We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the one ! A real Ace !”
Review of Borgo Grondaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Borgo Grondaie
Ranked #4 of 125 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Just returned from this Hotel. Stayed for 4 nights with my wife and had a great time.

All the staff was always friendly and very helpful.
One of the cleanest Hotels i have ever been. And not only our Room, but was perfectly cleaned all the complex.
Plenty of hot water in our room at all times and a great breakfast every morning with big variety and great quality products. It was very cold outside but our room was always very warm as the heating was very efficient.
Good located to visit Toscane, in a quiet place with a super market nearby for all your needs.

That was the best escape for me and my wife.
Our Next time in Italy will also be a next time in Borgo Grandaie.

Thanks for everything and keep up the good work.

Michael and Ingrid - room 108

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichalisFotakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for Borgo Grondaie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2009

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Tuscany a few days ago and we stayed at Borgo Grondaie for one night in Siena. The hotel is beautiful! Quiet, the staff/service is excellent, great breakfast, free WIFI and a computer to use. The rooms are spacious, very clean, quiet and the bed is moderately comfy (typical for Europe).

However, the walk into the center of town is at least 2 miles uphill. The hotel does have parking, so if you have a car, then this is the place to stay. There is no parking inside the medieval village walls, so it's best to leave your car in the parking lot at the hotel, then take a taxi into the village. If you are in good shape, the walk back to the hotel is ok, mostly downhill.

I felt as though one night in Siena was enough, so even without a car, I might stay here again. If you are staying a few days and have a kitchen, this is also a great place because there is a grocery store in the parking lot of the hotel - very convenient!!

If you are going to San Gim, or Volterra, I would rent a car at Hertz in Siena and make SURE you get a GPS, you will regret it if you don't.

So, generally I have only positive things to say about this hotel, except for the walk uphill into town.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msklausler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Booked 2 nights at this hotel to take a rest in the middle of our 18 day trip: Rome, Venice, Florence, Siena, Rome. We liked the idea of being able to soak up the Tuscany sun by the pool. Beautiful surroundings, peaceful, and clean. Heavy rain spoiled the pool idea and made walking to/from the centre unpleasant. Took taxis. Outstanding hotel though. Only complaint: When you check into the hotel on the desk there is a list of massage treatments you can have. Do not recommend it! The man the hotel booked to do our massages was unqualified and some of his techniques, to put it lightly, were very inappropriate. Lying on a table on paper with no sheets to cover and being drenched in oil also was unpleasant. We did try to discreetly complain to the woman at the hotel reception, but she just said, "She'll let her supervisor know." At checkout, nothing was discussed. We were disappointed such a nice hotel would provide such a terrible service.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
Thank kirkyitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

we chose this place based on other great reviews from TA, but also because it had parking. we were briefly touring tuscany and didn't want to 'deal' with parking in a city. delightful place - terraced hillside with views of the city walls. 10-minute drive to a parking lot (or probably...20-min walk) lot that was E1.60/hour across the road from a set of escalators to the city. five escalators!
spacious grounds, landscaped but natural, the pool area was so pretty and tranquil. large room with tiled floor, casement window (we were in villa 1, room 2) with another great view of the gardens, substantial breakfast, very helpful staff, good water pressure, nice amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Spent 2 nights here in mid-October. The hotel is a brisk walk from the train station. We arrive on the bus from Rome and decided to walk to the hotel which was fine until it came time to pull two large cases up the very steep hill leading to the hotel. Consider a taxi if you have luggage!
The grounds and general appearance are very nice. It looks like a well-maintained, classy place. We were a little early for check-in so we went to the COOP supermarket to pick up a few things and when we returned our bags were already in our room.
Generally the staff were all very friendly and helpful the whole time.
The room was quite large although the decor and furnishings were nothing special (we thought with very little extra effort they could really create a wow factor). The bathroom was OK apart from the small shower with the door that refused to close. Italy doesn't normally allow heating to be turned on before November 1st but it was so cold at night that that they must have either broken the rules or the temperature was low enough to be considered exceptional. Anyway the heat did come on around 6pm but was off in the day leaving the room quite cold to come back to. Breakfast was good - nice selection of food.
The hotel is about a 20-25 minute walk into the old town (mostly uphill). We did it going to dinner at night and got a taxi back which only cost 6-7 Euros from the centre (you have to go to one of three (?) designated taxi ranks to pick one up). It's also about a 15 minute walk to the Hertz car rental office where we picked up a car to tour Tuscany.
All in all no real complaints. A good base to explore Siena and the Tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2fromTrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Everyone should stay at Borgo Grondaie once in their life. It was truly one of the highlights of our trip.

The Hotel has everything you could ask for, great staff who give you a big warm Italian welcome, beautiful gardens, a pool with views of Siena, rooms with a Tuscan feel, internet connection, satellite TV and only 20mins walk from the town of Siena.

We must also make a special mention of the incredible breakfast, which was the best breakfast in our 5 week trip of Europe. Included in the price is a breakfast with cold meats, fruit tarts, eggs from the Hotel's own chickens, herb and cheese pannini, fresh fruit egg and prosciutto tart, the list goes on.

If you don't stay here when in Siena then you are missing out.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bambino0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We were traveling in the Siena area with our adult son. We drove to Siena with a rental car from Florence. Each day we headed to a different area of Tuscany. We found it easy to get in and out of Siena form the Hotel.
The front desk was most helpful in advising us where to dine each night. All of our meals were excellent with a wide variety of menus and costs.
The breakfasts at the hotel were the best we had in our 2 week stay in Italy. The breakfast attendant had our son's expresso for him every morning.
It was nice having the grocery store so close.
.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DITucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
674 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#14 of 40 in Siena
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Grondaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Grondaie

Address: Strada delle Grondaie 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: £67 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Grondaie 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena is a country house with rooms and apartments in the heart of Tuscany just 2 km away from Siena center and 1 km away from the train station. Maintaining it's rural and rustic setting, Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena offers guests the possibility to choose between accomodation in hotel rooms or apartments with self catering solution, both furnished in authentic rustic country Tuscan style and with all modern comforts included free wifi and free parking. Guests of apartment could choose for daily breakfast and cleaning for a small extra. The 4 acres that surround Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena and the outdoor salt water swimming pool will make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to travel in winter time, you can relax in front of the lobby fireplace tasting our selection of Italian wines. The strategic location of Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena allows you to easily explore some of the most famous places in Tuscany as San Gimignano, Volterra, Cortona, Montalcino and Montepulciano and become fond of Siena, the Palio town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Borgo Grondaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Grondaie Siena
Borgo Grondaie Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing