We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Borgo Grondaie
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Minerva(Siena)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NH Siena(Siena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Italia(Siena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
519
152
17
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
152
17
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoop supermarkettrain stationlarge supermarketapartment was spaciousself cateringlaundry facilitiesswimming pooltuscan villaminute walkold towncab ridelovely poolrented a cartuscany regioncakestown centreexploring siena
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We usually stay in bed and breakfast accommodation, preferring the friendly, individual service and character that they offer. Previous reviews were right in suggesting that we would find the same qualities at Borgo Grondaie. It feels much more like a B&B than a hotel, with small accommodation buildings scattered around the site and the most friendly hotel staff we have ever experienced.

As we approached the hotel our TomTom GPS became confused, sending us the wrong way, into a residential area, before returning us to our starting point. From the roundabout near the railway station, we should have taken what looks like a small service road to the right of the supermarket. It’s an odd approach to the hotel through a commercial looking area, but turning the corner reveals the hotel in a peaceful oasis, surrounded by very pleasant gardens.

Our room (Villa 2) was well furnished, spacious and immaculately clean. It was also cool, shaded by mature trees in the grounds, but air conditioning was also available. It was quiet room, although we were unlucky with having noisy guests upstairs from us for one night.

Breakfast is served in the reception/dining area. The choice and quality of the food provided was first class. The buffet included a range of cereals, lots of savoury items and a choice of four different cakes each day. It did not help with our dieting, but it was a very nice way to start the day.

The receptionists recommended restaurants in the centre of Siena each night, and made reservations for us. They also directed us to the large parking area which made journeys into the centre very easy.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Borgo Grondaie if you want a relaxing base, close to the city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creamegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

The Grondaie isn't as much out in the country as you might think. In fact it's walking distance to both a supermarket and a train station, which probably grew up around it, and it's close to major roads and just a few minutes' drive to the edge of old Siena. Yet it has spacious grounds, big rooms, free parking, and a relaxing atmosphere, and it's fairly quiet.

The staff are courteous and helpful; some speak good English. They are happy to provide advice and even make phone calls on your behalf.

We received a free upgrade to a 2-bedroom apartment with kitchen -- very handy, especially as there is a very big supermarket less than 200m away.

My only little disappointment was with the pool -- it's not heated, and unfortunately even on a very warm September day, it was too cold to use. But overall this is a fine place and, if not at peak high season, a good value too. Recommended.

PS: the entrance to the hotel is HIDDEN. You have to drive through the parking lane of the "Coop" supermarket to get to the Borgo Grondaie.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterOpinionated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Great place that is pastoral and calm even within the city. It was a little hard to locate in the dark at night and the GPS was confused by the many exits of the closest round about but we found it in the dark after several attempts. I would suggest better signage. It didn't seem too difficult or time consuming to get to the city center and I found the peacefulness calming after full days of sight seeing. Good breakfast with samples of the local wild boar sausage (yum! try it) I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunflower8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Overall Borgo Grondaie was exactly what we expected. The room was very nice and larger than I expected for Europe, the breakfast was excellent and the grounds were beautiful. Getting into Siena really wasn't that difficult--we usually walked to the bus stop (about a 10 minute walk downhill) and took a cab home. I liked staying outside of town because we wanted a peaceful stop in between Venice and Rome. The staff was incredibly helpful and kept bringing us drinks well into the night at the bar. I wish I had thought to bring some insect repellant, but other than a few mosquito bites, I have no complaints. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

The Borgo Grandaie was a tranquil hotel in Siena. We were there at the time of the famous horse race The Palio and to return to this hotel after the madness in the old town was well needed. The rooms had a tuscan feel to them, very spacious and felt like a home from home. We had an apartment and often cooked our meal and ate out on the terrace overlooking Siena. The staff were wonderful and the pool was set in lovely grounds. We got engaged sitting outside this hotel so it will remain a very special place in our hearts. This is a fantastic place to stay for any age group.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews