We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, ample parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Il Giardino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Il Giardino
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“great location, ample parking”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

the title says it all - I am sure you would find it difficult to find a better place to stay if you intend to drive to Siena. You can park, check in, have a drink around the pool, and then walk into the city, all in the space of 1 hour. great stuff.
dont forget your swimming trunks (I did, unfortunately)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    120
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
64
142
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was a pleasant experience overall. The rooms were clean, but they had an admittedly dated feel. A remodeling could do wonders. The breakfast was included and the cappuccino was delicious. What set this hotel apart for me was the location and available parking. I had a car and wanted to make sure I could park it for free. I also wanted to be close enough so that I could walk to the city center. The hotel was great for this purpose. The walk to the piazza del campo is only about 15 to 20 minutes. Perhaps I was most surprised by the friendliness of the staff. You can tell that the people who work at the hotel are fully invested in it. They are very attentive and great hosts. What a pleasure to meet such nice people! Loved the friendly cat and dog too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My significant other and I had a 3 night stay in Siena. Il Giardino is located close to the main attractions - centre of the city. Walking distance to pretty much everything! The views from the hotel were spectacular. The rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly.
Only problem we had was the noise level. Every morning around 7am there was excessive banging and noises echoing throughout the hallways. This comes from the breakfast room. You had no opportunity to sleep past 7am. It was unfortunate. As well the rooms were quite cold with limited blankets. If you are looking to sleep in past 7am you may want to reconsider your accommodation - but if you are looking for a clean room. Helpful staff in a central location I recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the breakfast area as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you have a car this hotel is ideal. The parking is very easy, we had a 9 person passenger van which is not easy to maneuver in Italy and their easy, outdoor parking was exactly what we needed. You are literally right outside the walls and it is a 20 minute walk to the center (piazza) of town. We had 4 kids in our group so having a pool was great, in the summer months - especially August the afternoons get very hot and taking a break during this time was wonderful. The pool was beautiful with an amazing view of the Sienna bell tower - the pool area had a restaurant on the premises which allowed us to have drinks by the pool and a light lunch in the shade. The family that ran the hotel, Gianna and Umberto were lovely and very kind. So if you want an easy place to leave your car and would like the amenities of a pool this hotel is perfect and that is what you are paying for. If quality of rooms is a priority, than this isn't for you, the 3 rooms we had (2 triples and 1 double) were old, smelled musty, AC did not work, loud at night and the beds were simply uncomfortable. If you think you'll be spending a lot of time in your actual room than this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Il Giardino is a professionally run family hotel just outside the walls of Siena. It will take you 20 to 30 minutes to walk there from the bus station. The hotel pool is a delight: large and clean. It is also frequented by the locals, so it can be quite busy. The rooms are OK. The AC didn't seem to be working though. The breafast is good: fresh fruit, good coffee, sweet pastry and toasted bread. The staff is very friendly, the view of Siena and the Tuscan countryside is stunning.

Room Tip: Stay at the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanPietro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

There are two parts to this hotel, one new and one incredibly old. We were in the old section which was terrible. Our room was dark and dank, and had a terrible smell to it. The walls were paper thin and the AC was awful, even by Italian standards. It seems like the newer rooms were nicer, those are the ones pictured here.

The breakfast was great, I would skip the lunch service. The owners were wonderful, just make sure to ask them to be in the new side.

We specifically chose this hotel because of the pool which was fine, our kids loved being able to take a break from the heat and sight seeing during the day. But the pool was open to the public for a fee. Each day there were a ton of obnoxious young men who were speaking and behaving very disrespectfully about the women at the pool even though there were several children around.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiliGuida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This was our second visit to the Hotel Il Giardino. We were touring in in Tuscany and only staying one night but remembered the excellent location and booked at the hotel.
The hotel is outside the walls just off a main road and has good parking but is only about 100yd to a gate and then you are inside the city.
The breakfast was excellent and had improved since our last visit, the owners were as friendly and obliging as ever and the view over the city takes some beating.
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlandmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Colonna
Hotel La Colonna
#12 of 40 in Siena
533 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#8 of 40 in Siena
481 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
1,984 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
1,974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#24 of 40 in Siena
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Giardino

Property: Hotel Il Giardino
Address: Via Baldassarre Peruzzi 33, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Giardino 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel il Giardino in Siena is situated close to one of the ancient gates to the town's historical centre, while Siena's most famous square, the "Piazza del Campo", is only half a mile away. The hotel offers splendid views of the town's skyline with its mediaeval buildings and monuments but also of the surrounding hills and countryside.Hotel il Giardino in Siena has recently been extended with eco-technology in mind. It also has an outdoor swimming pool and solarium, a well-equipped fitness room, a large Jacuzzi and a Turkish bath. Private parking is included in the room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Il Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giardino Hotel
Il Giardino Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing