We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top-rate Traditional Tuscan Cuisine”

Trattoria Fontegiusta
Ranked #49 of 521 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Excellent food and price. Very nice decoration!
Siena, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
150 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Top-rate Traditional Tuscan Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

This is a wonderful restaurant, serving top-rate traditional tuscan cuisine. They also serve pizza which is perfectly tasty, but I would recommend their hand-made fresh pasta, with their amazing sauces. My favorite dish is the ricotta and spinach tortelli with pumpkin sauce, but everything I have had here has been delicious, and I have eaten here countless times, so you really can't go wrong. On top of the excellent food, the staff and managers are wonderful friendly hard-working people, and the decor includes hundreds of lovely ink and watercolor artworks by a local artist.
The restaurant is spacious, but I would still call ahead to make a reservation, to make sure you can get a seat. It is a very popular place! In the summertime, I recommend trying to get a table on the street.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    515
    177
    64
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

Great food. You have to try the pici pasta (home made spaguetti). The pizza is very good also. Service is fast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrJaviGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plain, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us by staff at the Hotel Garden as one of the locals favorites. It was not fancy but the food was excellent, particularly the steaks. And it was very busy so that's a good clue as to the quality of the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKBettinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fresh pasta galore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

A wonderful eatery in the centre of Sienna… a large array of fresh homemade pasta with some of the most delicious sauces… could not go past the wild bore cheek ragu.. yum yum

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidg777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A meal from Hell.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We asked our hotel to recommend a restaurant which did not involve
walking to far as we had been travelling and done a great deal of
walking that day and it was getting late. We sat inside and ordered. My
starter was a dish with wild boar which was very filling but my main
course of beef slices and rosemary was good. The mixed salad I asked
for however was really disappointing consisting of just one type of
lettuce
and some tasteless tomatoes on the other side of the bowl.
My partner fared considerably worse!
He ordered a risotto with courgettes? asparagus? My comment was it
looked gloopy. He said it was lacking in flavour, added some of the
parmesan which we think was to go with my starter said this made it
passable.
He ordered a beef dish in the Senese style. A gentleman at the table
next to us left quite a bit of a dish and my partner said he hoped he
was not having the same! It arrived and I watched as my partner started
on his dish. He is the least fussy eater you can meet and I watched him
taste the food. The thick sauce made it difficult to see the meat which
was fatty. He tasted it and simply put the plate on the now empty table
next to us. I said I would have that and he refused to let me even try
it saying the taste was unpleasant and it would ruin my dish. There the
plate sat whilst the staff busied themselves clearing and resetting
tables. It was clear that there was a problem but no-one asked if there
was anything they could do. When I finished my meal the waiter came and
said he was sorry that my partner had not liked the meal and the cost
was removed from our bill. My partner has run a restaurant and says the
first thing waiting staff should be taught is to check that everything
is ok and to try to find an alternative if at all possible.

It is possible that the dish was supposed to taste as it did, my
partner thinks it had just been cooking too long and far from enhancing
the flavours as long, slow cooking can do, in this case the dish seemed
bitter and overcooked.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank downsouth20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Fontegiusta also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Trattoria Fontegiusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing