We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely!”
Review of Palazzo di Valli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo di Valli
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is your Tuscan dream come true! I spent 3 days in November. The views are astonishing, the villa is lovely, and both Lorenzo and Giacomo are charming hosts. Giacomo bore with me as I tried to book a bus and then ultimately a train to Rome, a process which took well over an hour. The patio and salon are both nice places to relax. The walk to town can feel long after a few trips. But the bus is right at the foot of the driveway. My room on the ground floor was a bit dark. My only "complaint." Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tags121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    109
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
105
416
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here the first week of October for our honeymoon and couldn't have stayed in a more perfect place. Palazzo di Valli is a quaint hotel with top-notch customer service. The views from our room and the outdoor terrace are breathtaking, and if you want a little more action you can walk about 15 minutes to the center of town or hop on the bus that stops just outside the driveway. The owners were extremely kind, and gave us fantastic recommendations for dinners and excursions. This is also a great location to travel to many different towns in Tuscany. We can't wait to come back for an anniversary!

Room Tip: The extra cost for a room with a view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlmams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here very briefly in the middle of our Italy trip. The 2 managers were awesome. They were so hospitable, welcoming, helpful, and funny! The piece of property is just dreamy and the view can't be beat. Rooms are simple, but charming. We wish we could have stayed longer and vouched to return in the near future. The walk in to town was quicker than 15 minutes. The restaurant across the street from the hotel, Fori Porta (I think that was the name), was one of the best meals we had out of our entire 3 week stay throughout Italy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. They staff were incredibly friendly - even stopping as they were leaving when we were returning late at night to check we had our key and didn't need anything. Gorgeous setting and so lovely and peaceful. While it is a 15-20 minute walk to the city centre there is a bus that stops outside the B&B that takes you to the centre. The breakfast was good but agree that coffee from a coffee machine wasn't what you expect in Italy. The room was lovely and plenty of blankets were provided in a linen cupboard. There was a comfy chair in a little nook that was perfect for reading. Parking on-site was more than sufficient and easy to navigate. Hope to return in the future :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank xLauzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay if you wish historic places. Well sized rooms, 15 minute walk to city center. Breakfast is not the best. Coffee from coffee mashine for Italy is not acceptable. Parking is for medium cars only - too narrow.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EvgeniLedenev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Direzione, Manager at Palazzo di Valli, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear EvgeniLedenev,
thank you for taking time to post your review. We are pleased you liked your room in our hotel, you mentioned “Castle” but this building is a VILLA of the XVIII century .
We are sorry to read that you find our breakfast “not the best”! We bake bread and croissant every morning, we serve fresh products and the best choice of ham, salami and cheese. We serve also yogurt, corn flakes, muesli, 3 different sort of jam, eggs, fresh cakes made every morning, fresh Tuscan milk, the best choice of orange juice, fresh fruits and also very good Italian chocolate like Nutella.
We use a good coffee machine because most of our clients prefer this type of coffee but we also have a good Espresso machine and we are very disappointed that you didn’t ask for an Italian espresso at our waiter !
The hotel has one parking place, available for each room and for any kind of cars (small, medium, large and VAN for 9 people). Maybe takes a little bit more the first time, then will be easier to come inside, as well as the driver of the Laundry truck does..

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Palazzo di Valli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

When we arrived (thanks to Google Maps on iPhone), we were greeted with kindness and open arms. During our stay, the staff was great - they helped with getting around on foot in Siena (or via the bus), day trips from the Hotel, restaurants, and any question you had. I expect this of most places I stay - Palazzo di Valli delivered on all fronts. Our room, #28, overlooked the valley - it was amazing. We could see the fog roll in, in the morning, and roll out in the evening. It was cool enough to sleep with the windows open - such a treat in October.

The hotel is situated a short walk into Siena (or you can wait for the bus) or a very short walk to a close by restaurant.

You felt so comfortable....so much so that engagements with other hotel guests was natural and easy. The staff was spectacular.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room....however, if steps are a challenge, let the staff know. They can accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bchalonergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
179 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a historic building, set back from the road, so it is quiet. The innkeepers are pleasant and very helpful. There is a patio with a beautiful view of the city over a valley, which our room shared. The room was fairly spacious, and breakfast was adequate. The inn is about 1.5 miles from the duomo ( measured by pedometer), and it took us about 35 minutes of easy, flat walking. It is longer than the innkeepers would have you believe. There is a bus but the last one out of town leaves at 8:45 PM, too early for after dinner. If you don't want to go to town for dinner, the restaurant across the street from the inn is very good. In summary, this is a very good place to stay if you don't mind the walk to or from town. Note that they will give you a discount if you pay with cash rather than a credit card.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndoverDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo di Valli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo di Valli

Property: Palazzo di Valli
Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 135, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo di Valli 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Palazzo di Valli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Di Valli Siena
Palazzo Di Valli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing