We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for being located just outside the centre.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Colonna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Colonna
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Convenient for being located just outside the centre.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Located just upside the historic centre (down the hill). It is easy to get to and you are in the centre by bus in minute. If you prefer to all there was a row of escalators that assist in the climb. The hotel pool is a favorite in the mornings if you want a little less sun, go in the afternoons when the patio area is shaded by the building. There are large umbrellas for shade at anytime of the day. Just an option. The rooms are just large enough for two to maneuver around separate beds without difficulty. Try to get a room overlooking the pool area for more quiet as the motorbikes screaching down the road on the otherside can be hair raising (it only happened a few times, so it really wasn't an issue). There is a small supermarket nearby and a bar for getting bus tickets just a few steps from the door. Convenient.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pthft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    299
    83
    15
    0
See reviews for
61
308
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Fortunately/unfortunately our one night stay in Sienna coincided with the Palio. Fortunately because we managed to be part of the madness associated with the event but unfortunate in that we were not able to stay in the town itself. The Colonna is situated just outside the city and it is easy to get to and from the centre. The hotel is quite comfortable and clean but strangely featureless.There are a number of good restaurants within easy walking distance but our overriding feeling was that we wanted to be closer to the action.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauPaSat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pisa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

The hotel is located on the bottom of siena's hill, and it might be a hassle if you have heavy bags or do not walk well. There's a frequent bus to the center, however, with good legs and lungs the walk uphill is dramatic via Fontebranda, and the restaurants in the area are excellent. The road is traveled and noisy so better use the back rooms; very minimal breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for the back rooms they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burgundio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

First, let me say that I booked this hotel a week before il Palio, and it was pretty much the only option. It was by far the least expensive place we stayed on our trip, and we came to this hotel from Residenza del Moro in Florence, so there was a huge drop in hotel class.

So take these facts into consideration when reading my review.

The location is outside of the city walls, about 1 mile away from the city center. Not walkable TO the city due to the uphill, but there is a city bus stop out front, or a cab will take you there for 10 euros. The walk back is relatively fast (15 min or so), but hardly a pleasant promenade, as you're basically just walking on the side of the road.

If you're traveling with a car, the location is actually excellent, as you can drop it off at their free parking lot and explore the city, which is otherwise closed to cars.

The hotel and the rooms are basic but clean, as would match a 2-3 star hotel. We had a small room with a bed and not much else. Breakfast is adequate. Pool is present, but not a place you might want to lounge at for a long time. A/C functional, parking lot accessible...

In short, basic, acceptable accommodations for car travelers on a strict budget or with limited options.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grouville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here on day three of our time in Tuscany and were really pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The staff were fantastic and so helpful with places to go in Sienna and where to eat etc.

It's a little out of the main city, but easily walkable and actually better for not being surrounded by the hoards of tourists. We didn't have a car and arrived by train and I think it was a 15 euro taxi ride from the station for thw two of us. It does face a busy road, but our room was on the interior so we had no trouble sleeping. If you're travelling with a car, this would be perfect.

The rooms are a really good size and very clean. They have air con, and a good size bathroom. The breakfast was really good with plenty to choose from.

The absolute unexpected bonus with this hotel is a really lovely patio area at the rear of the hotel with a very nice swimming pool! When it's almost 30 degrees and you've got weary feet after a day of sight seeing, the pool is an incredible bonus!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrouvilleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Found this place by accident and couldn't believe how lucky I was. A short 1-stop bus ride UP to Siena's centre (and a short walk DOWN the hill if necessary). Free Parking, A/C, Pool, Breakfast, nice rooms, and a REALLY FRIENDLY and KNOWLEDGEABLE staff (Grazie Bruno!).
What more do you want. the rate was VERY fair, especially considering we were there the night before the PALIO started!

Room Tip: I didn't notice the noise as i was tired by the time i went to bed, but maybe best to choose a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We booked room 401, which is one which can be used for those with disabilities, on the ground floor next to the kitchen. There are some pretty bad issues with it:

* When using the shower, the entire bathroom floor floods as the plug hole is higher than the rest of the room (as well as being partially blocked). Reception "didn't have another room" when we mentioned it to them (perhaps bored - am sure we aren't the first to notice).
* The room is very very stuffy and the aircon doesn't do very much to change that. The thermostat does full circles, which never gives much confidence it is working.
* The kitchen next door gets noisy from 8am and until 11am and God help you if you are still trying to sleep afterwards because the cleaners start knocking your door every 10 minutes and shouting through it that you are the last to be cleaned. Then they don't give you any toiletries to make you think more about what you have done.
* The quality and variety at the breakfast was poor (no ham, just slices of cheese, one type of bread, unripe fruit, sickly pseudo orange juice, you get the idea).

Things we did like:
* The pool area is a great place to chill out for a while.
* The wifi coverage is good throughout the hotel.
* The free car park at the back
* The bus stop to the centre is right next door

All in all though, we wouldn't rush back here.

Room Tip: If you get room 401 jump up and down until they reallocate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElGales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
2.2 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colonna

Property: Hotel La Colonna
Address: Strada di Pescaia 73 / 75, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Colonna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colonna Hotel
La Colonna Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing