We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo di Valli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo di Valli
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. They staff were incredibly friendly - even stopping as they were leaving when we were returning late at night to check we had our key and didn't need anything. Gorgeous setting and so lovely and peaceful. While it is a 15-20 minute walk to the city centre there is a bus that stops outside the B&B that takes you to the centre. The breakfast was good but agree that coffee from a coffee machine wasn't what you expect in Italy. The room was lovely and plenty of blankets were provided in a linen cupboard. There was a comfy chair in a little nook that was perfect for reading. Parking on-site was more than sufficient and easy to navigate. Hope to return in the future :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank xLauzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    107
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
105
401
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay if you wish historic places. Well sized rooms, 15 minute walk to city center. Breakfast is not the best. Coffee from coffee mashine for Italy is not acceptable. Parking is for medium cars only - too narrow.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EvgeniLedenev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Direzione, Manager at Palazzo di Valli, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear EvgeniLedenev,
thank you for taking time to post your review. We are pleased you liked your room in our hotel, you mentioned “Castle” but this building is a VILLA of the XVIII century .
We are sorry to read that you find our breakfast “not the best”! We bake bread and croissant every morning, we serve fresh products and the best choice of ham, salami and cheese. We serve also yogurt, corn flakes, muesli, 3 different sort of jam, eggs, fresh cakes made every morning, fresh Tuscan milk, the best choice of orange juice, fresh fruits and also very good Italian chocolate like Nutella.
We use a good coffee machine because most of our clients prefer this type of coffee but we also have a good Espresso machine and we are very disappointed that you didn’t ask for an Italian espresso at our waiter !
The hotel has one parking place, available for each room and for any kind of cars (small, medium, large and VAN for 9 people). Maybe takes a little bit more the first time, then will be easier to come inside, as well as the driver of the Laundry truck does..

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Palazzo di Valli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

When we arrived (thanks to Google Maps on iPhone), we were greeted with kindness and open arms. During our stay, the staff was great - they helped with getting around on foot in Siena (or via the bus), day trips from the Hotel, restaurants, and any question you had. I expect this of most places I stay - Palazzo di Valli delivered on all fronts. Our room, #28, overlooked the valley - it was amazing. We could see the fog roll in, in the morning, and roll out in the evening. It was cool enough to sleep with the windows open - such a treat in October.

The hotel is situated a short walk into Siena (or you can wait for the bus) or a very short walk to a close by restaurant.

You felt so comfortable....so much so that engagements with other hotel guests was natural and easy. The staff was spectacular.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room....however, if steps are a challenge, let the staff know. They can accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bchalonergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a historic building, set back from the road, so it is quiet. The innkeepers are pleasant and very helpful. There is a patio with a beautiful view of the city over a valley, which our room shared. The room was fairly spacious, and breakfast was adequate. The inn is about 1.5 miles from the duomo ( measured by pedometer), and it took us about 35 minutes of easy, flat walking. It is longer than the innkeepers would have you believe. There is a bus but the last one out of town leaves at 8:45 PM, too early for after dinner. If you don't want to go to town for dinner, the restaurant across the street from the inn is very good. In summary, this is a very good place to stay if you don't mind the walk to or from town. Note that they will give you a discount if you pay with cash rather than a credit card.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndoverDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This small hotel with 11 rooms only is fully booked from April until the end of October every single year and that is no surprise. So: be on time when you want to stay here and if you don't mind to be surrounded by Americans.
The two managers who run this hotel understand their profession. They make you feel at home completely. We booked a truffle tour, but because of the bad weather this tour was cancelled. They did everything they could to organize another truffle tour and they succeeded! Also, I had a problem with my car and they helped to organize my visit to a local car dealer, rental cars, translations etc.
A top location, top staff and top hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

GORGEOUS, I wish I could go back and stay my whole Italy trip there... Grounds were beautiful, the room was HUGE, ridiculously comfortable bed, big bathroom, and the views from the room was spectacular! 10 min walk into the city, we walked at night and it was very safe. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We only stayed on e night in Palazzo di Valli but thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a short bus ride from Siena and the grounds provide wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. Our hosts were exceptionally accommodating; Lorenzo in particular.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownandcurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
2.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo di Valli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo di Valli

Property: Palazzo di Valli
Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 135, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo di Valli 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo di Valli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Di Valli Siena
Palazzo Di Valli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing