We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return to Borgo Grondaie!”
Review of Borgo Grondaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Borgo Grondaie
Ranked #4 of 121 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return to Borgo Grondaie!”
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We stayed here in an apartment for 6 nights during the end of June/begining of July. Borgo Grondaie was beautifully landscaped and the apartment was very large and very clean. The pool is similar to an infinity pool, it was very clean and refreshing. Even though the hotel was booked to capacity because of the Palio it definitly did not feel crowded. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful (especially Eleanor and Guya). The hotel is located outside of Siena so it is probably about a 20 minute walk into town (mostly uphill). We walked it most days but a few times we had the front desk call for a taxi which they are more than happy to assist with and it only costs about 10 euros. It was very nice being outside of the town because we were able to get away from the hustle and bustle of the Palio and just relax. Also it is surprisingly quite here considering that the train station is not far away. Siena is a great location also to use as a base to check out other towns nearby, we went to San Gimignano and we also went on a great chianti wine tour that took us to 2 other small towns (Castellini in Chianti and the other town I can't remember) and 2 great small wineries. We set up the wine tour through the hotel. Once again I can't say what a great time we had at Borgo Grondaie.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    144
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
162
295
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Tx
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2008

Based on recommendations on this site, we stayed at Borgo Grondaie over the first weekend in July, 2008 - right after the Palio. We loved it and recommend it highly, as long as you realize that you will not be in the old, walled city of Siena. While it is possible to walk from the hotel into the city, you'd want to have really nice weather and be in pretty good shape - distance and hills. Otherwise, it's a 7 or 8 euro cab ride into the heart of Siena. If you want to be able to pop in and out of your hotel during a day of sightseeing and shopping, you should probably try to find a place in the old city. Having said that, the hotel is not really that far from the middle of town, maybe a 20 or 30 minute walk. And if you rent a car, you are on the right side of town for driving easily into the Chianti region or getting on the highway to go to other areas of Tuscany. The hotel has plenty of free parking.

The hotel staff are delightful - very warm, very helpful. Everyone speaks English. The breakfast buffet was interesting and delicious, including fresh fruit, baked goods, and great cappuccinos. The rooms are clean, with modern bathrooms. The buildings and grounds are beautiful. We spent an afternoon reading by the pool and didn't feel like we were missing anything by not being in Siena. (On re-reading my post I want to emphasize: the staff were truly warm and friendly, and went out of their way to be helpful in every detail of our stay. They made us feel very welcome.)

Other posts have complained that to get to Borgo Grondaie you have to travel behind the large Coop grocery store. True, that is not the most scenic 300 feet of the area. On the other hand, you'll probably be driving past in a cab, and it also is very convenient if you want to walk down the hill from the hotel to get some wine, bread and cheese for an evening snack. So, not a major drawback in our opinions. We would definitely stay here again, and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mills-in-Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

Just back from a holiday in Italy that included 3 nights in one of the Borgo Grondaie's self-catering apartments. I booked it on the strength of the tripadvisor reviews and I have to say that it was even better than I'd dared to hope.

The apartment was spotlessly clean and very comfortable - and the a/c was an added bonus. The pool was wonderful - really refreshing and a good size and again very clean. We travelled with two children and they both gave the pool top billing. Ours are great swimmers so the fact that it was quite deep (140-160cm) was a bonus - but it might be an issue for less confident children.

The location is great - outside the city but still convenient to it. We used the bus but also walked back one evening - it was downhill but still quite a hike for small legs! As others have said, the proximity of the coop supermarket was also a real advantage.

  • Liked — Its location, cleanliness and excellent pool
  • Disliked — The army of ants that invaded our kitchen at one point, reminding us of the need to sweep up our crumbs!!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

This smart tuscan villa really is a "hidden gem".
The hotel and apartments are full of character and are extremely well presented. The pool is a godsend and a rarity in central Siena. The breakfast is plentiful and full of typical Italian sweetness. It's only a 20 min walk or short bus ride into the centre of Siena. We thought it was great to stay a little away from the centre surrounded by stunning gardens - the best of both worlds.
Staff were exceptionally helpful and informative.
Lots of books available for research into the area. A laundry room (great advantage
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The quality accommodation
  • Disliked — Surprisingly, the coffe!! Would be great if snacks were served during the day.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2HappyTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2008

stayed for 4 nights in early july in self catering apartment, olivio 3. Highly rated as a place to stay- 2 double rooms, stove and grill, tables inside aswell as balcony, good quality furnishings, excellent shower and a good pool and relaxation area. approx 20 mins walk into Siena or 10 euro taxi ride. A welcome but convenient break from the city bustle. Staff were friendly and efficient. Bar prices reasonable and good quality wine for 12 euros a bottle. would recommend for couples and families wanting convenience of the city aswell as a swimming pool/quiet sitting area. Will be back again.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank AnneG_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

A charming, beautifully landscaped hotel/apartment on the outskirts of Siena, Borgo Grandaie was more than expected. The staff is super-friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. The apartments are clean, cozy and equipped with all of your daily needs. The pool was extremely clean and quite refreshing considering the sweltering heat and humidity in July.
As noted in many other reviews, the walk to the Campo is a little further than one would like, but definitely doable. Otherwise, the reception desk attendant can order you a taxi that is usually there in less than five minutes, even during peak hours. The taxi was around 10 to 11 euro to get to the Campo. The Coop grocery store was very convenient and was larger than imagined and had everything one could possibly need.
I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for an ideal Tuscan getaway with a beautiful city like Siena to boot.
One last thing, the Palio is not worth going to and everyone should avoid it at all costs! (I hope my sarcasm keeps all tourists away!)

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the rooms and the pool
  • Disliked — The steep walk up the hill on the way home
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jokin40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

What a delightful place! The apartments are rustic and simple yet provide all the basic amenities one needs. Everything was impeccably clean and well designed.

The bathroom shower could have been a little more ergonomic. It could not be positioned at a convenient angle.

All in all, a charming place that is 5 min away from Siena and has easy access to all the charms of Tuscany. I would recommend you spend an entire day exploring the gardens and drinking Chianti wine. What could be better!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank teferet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,182 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
2,050 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Grondaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Grondaie

Property: Borgo Grondaie
Address: Strada delle Grondaie 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Grondaie 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena is a country house with rooms and apartments in the heart of Tuscany just 2 km away from Siena center and 1 km away from the train station. Maintaining it's rural and rustic setting, Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena offers guests the possibility to choose between accomodation in hotel rooms or apartments with self catering solution, both furnished in authentic rustic country Tuscan style and with all modern comforts included free wifi and free parking. Guests of apartment could choose for daily breakfast and cleaning for a small extra. The 4 acres that surround Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena and the outdoor salt water swimming pool will make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to travel in winter time, you can relax in front of the lobby fireplace tasting our selection of Italian wines. The strategic location of Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena allows you to easily explore some of the most famous places in Tuscany as San Gimignano, Volterra, Cortona, Montalcino and Montepulciano and become fond of Siena, the Palio town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Borgo Grondaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Grondaie Siena
Borgo Grondaie Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing