We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but the owners could get more out of it”
Review of Casale Virgili

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casale Virgili
Ranked #32 of 120 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Heers, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel but the owners could get more out of it”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is nice. It is a nice old building with his natural charme.
The rooms were a bit small, but still ok and clean !!
Nice garden and pool area, but it could have been nicer if there were a couple of extra plants and if they masked the view on the motorway.
Breakfast was good, with several things to choose off, allthough it was basic.
Maybe the staff could have been a bit more informative about things to do or to find in the area, we asked for the rental of a motrocycle but they didn't find an addres while we found one during our second day in Siena.
And the motor way is indeed disturbing the countryside athmosphere that we were looking for in this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    94
    21
    7
    0
See reviews for
48
135
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Close enough to the city of Siena but with country flavor and wonderful views of the hills of Tuscany. We stayed one night in a clean, simple room with bathroom, perfect for us. The setting is beautiful, nice gardens, great breakfast, nice staff, great value.

Room Tip: If you have trouble going up and down the steps, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelizPortenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here for one night after visiting Sienna. The apartment was a good size, well decorated and spotlessly clean. There is a pool but this wasn't open in May which was a shame. The gardens are pleasant but are spoilt by the noise from a motorway a short distance away.

There was a great deal of noise from other guests during the night, until about 2am. Chairs scrapping across the floor and children shouting. Also the car park was in front of our apartment and slamming car doors continued until late.

Breakfast was included - pastries, cold meats, cereal, fruit salad, juice & coffee - which was good, and the staff were very friendly.

Convenient for visiting Sienna but the drive way to the car park is not for the feint hearted driver, especially if others have parked inconsiderately at the bottom.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The room was clean and well maintained, however it was noisy. I could hear every footstep of who was going in and out until the middle of the night. Of course, the bathroom is separate from the room so you have no privacy. Breakfast was ok; they had the same thing everyday, pastries, cakes, and a tasteless cappuccino.

No waste your money stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: the top rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Empress H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Excellent views. Beautiful, peaceful location. Delicious breakfast. A short bus ride into the heart of Siena. Wonderful, friendly staff.Even with language differences, I felt comfortable and welcomed. Very easy to get to bus, short ride to train station, or to center of Siena. I did not have a car, and it was no problem at all. If I was heading to the area, I would choose this B & B without hesitation. I enjoyed being out in the country and being able to relax after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This B&B is a great place to stay if you want to visit the South of Tuscany. You are about 10 minutes by car to Siena, 20 minutes to Monteriggioni (small village with 3 restaurants. One of them is the Ristorante da Remo and it is really good ), 1 hour to Montepulciano, 1 hour 1/2 to Cortona and Volterra.

The house is so nice. It is very old but in great shape at the same time wich make is charm. It's nice for the kids to see that those kind of historicals habitations still exist. The family who take care of the place are very friendly and explain to you, as soon as you arrive, what is ther to see in the area and how to get there.

We were there at the beginning of august and the temperature was reaching 43 degrees in the afternoon !! It was so hot and it was really nice to know that there was a pool waiting for us to relax in.The only problem we had with the B&B in this heat wave was that they don't have air conditioning. Even though it's in the country and it's a bit fresher, It's was still a little difficult to sleep. The room was nice. The little breakfast place was so cute. You could eat Inside or outside and since 08h00 in the morning was the coolest time of the day, everybody was eating outside. They had nice homemade pastries, croissants, fruits and yogurt.

We were there for 4 nights and were really sad to leave this little place in the country. We would recommand this place for the B&B in itself, but also because it' easy to drive anywhere and you really feel like you are on vacation with all these nice sceneries..

Room Tip: I would recommand a room on the other side of the driveway (the same side of the reception) because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcote2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Set in a beautiful location with stunning views. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and the room was lovely - clean, cool and spacious.
The swimming pool is a great addition and it was nice to be able to relax by the pool in the afternoon after coming back from sight seeing in Siena. Siena is only 5-10 minutes way by car - a car is pretty much essential though unless you don't mind relying on taxis.
Breakfast was very good - a good selection of crossiants, meats and cake. Again, the staff at breakfast were very friendly and always on hand when we had questions about where to go for dinner and the sights we should see.
I would definitely recommend Casale Virgili for a rue Tuscan experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahTrevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.8 mi away
B&B Gli Archi
B&B Gli Archi
#24 of 120 in Siena
211 reviews
2.1 mi away
Borgo Grondaie
Borgo Grondaie
#3 of 120 in Siena
665 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Cambi B&B
Villa Cambi B&B
#55 of 120 in Siena
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Podere La Strega
Podere La Strega
#18 of 120 in Siena
188 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Fonte dei Tufi
2.3 mi away
Podere Il Pero
Podere Il Pero
#2 of 86 in Siena
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale Virgili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Virgili

Property: Casale Virgili
Address: Strada Cassia Nord 55 | San Dalmazio, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casale Virgili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing