We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly hotel”
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Stayed in Hotel Athena five days at the end of october. We had serious problems with Roomsnet.com from which we had booked our room, but the hotel staff was very helpful and frienly trying to help us to solve our problems.
The hotel has a nice quiet location still very near all the main sights. The rooms are pretty large and comfortable and there is a beautiful terrace with a wiew over the hills of Toscana. We can without doubt recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artloverFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,818
    1,013
    253
    57
    46
See reviews for
565
1,865
72
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Loved this hotel. Would come back without hesitation. The room had a view to the Siena landscape. It was magnificent. The staff super helpful and gracious and the room was
great. I fell in love with Siena.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earlyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Hotel Athena is located in the perfect spot: it’s close to the city center (10 minute walk from the main Piazza) and it has a parking place which makes a huge difference with rates around 1.5 euros per hour on the same street. Staff is very helpful and extremely friendly. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean but you may want to ask for one with external view. Breakfast is also great. Good value for money. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andres3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2009

We stayed in the Hotel Athena a few nights in October. It was great! Clean, comfy, location was good. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The view from the roof of the hotel was stunning, a must see. The only problem we had was the internet service was spotty.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prod76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Hotel Athena satisfied my trip expectations! It's very clean, charming, well-managed, and in the center of Siena. Parking is free, Wi-Fi is fast.
Breakfast is rich and variegated. Beautiful overlooking terrace on the top!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec_Satow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sde varburg israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

great location -in the old part of siena- free parking-nice rooms-friendly staff-very clean-nice breakfast-beautiful overlooking terrace.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haim9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Français à Rome
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Upon my arrival, the receptionist told me that as I've booked the last room available and it was on a website with a special offer, the room is very small! In fact it was, 16 sq meters, the littlest shower I've ever seen but as it was for 1 night it was okay! The girl at the reception was very professional and offered me a free internet access for 1 hour which is 3€! The room was very calm but cold. I don't know if it was because they were embarrassed by the fact that my room was so small but at the check out I've only paid the accomodation, no extras! Last thing, they have got a covered free parking but just forget about that if you have like a SUV, 4x4 or Break car....

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peecwic85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
651 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,022 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing