us.

All our staff of the front desk wants to send you his special thank you for all the appreciations.

Do not hesitate to get in touch with us, we’ll be so glad to help you planning your next trip to Tuscany

Kind Regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and we had a really nice stay. Very good service. The room we had was very nice: Size above average, small bathroom, very clean and the view was spectacular!!

If you happen to stay at Hotel Athena, ask for a room on the 7th floor, specifically room 710-712-714 or the one we had 716. Those rooms have a small balcony with a unbelievable view on the tuscany landscape. part of the view the Siena with the edge of the fortification, the balance is a no-end view of the beautiful italian nature.

Breakfast was ok, it's a little buffet. We've seen better in our stay in Rome and florence but it's still pretty decent. Like any other hotel in Italy, you can order a real cappucino instead of using the coffee machine.

All in all, if you go to Siena, don't waste your time to search for an hotel, this one suits all need for a good price.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Benoit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Benoit,

Thank you, thank you and thank you again for your beautiful words. We all remained very impressed by your comment, full of details, and we’re all very proud to have worked for you.
Thank you twice for point up that our beautiful Delue rooms with view are spectacular!

Feel free to contact us whenever you desire and we’re all waiting for your return to Siena….it’s a quite long journey from Canada, I know! Here you’ll always find a warm and friendly people doing their best to make your vacation wonderful as much as possible.

Warmest regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and it was a good experience. The hotel is located a 10 minute walk from the Dome, so very convenient. It has parking and wifi service, always something good to have.

The rooms are ok, very spacious, a little dated, but very comfortable. Bathrooms are too small and showers too, but for a short stay, it is ok. The service is really good and the breakfast is way above average, tons of options.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mariocrosswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear mariocros,

This is a wonderful review! Thank you that you spent a time to write your feedback!

We are happy that you appreciated hotel Athena and their location in the historical centre of Siena, the delicious breakfast and all our service.

For your next trip in Siena, contact us for information and visit our web site where you can find very special deals like the ROMAITIC PACKAGE.

Best regards

Ronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
786 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#3 of 40 in Siena
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#14 of 40 in Siena
1,445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
2,191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#4 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £52 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing