We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true oasis”
Review of Borgo Grondaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Borgo Grondaie
Ranked #3 of 120 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A true oasis”
Reviewed 30 October 2006

The Borgo Grondaie is an urban-rural anomaly, It sits on several acres of ground outside Siena, with the nice view, rambling buildings, gorgeous grounds, and swimming pool typical of Tuscan farmhouse hotels -- but it is just minutes from the old part of Siena and is surrounded by that town's suburban sprawl. It was wonderful to return to this oasis of greenery after spending time in the stony environs of Siena.

The staff was very helpful and provided the best breakfast of our trip (an unbelievable array of both meats and cakes along with more standard fare). They also provided a real haven one torrential afternoon, which we spent with other travelers sipping coffee, tea, and wine in the common room while watching the rain pour down.
Some notes if you are driving: The hotel is a little difficult to find. Make sure you bring along the directions from the hotel (do NOT rely on a mapping program) and stay alert once you get into town. There is lots of free parking at the hotel, and it is a quick and easy five-minute drive to one of the pay lots ringing Siena, making the trip into town very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmptyNesters007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    145
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
164
300
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2006

We stayed at the Borgo Grondaie from October 10 to 14. This is a very nice little inn across a valley from the walled city of Siena. We made reservations through their web site. They do no have an SSL capability on their web site, so I faxed my credit card number to hold the room. The manager, Gaia, was terrific, as was the rest of her staff. They were very friendly and helpful. . We were able to check in right away. The room was large and well kept. There was only a shower--no bath. The shower enclosure was rather small. If you are a large person and dropped something, you might have to open the door to retrieve it. The grounds are very pretty. There is a swimming pool on a terrace above the inn. There are a number of tables outside. There is also a full service supermarket next to the inn, so you can buy some food or wine if you want. There are many wine shops in Siena if you want to sample some of the local wines. We went to a winery recommended by the hotel. You need a reservation to visit a winery in Italy and the hotel made the reservation for us. However, it was very expensive--15 euros per person, which is $20, and they only had 2 wines to sample. We've toured wineries in Napa and Sonoma ,and they were much less expensive unless you went to a very high end winery. They also let you taste several different wines. You are in Chianti country and the Chianti road runs by Siena.

The railroad track and train station are close to the hotel, but there's very little noise from them that you can hear in the room. The hotel has a small bar with wine and expresso. Breakfast was very good, but with no hot food.

I found driving in Italy very confusing. Although I had printed out directions from Mapquest, for the trip from Florence to Siena was totally confusing. The map was useless. Ask the hotel to fax or email directions to you. The hotel is a little off the beaten path.

You can't really drive in the city, so you'll have to park in a lot next to the city. Siena was very crowded while we were there. On Thursdays, they close one of the lots for an open air market. By noon we couldn't find a place to park, so we gave up and walked to the city. It's up a long hill, but if you're halfway fit, it's not a problem. If you plan to walk through the city at night, be sure you're aware of landmarks. The street names make no sense and a long street will change its name several times. We got lost our first night there and needed 30 minutes to find our way to the car.

Siena is a wonderful city. Now that we are oriented to it, we plan to go back, stay in the Borgo and enjoy living under the Tuscan sun during our next visit.

  • Liked — The room size, comfort and size of the bed, the grounds and friendliness of the staff.
  • Disliked — Was hard for us to find. We circled around for a while before we found it.
  • Tips/Secrets — Get directions from the Borgo!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank johnsmith47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2006

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel.
The location is about 20 minutes walk from Sienna centre, however taxis are readily available and cost about €9.
The hotel is not the easiest place to find, after crossing the bridge over the railway line,go you to the right if the Coop supermarket and it is up a hill.
The hotel is in a perfect location for relaxing, nice gardens, beautiful pool area and a delicious buffet breakfast.
The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean.

The Coop is really cheap so stock upon bread, ham beer etc for snacks.

Overall I would certainly reccomend this hotel for people who do nit mind driving or getting taxis as it would not be practical to walk in and out to Sienna all the time

  • Liked — Pool area
  • Disliked — The appartments looked better than the hotel rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Try and get an appartment
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2006

Lovely experience. Stayed two extra nights and used hotel for base to explore Chianti trail and Tuscany hill towns. Laundry was a real plus. Grounds were lovely and had the feel of being in the country despite location so close to huge supermarket. We had a car so no problem driving to parking area right outside Siena gates. Lots of pastries and cakes at breakfast. People at desk particularly helpful with reservations for wine tours and suggestions. Stayed in room which was well appointed and spacious and quiet. Looked at apartment and was impressed with appliances and tiles in the kitchen, at least at the one we saw. Would stay here again gladly

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank guina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing, china
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2006

I believe this hotel is nice, but not as spectacular as others have written. Possibly it is because we were in a hotel room (which i found a little dreary) and not in the apartments. Many of the reviews seem to be about the apartments. I expected there would be a walk into town, but it is not 20 minutes as others have suggested. We ended up driving in every day. The best part of our stay was the wonderful breakfasts and the outdoor tables during the nice weather.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — room
  • Tips/Secrets — go for the apartsments
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank loyoude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2006

This is a very nice hotel indeed-- very well maintained, very clean & very well managed. Myself & my girlfriend had a most enjoyable time here. I think breakfasting outside on the terrace was the highlight- and the breakfast buffy really was A1. Oh & 10/10 for cleanliness too-- most important that!

  • Liked — Classy feel
  • Disliked — Tricky route into town
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mitchward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2006

This was a great find: quiet, beautiful grounds and walking distance to Siena - if you don't mind hills. We had an apartment and bought groceries at the Co-Op (great wine selection, by the way).
The staff at the front desk were great: very helpful and wiling to provide advice or assistance as needed. The room was spotlessly clean.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone touring Tuscany.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hard to find
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank D_and_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,221 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
656 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
2,079 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,416 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Grondaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Grondaie

Property: Borgo Grondaie
Address: Strada delle Grondaie 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Grondaie 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena is a country house with rooms and apartments in the heart of Tuscany just 2 km away from Siena center and 1 km away from the train station. Maintaining it's rural and rustic setting, Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena offers guests the possibility to choose between accomodation in hotel rooms or apartments with self catering solution, both furnished in authentic rustic country Tuscan style and with all modern comforts included free wifi and free parking. Guests of apartment could choose for daily breakfast and cleaning for a small extra. The 4 acres that surround Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena and the outdoor salt water swimming pool will make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to travel in winter time, you can relax in front of the lobby fireplace tasting our selection of Italian wines. The strategic location of Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena allows you to easily explore some of the most famous places in Tuscany as San Gimignano, Volterra, Cortona, Montalcino and Montepulciano and become fond of Siena, the Palio town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Borgo Grondaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Grondaie Siena
Borgo Grondaie Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing