We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return”
Review of Palazzo di Valli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo di Valli
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A real gem, we are so glad we went with the positive reviews on here! When we return to Tuscany we will definitely make this top of our list. The staff were so friendly and keen to show what Siena had to offer in order to make our stay relaxing and productive at the same time. Their recommendation for dinner at a local restaurant was the best meal I had in our whole week in Italy, and the setting gave the perfect atmosphere for our honeymoon. Having a (very reasonably priced) bottle of quality red wine from the hotel bar on the patio in the evening after dinner looking over the Tuscan hills was one of our holiday highlights and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were wonderful. The 10 minute walk in to town was perfectly do-able and a nice way to start the day. The breakfast was delicious with quality ingredients and plenty of choice. The only slight snag was that noise in parts of the building can travel, but this is a very minor point and all in all it was simply magical and I can't recommend this hotel enough. If only more hotels were like this one! :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Thanks to the wonderful staff who made this an excellent experience. The views and villa are just beautiful and sits just outside the main walls of Siena which is perfect. I highly recommend this property and would make it the only place I stay in the future should I visit again. Special thank you to Giacomo and Lorenzo for being such great hosts. Regards, Charles and family.

Room Tip: Choose room facing rolling hills!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The rooms here were rustic and charming, but clean. It has a nice garden and grounds, set back from the road, and a pretty view of the surrounding areas. Don't expect a modern hotel. The building is very old, but that is part of the charm. The staff here was very helpful, and gave us good dining reservations and helped us arrange a cooking class. My only complaint would be the location, which is almost a 20 minute walk to the center of the city, but otherwise, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 192ivans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We recently spent 4 nights in this fabulous hotel. The decor was breath-taking and the setting truly picturesque. It was our quiet retreat after a day of sightseeing in Siena and neighbouring towns. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean. The hairdryers they provided were the most powerful we had during the 3 weeks we were in Italy. (That's a big plus for some of us!)The staff were attentive, expecially Lorenzo who haulted our heavy luggage up and down the steps for us, and met us with large opened umbrellas at the bottom of the outside stairs the day we returned in a heavy downpour. The hotel was within easy walking distance of old Siena and an inexpensive taxi ride from the train station. We'd love to return again to just relax and soak up the atmosphere this wonderful hotel provides.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platzyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I can't say enough about this hotel...or is it a villa? Anyway, the view and the service were awesome. The price was very reasonable. It is quiet here also. After Rome and Florence - that's exactly what we needed. It's a bit outside of Siena center, but it is an easy walk or bus ride. Friendly people run this place and are happy to help in any way. There is a good restaurant across the street. This is a good home base for exploring the countryside of Tuscany as well. Breakfast was the best of all of those we had in Italy...wide selection, fresh fruit, even eggs made to order. Just great..stay here if you are in the area. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank les p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This hotel is exactly what you'd think of when imagining Tuscany!
The panoramic views from the room are breathtaking! Our room was spacious enough, charming and clean. The staff met and exceeded our expectations! The evening attendant even offered and took us to the train station the following morning. After learning we would miss breakfast, he went and packed us a "to-go" bag for the ride. My husband and I were blown away...that is service that can't be beat!!!
This was the perfect way to unwind before heading home after traveling through Europe the past 14 days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Palazzo di Valli was the perfect combination for what we wanted. Picturesque views of Tuscany and close enough to Siena (a 10 minute walk to the city wall).

The building is an older-style property, with beautiful high ceilings (gives a lovely sense of space) and the rooms are on the larger-side of average. There was a great view of the Tuscan countryside from our bedroom window, and a terrace area outside was a perfect place to sit and have wine & cheese in the evenings, or breakfast in the mornings.

The host (Giacomo) was a lovely natured gentleman, and nothing was too much bother for him at any stage during our stay (3 nights in September).

For our holiday, we loved the fact that we left the bustle of town and had an easy walk back to the Villa which was in a very peaceful setting. If you are not a fan of light exercise on a holiday, then you may prefer to stay somewhere closer to the centre of town, but we loved the 'exhale' of staying in Palazzo di Valli.

Room Tip: Our room had a very small bathroom and shower, but it wasn't a show stopper. There are room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2euroselfserve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
764 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
727 reviews
1.3 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#5 of 40 in Siena
130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo di Valli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo di Valli

Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 135, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £68 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo di Valli 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo di Valli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Di Valli Siena
Palazzo Di Valli Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing