We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, quiet and paradise!”
Review of Borgo Grondaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Borgo Grondaie
Ranked #4 of 125 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The research showed rooms that may have been a good home base for adventures. When we arrived, we were so pleasantly surprised. The apartment was spacious well appointed, spotless and one of the most comfortable rooms we experienced during our two weeks in Italy.

It is a 15 minute walk from town but we loved the serenity and peaceful surroundings. We will return on a visit in the future.

Room Tip: Choose an apartment, they are spacious and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Imagine that you are surrounded with white roses, beautiful trees and butterflies. Imagine you a waking up to the birds' song and the sound of Siena's bells. Isn't it Paradise?

We landed in this piece of paradise from nowhere at 10:00 am. We asked if there are rooms available and the very sweet staff kindly showed us what was available. We saw a small hotel rooms and a beautiful Tuscan apartment with a terrace with the view on Siena.
This apartment has everything you need from the Italian Coffee Maker to the dishwasher.
The AC was perfect and there is a free WiFi.
We had a breakfast when we arrived. The breakfast is simple with a really good coffee.

The pool is wonderful.

I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights during an extended trip to Italy. The facility and grounds are very nice with the only negatives for us being a small bathroom and many steps for the luggage. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful in all our interactions with them. The hotel is fairly close to historic Sienna but requires a car or taxi to get anywhere except the large Coop store located just off the property. If you are planning on staying outside the old city this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights while on our honeymoon and loved it! The grounds are beautiful with outdoor tables, a pool, and gardens; you really feel like you're in the Tuscan hillside. Borgo Grondaie is a great location for those that want to explore the Tuscany region-a short walk to the train station or rent a car (free parking) and there's so many towns you can drive to. We didn't mind the 20 min stroll into the center of Siena, but the hotel also has free bikes you can borrow which were a great way to get into Siena. The breakfast was ample and delicious-the largest buffet assortment we had in Italy! The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful; Gaia helped us book a car last minute to go exploring through Tuscany and mapped out where we should go and Chan was extremely helpful with bags, bikes and breakfast.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Our group of 4 stayed here for 2 nights in 2 rooms after we were unable to get rooms in Sienna itself.

Location: The inn is a cab ride from both the train station and the historic sites of Sienna. We found one-way taxi rides of 7-10 euros. Although it is conceivable to walk into Siena, it would be a long, difficult walk. I'd rather save my energy for walking in the town itself. The property itself is quite nice, with good landscaping and an unheated (cold) pool.

Rooms: Our 2 rooms were what the desk called "villa" rooms. I found that it was difficult for two people to be in the room at the same time since there was so little room to walk around. Unfortunately, some of the room was taken up by an old cathode ray tube-type TV. The bathroom was also very tight.

Food: Breakfast was fairly good and included the usual ham, yoghurt, breads, and cereal. The attentive waiter would make espresso or cappuccino on request.

Staff was very nice and helpful. Laundry facilities on the premises (2 euro for washing, 2 for drying) was welcome.

Overall, Borgo Grondaie would be nice for someone more interested in seeing the Tuscan countryside, with a car, than someone planning on just seeing Siena.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctmb-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We went to this hotel on our honeymoon. In fact it was the right choice, as a base to explore Tuscany. It is a lovely hotel, charming and very helpful. The breakfast is great and the hotel has an excellent infrastructure. The only downside is the access by car, because the hotel is a little bit hidden, but in a quiet and pleasant spot.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My father and I stayed in the hotel during our trip to Tuscany. I hadn't read any reviews online prior to booking our stay. I looked for something reasonably priced, in the Siena area, where my dad could really enjoy the Tuscan experience. The hotel helped us book a day trip to Cinque terre and packed us snacks since we were going to be missing breakfast the next morning. We had also bought a bottle of wine at the bar (for a reasonable 10 euros), but did not drink it all the first night. When they cleaned our room, they left us with two fresh wine glasses to finish our bottle. They really thought of everything to make sure we had an exceptional experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,338 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
2,147 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Grondaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Grondaie

Address: Strada delle Grondaie 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: £63 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Grondaie 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena is a country house with rooms and apartments in the heart of Tuscany just 2 km away from Siena center and 1 km away from the train station. Maintaining it's rural and rustic setting, Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena offers guests the possibility to choose between accomodation in hotel rooms or apartments with self catering solution, both furnished in authentic rustic country Tuscan style and with all modern comforts included free wifi and free parking. Guests of apartment could choose for daily breakfast and cleaning for a small extra. The 4 acres that surround Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena and the outdoor salt water swimming pool will make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to travel in winter time, you can relax in front of the lobby fireplace tasting our selection of Italian wines. The strategic location of Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena allows you to easily explore some of the most famous places in Tuscany as San Gimignano, Volterra, Cortona, Montalcino and Montepulciano and become fond of Siena, the Palio town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borgo Grondaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Grondaie Siena
Borgo Grondaie Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing