We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3 star hotel”
Review of Hotel La Colonna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Colonna
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent 3 star hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

I've read most of the reviews about the Colonna Hotel after we stayed there one night in a street side room. Sure you can hear the sounds of the roadway and yes it isn't in the center of town but, it is a three star hotel and you are in Italy!
The room and bathroom was clean and the breakfast was fantastic! If you came to Italy to watch the television, this is not the place to stay. It is small, and probably so are you. It is convenient for bus travelers as the but to Rome stops right in from of the hotel as does the local busses to the center of town. We will definitely be back.
Michael & Silenia

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Atruenerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    310
    86
    15
    0
See reviews for
63
323
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We are very happy with our choice of this hotel in Siena. Firstly off-road parking is free; the local bus close to hotel takes you to city centre in minutes. Wi Fi is free, and breakfast offers a wide choice of fresh fruit, cereals, cold meats, cheese, breads & pastries far more than the usual continental breakfast. Our room is large & comfortable.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg & Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed at the hotel 3 nights. We paid extra for the “pool view” room as we worried about the noise from the main road. The room was very quiet and spacious. The facilities were adequate for a 3 stars hotel, while the breakfast exceeded the expectations. There was a large variety of baked products and fruit. The location was very convenient as we were travelling with a car and it took only a few minutes to get to the center of the city with bus 54. If we get the chance – would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: "pool view" rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maayan_gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

Not central. But a local bus takes you near Piazza del Campo quickly. Very easy to find if coming from regional road from Firenze hence extremely convenient if travelling by car. Parking is free and that's a plus. The hotel must have been renovated recently since we found to be in a very well kept environment. The room was large and clean and well decorated. Pleasant and helpfull staff. B/fast included in the price and decently organised. If staying in summer they even have a pool (unfortunately we didn't). Overall excellent if ratio price/quality is considered. Definitely would return if travelling to Siena by car again. Job well done to all at Hotel la Colonna. Thanks for a pleasant stay.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcccld73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The best feature was definetly the free parking. Everything else was just more than good enough for the price we paid: good location (five minutes away from the city center by bus) confortable bed, clean room and bathroom (with a nice bathtub), very good breakfast and a very nice receptionist (Bruno, I guess). I was a little bit scared about the traffic noise as soon as I came into the room but it was not really loud and didn't go on until late at night or wake me up in the morning. Thumbs up! I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are really bothered by the any kind of noise at all, make sure you get a rear room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PublioF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed at La Colonna two nights. We chose this hotel because we had a car, the parking is free and convenient. The location is not too far from the escalator that bring you straight to Siena d-town. The bathroom was newer and fairly clean. What wasn't good was: the rooms at the first floor was full of mold, we had to change to upper floor; the AC wasn't working, making the air stuffy; the traffic on the street is terrible; the management isn't helpful. Wouldn't stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonsochenomemettere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This hotel was adequate given the area and hotel prices. Free private parking behind the hotel. The room was old and well worn but adequate. The shower head detached from its fitting and could not be reattached so had to be hand held. The Wi Fi worked fine. Breakfast was OK. There was a second twin bed in the room which we didn't ask for. The room was not carpeted. Old fashioned mechanical key so security was iffy. No in room safe.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homeboynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
2.2 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#9 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colonna

Property: Hotel La Colonna
Address: Strada di Pescaia 73 / 75, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Colonna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colonna Hotel
La Colonna Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing