We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Loved Siena and loved staying at Hotel Athena. Nice location just a few blocks away from the Duomo. Very clean. Hotel staff was very nice and offerred suggestions of where to eat. Although, we found better places to eat that we not reccommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eksnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,508 - 1,514 of 3,434 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed just one night at the beginning of October and I wasn't quite sure what to expect as I had tried to find a hotel within the old town walls that had reasonable rates and reviews. The location was just inside the walls of the old town but on the lower west side, so not right near the centre, Il Campo area, but was within 10 minutes from there. The hotel was a lot larger than expected and was more upscale than the other family-run hotels we'd stayed in. We were on the top floor of the hotel and the view from our window was spectacular - over the fields outside the wall. The room was well appointed, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was quite noisy as it was a bigger room and we seemed to have a group staying at the hotel. They provided "American" coffee as self-serve, so you had to ask for a cappuccino. All in all, it was great value and quality for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeontheweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Not a bad location, although not in the centre of the Old Town. A bit old and rundown looking. Good parking. We liked Siena very much. Asked the Receptionist for a restaurant recommendation from her. She gave us one that turned out to be on the far side of town and with some steep climbing involved. Couldn't actually find it in the end and went somewhere else. When we returned to the Hotel to say we couldn't locate it, the Receptionist berated us. Very rude indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raynboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were anonymous and had beige ceramic tiles on the floor which made it seem very institutional and cold. The heating controls did not respond and when we enqiured we were told that the hotel did not turn the heating on until 1st October - despite the fact that it was 15 degrees and pouring with rain! The recent refurb is cheap and tacky. The bar will make you consider falling on your sword, or think again about the aesthetic beauty of a National Coach waiting Room! The hotel was full of large American Coach Parties doing Tuscany!!!!!!!!
Location - next door to large school so noisy and busy at pick up/drop off and lunch times. Fab views from rear rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROUNDSPRING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Everything was good about this place including free parking. It was the best stay during the whole trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kr0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We really enjoyed this hotel! The rooms are spacious, immaculate and comfortable. Very good service from the staff at the front desk and the breakfast was very, very nice. Highly recommended hotel in Siena!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We had a wonderful stay here on our honeymoon. The staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The room was great and the hotel's panoramic terrace was a beautiful place to end the day and watch the sunset with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diogenesthecynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
786 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#3 of 40 in Siena
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
2,190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Family Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £51 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing