We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Siena”
Review of Borgo Grondaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgo Grondaie
Ranked #3 of 127 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed here for only one night, but it was very relaxing. Our room was clean and very cute. The breakfast was delicious too. It was nice to have a little bar inside to grab a glass of vino upon arrival. They also have a washer and dryer, which is great if you are traveling for a period of time like we were. They are very close to the COOP, which is an amazing grocery store, worth a visit. Thanks for a great visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at this resort near Siena for 5 nights. It was a lovely big apartment with a comfortable king sized bed and a huge balcony with views of the hills. Staff were very helpful. Very good base for visiting the nearby hill towns and sights. Real bonus was the huge COOP grocery store just down the street. Very good for making meals in the apartment kitchen.
Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had the apartment at the top next to the fields. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This inn is our favourite stay in Tuscany. The environment is very nice with tranquillity especially in the morning while there is still mist around. There is a very nice pool and can imagine how relaxing to have a late afternoon swim before dinner in summer. Though a distance from the Siena old town, it is still accessible by car and close to the train station.

The receptionists are helpful. We asked a guy one evening to help us book a table for dinner in a restaurant which we had visited on the previous day (and we knew the chance was extremely rare), after he made a call to the restaurant and confirmed that all tables were taken, he counter proposed another restaurant which turned out to be the best meal in our trip.

The breakfast served Is excellent and with the most variety amongst my other stay in Tuscany. The dining area just next to the reception area is cosy, and more, they use Villeroy & Boch tableware to serve us. Definitely a style of the owner. The homemade jams taste very nice and my friend bought one back home.

Highly recommended for those who will visit Siena.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We spent a wonderful week at Borgo Grondaie in the Garden 1 apartment. This is a one-bedroom/bath with a small kitchen and living room that very comfortably sleeps 2 or 3. The staff are all extremely warm, welcoming and helpful for day-trip ideas and directions.

We had a rental car so the free parking was a huge plus over other places we'd researched in town. Between the car and the train station just down the hill, we were set for transportation... even a day trip or two to Florence. The old part of Siena isn't that far, especially if one makes use of the escalators from the train station and mall (check open hours). It probably takes a total of 20 minutes to El Campo if you don't window shop or get lost :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globalnomadstx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are in Siena with a car, extremely easy access off the Autostrada. Takes 30 mins to walk & catch & arrive in the centre of Siena. Sometimes less (buy bus tkt from reception). The staff were extremely helpful including with ideas for day trips, (Castellina in Chianti, Rada (well worth a day on the backroads) - San Gimignano (beautiful but very touristy, we went on the bus & no hassles). The place is pretty, it has a huge CO-OP supermarket at the bottom of the (small) hill for your self-catering......everything we had hoped for in/near a city in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank RandC-GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Comfortable, beautiful, a nice pool, laundry facilities, easy...just a great experience. There were 7 of us and we have 2 apartments back to back near the pool, kids LOVED it (ages 14, 12, 9, 5). Convenient for touring Tuscany.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mobo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Not near town but an easy taxi ride to downtown. Gaia was extremely accommodating and even helped us get some laundry done.
The room was very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was terrific.
There were also some tables outside to sit and eat and we ordered a pizza one night and ate outside.
There is a very short walk down the road to a large supermarket (COOP) where we bought some items.
Free wi-fi was great. Also enjoyed the small bar near the breakfast area.
The area was very peaceful & quiet.
We had a very comfortable stay and due to the warm & friendly staff we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiegoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
790 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,456 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#3 of 40 in Siena
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Grondaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Grondaie

Address: Strada delle Grondaie 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: £51 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Grondaie 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena is a country house with rooms and apartments in the heart of Tuscany just 2 km away from Siena center and 1 km away from the train station. Maintaining it's rural and rustic setting, Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena offers guests the possibility to choose between accomodation in hotel rooms or apartments with self catering solution, both furnished in authentic rustic country Tuscan style and with all modern comforts included free wifi and free parking. Guests of apartment could choose for daily breakfast and cleaning for a small extra. The 4 acres that surround Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena and the outdoor salt water swimming pool will make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to travel in winter time, you can relax in front of the lobby fireplace tasting our selection of Italian wines. The strategic location of Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena allows you to easily explore some of the most famous places in Tuscany as San Gimignano, Volterra, Cortona, Montalcino and Montepulciano and become fond of Siena, the Palio town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Borgo Grondaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Grondaie Siena
Borgo Grondaie Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing