We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Il Borghetto make guests feel very welcome.”
Review of Villa il Borghetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa il Borghetto
Ranked #2 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Villa Il Borghetto make guests feel very welcome.”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We have just ended our stay at the Villa. What a wonderful week we have spent, Cristina and Claudio and indeed Mum and dad have been wonderful hosts, with all our needs attended to. The location of the Villa to Siena itself is ideal with public transport passing by every 15 minutes. Our apartment was spotless, and the garden surrounding the villa was lovely. Will definitely be recommending The Villa Il Borghetto to friends.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
56
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have just spent a wonderful week at the lovely Villa il Borghetto. Great postion for exploring fascinating Siena ,frequent bus service passes right by the door, and for relaxing on the terrace overlooking the large gardens and the beautiful tuscan countryside.Our apartment was really comfortable ,supplied with all we needed and more -thoughtful additions of coffee,tea,water, oil, condiments etc, even the first bus ticket to get us into Siena!.
Christina and claudio are very generous and welcoming hosts ,always ready to assist ,nothing is too much trouble.We would love to return one day.

Room Tip: our apartment had its own terrace, great to have your own place to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Booked Villa Borghetto after reading some good reviews in TA. I wanted to be near Siena but not inside the city walls. This place is perfectly situated in a country setting just 2km from Tufi Gate. The rates are quite reasonable considering where you are. Cristina and Claudio were exceptionally helpful and went out of their way to help us figure out the buses to get to and from Siena (10 min. ride) and to arrange our logistics. Il Chianti apartment was perfect for our family of four (two kids) and has two bathrooms and free WiFi. The garden area was a lovely place to have evening drinks under the Tuscan sun! Grazie a mille Cristina and Claudio!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The property was recommended by my husband's colleague, and it was a great choice. Three nights, and the place is delightful. The hosts are incredibly helpful and welcoming. They really care that your needs are taken care of. The family took care of many details for us, reservations for dinner, recommendations, etc. The surroundings are lovely, the suite is well appointed, clean and a great place to stay. The kitchen is well equipped and the bathrooms are spotless. And, there is free Internet. Outside is a lovely seating area. Compared to a hotel, it's spacious and has a lovely ambiance.

Both Cristina and Claudio were friendly, efficient, polite and very, very good with follow-up. Checking back to make sure we had everything that we needed. Excellent English, too.

Bus service into the city is excellent, taxis are efficient and inexpensive and it's more comfortable and quiet than a hotel in the city. It's easy enough to take the bus, do a little shopping and you've got breakfast or lunch. For me, I like being able to go into the city for a bit, come back for lunch, and rest and go back in the afternoon. It's so much nicer than a hotel. Next time, I might bring my car and take side trips into the beautiful country.

We had the apartment "Il Chianti" - a double bedroom, single bedroom and convertible couch. Also a bathroom with tub and bathroom with shower. I think it can sleep 5.
We will visit again.

Room Tip: Il Chianti was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina F, Proprietario at Villa il Borghetto, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Elaine,
many thanks for your words!
You make me smile.. thanks your sensitivity you captured the real core of Villa il Borghetto..
"Better than a hotel"! It could be our next slogan! :-)
Many thanks for your description of Siena's services!
I hope to see you and Marco soon.

Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verbier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I cannot recommend this accommodation enough. We stayed for 2 nights during a visit to Siena and surrounds and the hosts were simply magnificent.
This is a family operated establishment and it is easy to see that it means everything to them to ensure their guests are comfortable and feel welcomed.
Our villa had a master bedroom and a big main living area with sofa bed and easily and comfortably slept the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 children). The furnishings are modern and practical and the kitchen has everything you need to be self sufficient.
They have a nice spacious garden where you can wander and pick fresh apples, pomegranates, and other goodies.
Simply great.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Claudio and Christine are really nice and helpful, the flat was clean though it does not deserve a 5 for it's decoration which was ... OK, the building itself is nice though in need work at the front. But was is not mentioned anywhere is that the building is stuck between 2 roads. So if you go outside on the terrace at the back of the building you can hear the traffic that is not heavy but constant and if you want to walk from the flat to Siena ... well really you cannot again because of the traffic and the absence of pavement.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hilda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We booked the apartment "Il Chianti" through wimdu.com. The welcome by Claudio was very warm and also the further contacts with Cristina and her brother Claudio were really nice. Tha apartment was great with 2 bedrooms and a convertible couch in the kitchen. In the kitchen you'll find everthing you need. The busstop in front of the apartmet takes you to Siena center in about 5 minutes and is preferred over the 25 minutes walk along a curvy road without sideboards. THe return from the city in the evenings we did by taxi.

All in all a great place to stay wenn you are in Siena withe a small group and don't want to stay in the overpriced hotels in the citycenter.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuebke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Borghetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Borghetto

Property: Villa il Borghetto
Address: Strada Dei Tufi 64, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Villa il Borghetto 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa il Borghetto, in the heart of Tuscany, is a splendid aristocratic residence originating from the early 1600. Located in the countryside, it is only ten minutes away from the historical centre of Siena. It incorporates seven spacious apartments, which may host up to seven persons. The gorgeous residence is a historical resort, which ensures an unforgettable stay. Outside it offers large green areas to its guests. It is an ideal basis for singles, couples, families and groups of friends, who wish to relax or enjoy the fascinating arts and culture of Siena, with its events, exhibitions, performances and markets throughout the year. The residence is ideally positioned to undertake sightseeing excursions to Siena surroundings and all attractive places in Tuscany, and exercise sports activities in the nearby hills as well. Each of the seven spacious apartments is a synthesis of essential comfort, elegant style, traditional taste and modern functionality. Each apartment disposes of an ample living room with dining and kitchen area, bedrooms, bathroom with tub or shower, satellite television with plasma screens, wi-fi free connection, air conditioning and heating, as well as a garage. All apartments are fully equipped with tableware, cutlery, glasses, bed-clothes and towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Villa il Borghetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing