We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended Hotel”
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended Hotel”
Reviewed 21 June 2008

Hotel San Marco was an excellent hotel for us to stay in. One reason was because it has a nice parking lot and we had a rental car. The room was huge and modern (very cool looking) and the bathroom was huge as well. The view was nice. Cleanliness cannot begin to describe this place. Ultra clean facilities were provided. Very quiet too!

The front desk staff were helpful and nice. There was always a bowl of chocolate covered coffee beans on the desk in the lobby. There was no computer available for us to use though. The breakfast each morning was very nice (if you have a sweet tooth!). There were at least 20-25 kinds of various cookies, cakes, pastries. I tried almost every kind!

Unless you have a car, it is very difficult to get up to the town of Siena. The hike is quite lengthy and all uphill, but it can be done if you are fit and like heavy exercise. If not, then either drive up there, or you can eat around the hotel location (there are 2-3 ok restaurants around there). I would definitely highly recommend this hotel to anybody who appreciates truly fine rooms.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaMartinOriginals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chegue79, receptionist at Hotel San Marco, responded to this review, 19 July 2008
Thank you-Thank you-Thank you...
It looks like you appreciate the effords made to create a unique place to stay in Siena. We're aware that our italian breakfast buffet is perfect for those who love sweets, and this can cause some initial problem to people from abroad (but apparently not to you...luckily). I just wanted to inform that those who have a laptop can have Internet access in their room (cable connection-extra fee). Besides that, we always let our Guests check their e-mail boxes or check web-sites on Reception Pc for 10-15 minutes (for free)...you probably haven't asked if this was possible and for sure we haven't told you. Now you know it and for your next stay you'll be able to use also this facility.
Thanks again.
Sara/Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    217
    38
    3
    2
See reviews for
68
288
10
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2008

I highly recommend this hotel! It is modern, clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great! We rented a car and there is free parking and easy access to the highways making this hotel a great location for exploring Tuscany. It is also within walking distance (although uphill) to Siena centre. We would usually take a bus there as the bus stop is right across the street and then walk back in the evenings. I would definitely stay at Hotel San Marco again.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank QBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chegue79, receptionist at Hotel San Marco, responded to this review, 20 July 2008
Dear A and J,
what to say? Well, just ''come back soon!''.
Thank you for staying here and for supporting us with your super-positive feedback.
Sara/Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2008

Hotel San Marco seems almost new!! It is clean, has good parking and the breakfast is great. There is a restaurant right next door and the bus up to the centre is 100 metre walk across from the hotel. We recommend this Hotel and would stay here again.

  • Liked — Good service and cleanliness
  • Disliked — A little way away from main centre for some.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottnEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2007

Small Hotel, 28 rooms, very clean. Rooms were a little small but not by European standards. Hotel is across the street from the shuttle bus stop for the walled city of Siena. Breakfast was better than most. We had omlettes as part of the included breakfast. We had a rental car and parking was free. Hotel driveway is a little tough to find. It is right off the traffic circle. Very quick turn.

Very reasonable! Nice peole on the desk and at the breakfast station.

  • Liked — Free parking, clean room, reasoable price!
  • Disliked — finding the driveway to get in!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldmandiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

Hotel San Marco is officially a three-star superior but it could well be a four star. It was built very recently and it has got that brand-new feeling.
My single room was very nice, spacious and bright - big plasma screen TV and a frantastic shower as well. Bath products were also very good - all ginseng-based - and the hotel also offered a sewing kit, which was nice. Internet is available from the room - they don't have wireless but they are willing to give you a cable should you not travel with your own. It was perhaps slightly expensive (if I remember correctly it was 3 euros for 30 minutes) but internet speed was fast.
The best thing ever was breakfast, probably the best one I have ever come across in a hotel. There were at least seven different types of cakes - I tried two of them and they were absolutely delicious, it felt like being in a patisserie! Also, coffee/cappuccino etc are made with a professional machine, like those you find in bars all over Italy - you don't have to make it yourself from one of those awful machines!
Also, hotel staff was very friendly and helpful - they printed out a few train timetables fr me and also gave me plenty of information about which bus I could take to get to Siena train station (which is 10 minutes drive). Shortly, I would recommend this hotel to anybody and should I stay again in Siena in the future I would definitely stay there.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank straycat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2007

A one night stay on the edge of Siena - modern clean and efficient - the ideal traveller's stop over on a medium budget.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Lack of public rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Calpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 May 2006

Although the hotel is located on the outskirts of town, for the price (70E, single) the value was great for early May. The rooms are modern and the breakfast service was excellent. Do not try to reach the hotel by foot as I did. A bus stop is located nearby and you can get a ride into town for less than 0,80E. After hours (9PM) a taxi from downtown costs 8 to 9E.

Donald

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,044 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,221 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Colonna
Hotel La Colonna
#14 of 40 in Siena
563 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
2,080 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Property: Hotel San Marco
Address: Strada Massetana 70, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Siena
#12 Family Hotel in Siena
#14 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing