We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just enough of the Sienese School”

Palazzo Pubblico and Museo Civico
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.76*
and up
Siena Guided Walking Tour
Ranked #8 of 144 things to do in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Siena's City Hall, whose construction began in the 13th century, houses the city's Civic Museum, whose collection includes the profound fresco entitled "Allegory of Good and Bad Government."
Basel
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just enough of the Sienese School”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is a pleasant, well-organized museum which will give you just enough of the art history of Siena without overwhelming you. We went during the off-season and it was very empty, though it looks like it can handle crowds. Well worth a look.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hochbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    190
    44
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Left...”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Would love to be able to give a review of this museum but sadly are unable. The woman at the ticket desk was so unhelpful and rude, we left without purchasing our ticket. This was prior to waiting in line while she verbally harangued an Asian lady in front of us who was clearly having language difficulties. Customer service clearly lacking in the extreme.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank midcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tour - what tour!!??”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Leaflets say there is a guided tour in English. So confirms the ticket office clerk - "only 12 euros - starts at 12 and is for 45 minutes - wait over there". We duly waited. "over there" being some ill defined area close to the entrance. We asked the lady inside the entrance door. Her interest and help matched her bored dismissive demeanour. We waited thinking others and a guide would arrive. An Australian couple did and we continued to wait and wait. Now at 12.05 the mugwamp on the door told us the tour had already departed. We went up the stairs and found the small group gathered around an elderly guide. Perhaps not all was lost. Er, no. The guide who obviously suffered from some nervous illness spoke English hesitantly and with a thick Italian accent. Worse you could not hear him at all. My wife and I gave up and guided ourselves with the help of the informative plaques at each display room and cabinet. We wasted 25 minutes waiting and 12 euros on the tour. Were the people in the ticket booth interested in this tale?. Not a bit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CretanEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“An impressive collection”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This site contained a wonderful collection of statues and paintings, all beautifully lit, including Martini's Virgin Mary in Majesty and Lorenzetti's fresco cycle known as the Allegories of Good and Bad Government (still relevant today!).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hatfia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
322 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Grand rooms, worth a look”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Museo Civico in Palazzo Pubblico offers a dozen of grand rooms with frescoes in different states of preservation, some brilliant, some faded. There are additional exhibits in a couple of rooms. Not one of the top attractions, but worth a look when you are in Siena.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank IlyaBurlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palazzo Pubblico and Museo Civico also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Palazzo Pubblico and Museo Civico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing