We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet spacious room, ten minute walk to Siena”
Review of Hotel La Colonna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Colonna
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2011

This hotel was relatively well located. It took us about twenty minutes to get from the station to hotel by bus (Bus 3 I believe; Cost about 1 Euro). The hotel is located on a busy raod but our room was situated at the back of the hotel so the noise was not an issue. In fact, our room was extremely quiet. The television in the room was only thirteen inches but we didn't really mind. The breakfast was quite good and all and all, we were very pleased with our one night stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABBY1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2010

Good Hotel.. good deal.. free parking..pool.. good breakfast.. good service.. and most important a very good nights sleep!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlhrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Found this hotel on tripadvisor and have to admit, it more than exceeded expectations. Nice clean rooms, warm and friendly staff and very easily accessible from the city centre. Requested a room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet. The Breakfast room was spacious and the spread was good, though very typical Italian style with pastries, Croissant, Juices etc.; loved the Cappuccino and Cafe Latte. We didnt want a place inside the city walls since we had a rented car, this hotel had free parking and was easily accessible. There's a couple buses that take you to the city centre, very convenient as the stop is right outside the hotel. Great little family run Trattoria very close, loved the pizza and calzone. The hotel doesnt have any laundry facility, used one at the city centre that was very convenient. All in all though, a very nice place and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontonianArv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

On the outskirts of the old part of Siena which is easily accessible by bus within 5-10 minutes. Clean room, nice bathroom. Parking available for guests touring Tuscany by auto. Main highway a few meters away.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tramel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

This hotel is outside of Sienna and about a 15 - 20 min walk from the Centre and we booked it as we had a car and knew we would struggle for parking in Sienna itself. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and you go to the little shop up the road and buy a 1 euro ticket and the bus takes you into Sienna, they go every 15 mins or so. It's very clean, has a nice pool area, the breakfast was good but that's about it I'm afraid! The room was on the front of the hotel and we were on the top floor. Unfortunately it’s based on a very busy road and the road noise is quite bad. We asked to change rooms as we where there for 3 nights and had paid 80 euro's a night but they wouldn't move us to the back of the hotel unless we paid more money. The rooms need a bit of an update but the bathroom was nice. The pool is lovely but the loungers are very out of date and you end up lying on 3 metal bars instead of the material. The parking round the back of the hotel was free and the location is convenient if you want to venture out to Chianti as you are right near the motorway junction. When we booked the hotel they said they charged 10 euro's a night for the parking but it was free which is good. No internet access at the hotel but lots of internet places in Sienna itself, you just need ID to use it! Passport or driving license, very strange Italian law!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed here for just one night whilst driving through Siena. The hotel was very easy to find with parking at the rear.

It is a little walk into town along an unlit road with no footpath but we didn't find this too much of an issue.

The room was clean with everything we needed. It was no frills but we had no complaints. The breakfast was not great to be honest but was adequate.

The pool looked inviting but we didnt have time for a dip.

Over all, hotel was ok and if you are looking for a bed for the night without all the extras then you should consider this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little-Rolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

This Hotel was recommended and booked by Friends and it didn't disappoint . Our room was at the back of the hotel so very quiet. The room was a good size which was very clean and comfortable with a good size bathroom. The hotel offered free parking which was very convenient and as there was a bus stop outside the door we were able to abandon the car and get to the centre of Siena for 1 euro having purchased the tickets from reception. Breakfast is good with a good selection of cereals, breads etc to suit most tastes. The swimming pool makes for a relaxing time after hours of site seeing and has towels and deck chairs provided. The receptionist, Loriana, was excellent, speaking very good english and nothing was too much trouble for her.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBAKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
2.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,342 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#9 of 40 in Siena
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colonna

Address: Strada di Pescaia 73 / 75, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £55 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Colonna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colonna Hotel
La Colonna Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing