We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Experience at Borgo Grondaie”
Review of Borgo Grondaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgo Grondaie
Ranked #3 of 127 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

It's been 9 years since we've been to Siena and we were happy to find that Borgo Grondaie is as charming as it was when we were last in town. All staff are very helpful and accommodating, the apartment we stayed in Ollivi 2 was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Even if you're staying in the apartments, we recommend paying the little extra for the morning breakfast which offers scrambled eggs, cured meats, pastries, and other typical continental breakfast choices. The gardens are so beautiful and really make the BG special. Yes, the BG is outside of the walled city center of Siena, but if you stay inside the wall, you won't get the expansive gardens and pool that the BG offers. If you don't want to walk, you can park your car at the Fortezza Medicea. It's a 10 minute walk to the new escalators across the street from the train station and another 15-20 minute walk from the top of the escalators to the Piazza del Campo, so you need to be in decent physical condition to walk roundtrip, but my 7 year old daughter did it 3 days in a row without complaints, and she actually raced me up the stairs while I went up the escalator sometimes, too! At the bottom of the street (1 minute walk), there is a major supermarket (COOP) which has everything you need to stock up for long stays. After sunset each night, we would go out into the gardens to watch the fireflies twinkling. It was simply magical.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sashak808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for several nights. It's a nice hotel and they try hard. However several things detracted from our stay. Worst was the bed. This was our honeymoon and, well, the bed was very loudly squeaky. Terribly distracting and made romance difficult. An other is their WIFI policy of only allowing a single device. More devices can be supported for 5 euros a day more. Tablets and phones make that add up fast. Also, you have to get new account info every day.

Finally, the hotel is a bit of a walk from the piazza - 25-30 minutes - through a fairly plain middle class area. Cab ride is about 12 euros. Consider that in your selection.

I basically like this hotel but will try elsewhere next time I visit Siena.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil_from_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBorgoGrondaie, Manager at Borgo Grondaie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Sir,

we are very sorry that your experience at Borgo didn't satisfy your expectation and we are very sorry that you didn't come to reception to explain problems about your bed. Sometimes it happens that some screws loosen and it's not very easy to realize the problem when maid service is cleaning rooms.
We are always available to improve our service and I please you to inform us about which was your room or apartment in order to solve the problem.
Thanks for your assistance

Sincerely

Gaia Mini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Spent a week at the Borgo Grondaie in early May, 2014. Location was great - near enough to walk to the train station where the escalators take you up inside the city walls and very close to a large, well stocked supermarket yet far enough away and off the beaten path from the city to have very peaceful surroundings. Rooms were comfortable and completely furnished. The staff was always friendly and helpful. On site laundry facilities were very helpful. I would not hesitate to return there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjendrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The mark of a good place is if you want to come back...and we definitely do! So much so I tried to extend our stay, but do to prior commitments, I couldn't.

Pros
-Friendly service
-On site laundry
-Very clean rooms and facilities
-Great breakfast
-Close to a Coop for drinks, snacks and other items.
-TV had an english translation option. Of all the hotels we stayed at, this was the only one to have it. And traveling with an 8 year old, this was AWESOME.
-Pool
-Lots of space and places to walk, hike and play around with kids.

Cons
-A little bit of a hike to major attractions.
-The train station near by was a little noisy at first (as we had a room facing city) but after a short while, I didn't notice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaboTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We chose this property for the parking and could not have been more pleased. I will say arriving by car around dusk freaked me out, at first glance the area appears somewhat seedy and unsafe. Once I recognized the photos from the Internet I was at ease, truly the photos do not do the property justice. The staff was exceptional especially Gabriella, everyone was eager to please and so warm in their hospitality. Our room was in the annex, with a lovely view of the courtyard. The bed linens were nice and bed comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and a little different each morning. We did eat dinner both nights at the restaurant, the menu was the same (focaccia sandwiches and anti-pasta plate) but tasty after two very busy days and no energy to go to town. The location is out a bit, maybe further than I expected when reading other reviews. By the time we arrived we had already done lots of walking in other places so for visiting Siena on a quick visit one may be better served staying in town, however for access to the train this is perfect for day trips, as the train station is a 15 minute walk down the hill. Given the location and our one crazy day in Florence we missed Siena all together. So we will return with more time, two nights not enough. I could see staying an entire week at this property.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmom29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

were very pleased with our room and the overall atmosphere including the lovely grounds .It was a great location for seeing the surrounding area and desk info was most appreciated. We two would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mav865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was a return visit for my husband and me. We stayed for only one night nine years ago, but I made sure we made Borgo Grondaie our home base in Siena. We were in Italy for two weeks and divided our time equally between Rome, Florence and Siena. Rome and Florence were chaotic compared to our stay at Borgo Grondaie. We arrived in Siena by train and a quick cab ride brought us up the hill to our lovely, spacious room.

Honestly, I would definitely stay here again and take day trips, if we return to Italy. The staff is delightful, helpful and gracious, the grounds are serene. Each morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast with cappuccino made to order on lovely dinnerware. Breakfast and afternoon wine are served in the reception hall. The pool was not open yet, but there is ample seating in the yard to relax, sip wine and read a book or to facebook the folks back home after touring the countryside.

We went to the square every night for dinner. The wine, food, evening walks to see the sights, street entertainment -- all were fantastic. We think Tuscany is one of the most gorgeous places on earth, and we feel privileged to have had Borgo Grondaie as our home base from which to enjoy it.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a bad room. There are a couple of apartments available and the COOP is ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
790 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,457 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#3 of 40 in Siena
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Grondaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Grondaie

Address: Strada delle Grondaie 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: £51 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Grondaie 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena is a country house with rooms and apartments in the heart of Tuscany just 2 km away from Siena center and 1 km away from the train station. Maintaining it's rural and rustic setting, Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena offers guests the possibility to choose between accomodation in hotel rooms or apartments with self catering solution, both furnished in authentic rustic country Tuscan style and with all modern comforts included free wifi and free parking. Guests of apartment could choose for daily breakfast and cleaning for a small extra. The 4 acres that surround Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena and the outdoor salt water swimming pool will make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to travel in winter time, you can relax in front of the lobby fireplace tasting our selection of Italian wines. The strategic location of Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena allows you to easily explore some of the most famous places in Tuscany as San Gimignano, Volterra, Cortona, Montalcino and Montepulciano and become fond of Siena, the Palio town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Borgo Grondaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Grondaie Siena
Borgo Grondaie Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing