We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was ok - if only the foyer was like the rooms”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“it was ok - if only the foyer was like the rooms”
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Like many hotels in Italy - the foyer is pretty good, but sadly the rooms are stuck in a timewarp. This was the case here. The room was large, with no curtains but a shutter - meaning that its no light - or very light.
The breakfast was poor - the limited selection of crossants and 6am created scrambled egg - eaten at 9am, was hardly pleasant.
We heard every noise from upstairs, downstairs, and even next door - flushing of the toilet and the walking across the room.

Like someone said before - best of a bad bunch

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK-1234-BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    1,002
    246
    55
    46
See reviews for
555
1,840
70
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South of Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This hotel was offered as an option to us as part of a visit to Siena for il Palio in August, 2010. It was a pleasant stop for three days in the city. Everything previously reviewed by many is 100%. The shower...think cruise ship shower, less 15% in size. Internet...I suffered iPhone withdrawal in Italy, and this service is for a fee. It wasn't bad for 24 hours, because they give you 24 cumulative hours (e.g., on for 2 hours, still 22 left to use whenever, not consecutively). Terrace...beautiful views, and it turns into a restaurant after 7:30 (reasonable). Snacks... nice assortment of free(!) homemade snacks in the bar all day.

Once you pry yourself out of the shower, this is a nice respite. Also, it's near a great little restaurant, Osteria Nonna Gina (free grappa at the end of the meal!)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfs0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Overall Italy, Siena especially doesn't have a great choice of hotels to choose from. the standard in central Europe seems to be very far behind Ireland, a 5 star in italy would probbly only be a 2-3 star in Ireland so your expectations need to come down a little for Italy.
But Hotel Athena was a very nice hotel with very helpful and professional staff. Rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable, quite. Free parking belonging to hotel not the street.
Location was a good walk from the Campo but this wasn't a problem for us.
Price was good also, We didn't return to hotel athena when we visited Siena again in August, but now that we saw other hotels in the city I would definitly return to Hotel Athena.
There is a restaurant on site but we didn't eat there. No problem ordering a taxi for us. The only down side was the air conditioning didn't work and we were told that it only works between certain months of the year (pretty lousely excuse).
But overall good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53travelgirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

the desk staff here were excellent, helpful, service-orientated and spoke great english. we were "offered" an upgrade to a deluxe room for a small, additional charge. While i don't particularly like the practice, we decided to go for it and weren't disappointed! breakfast selection was broad enough. only minus point was internet was offered as a paid only service-which i find not appropriate for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Service was great, the quadruple room was very spacious and mi kids slept comfortably on the sofa beds. The bathroom I found to be spacious, maybe the quadruple room has a bigger bathroom. The food is amazing! both breakfast and dinner, we didn't eat at the terrace because had just arrived so we order room service - fabulous. Best value, free parking, internet is not free but not too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank famfavtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This hotel was perfectly adequate and comfortable. It is a ten-minute walk to the piazza. Check and make sure breakfast is included. We thought that it was and ended up being charged 9 Euros for each meal. The breakfast was just okay, I would have much rather eaten at a local restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaLenhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed here during Il Palio. The streets of Siena were busy but the hotel was always calm. The multilingual reception staff were very helpful, friendly and courteous.

Our rooms were beautiful and comfortable. The shower cubicle was tiny, as described elsewhere here, but we have found that same cubicle size in our other accommodations in Tuscany since.

The hotel is a bit outside of town and the walk is uphill to the centre. But it's not long and we got used to it. Everything is in walking distance in Siena.

The terrasse on the roof is a wonderful place to start with drinks overlooking the Tuscany hills. The meal is a bit overpriced but worth it every now and then.

The breakfast buffet was pretty standard fare and quite copious. We learned later that we could have asked for real coffee from the waiters which if you're used to anything other than American-style filtered coffee you're going to want to do. We ended up going out for coffee after breakfast each morning.

Internet was a bit pricey and could only be used on one computer. This is difficult when travelling with a computer, iPads and an iPhone...

Free, 24-hour guarded, parking was one of the reasons we chose this hotel. Extremely practical.

We had a wonderful stay here and enjoyed both the hotel and Siena.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCEFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing