We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At Last! A Decent Restaurant Beneath the Shadow of San Domenico”

Ristorante San Domenico
Ranked #23 of 522 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$33
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, View, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“At Last! A Decent Restaurant Beneath the Shadow of San Domenico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

There are three restaurants clustered on the ledge poised over Fontebranda in Siena -- each trading on the spectacular views afforded of the valley below, the Duomo to the left, and San Domenico to the right. A splendid location indeed! But, finally, a new player has arrived on the block to offer food that is much more in keeping with the surroundings than the indifferent pizzas and hasty dishes offered by the other two. At a recent lunch we indulged in at San Domenico, we were treated to a superb "spiedone multi sapore" for a mere 13 Euros and a dish of papardelle all'anatra to rival any available in the city. The service was attentive without being oppressive. The dishes were artistically presented. We will return without hesitation when we are next in Siena.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    162
    45
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing Osso Bucco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife and I ate here during our trip to Siena and were not disappointed. The Osso Bucco my wife had was fantastic, and the swordfish was great. We would eat here again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BoscU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

A number of people recommended San Domenico to us, and we were not disappointed. Every dish was deftly done. An excellent meal and gracious service. (It should be noted that even foreigners may have taste and taste-buds.) It was good to have the food live up to the unparalleled view.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I stayed in Siena for 3 days and its a lovely city.We found this restaurant on our second day and we liked it a lot.They have a variety of things on the menu.First night we took an antipasto and then pasta and everything was really good.On the second day we choose pizza and let me say it was awesome,very well made,soft and tasty.The service was good too.And this place deserves more points because of the view,you can see the all of siena from there.A must go place

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KingAboveAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaisir, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent pizza, wonderful service, beautiful view, inexpensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We came upon this inexpensive, pretty restaurant with its lovely view by chance, as we were looking for Il Pomodorino, highly cited in Trip Advisor, but it was closed for lunch on that day -- Camporegio Pizzeria is right next door to Il Pomodorino. The service was very friendly and fast, the pizza was excellent, the mixed salade was okay. It was a very hot day, but we sat on the shaded terrace where a fine mist was sprayed above us to keep us cool. The restaurant is especially nice because of the location, close to our hotel (Chiuraselli) and the view overlooking the town of Siena. If you want an inexpensive but tasty meal in a wonderful location, try this!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante San Domenico also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante San Domenico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing