We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.......for us”
Review of Hotel La Colonna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Colonna
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was an interesting stay as the reviews prior to booking appeared a little mixed. So,
If any others are in two minds I will try and clarify, from our perspective.
The hotel is around 25-30 mins walk from centre( although there is public transport). The rooms at the front are more noisy. TBH these are the only 2 disadvantages I seen.
On the other hand, the distance from the centre was excellent for us as it is 2 mins off the motorway and we are happy to walk. It is a 1 km walk to the city parking area from which there are escalators to take you up. The hotel is friendly, spotlessly clean with a lovely breakfast. There are various grades of room. Those at the back more expensive, even at the front some are smaller than others. We had a large room with large bathroom by Italian standards.
All in all very glad we stayed. The hotel itself deserves 3-4 stars but allowing for the very reasonable cost in a city like Siena, made it a 5. It would be our first choice when we return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CelticFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Colonna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

the room was big as was the bathroom but if you stay in a room facing the road be warned,you will not get much sleep even though ear plugs are provided.
the breakfast however was the best we got in the 5 different hotels we stayed in during our 1 week trip and the free parking was a bonus.there is a bus stop just outside the door so it was easy to leave the car at the hotel as city parking can be a problem

Room Tip: pay extra and stay at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Our two night stay at hotel la colonna was a little disappointing. We chose the hotel based on the free parking and close proximity to Siena. The hotel is near the highway, and the neighborhood is very commercial. I would not recommend staying here if you don't have a car. It is possible to walk to Siena (we did twice), but it takes about 30 minutes and there are not sidewalks most of the way. The room was adequate in size, but it didn't seem to have been deep cleaned in quite a while. There was a very strong musty smell that lingered even with the windows open. Also, the shower doors didn't seal properly, so the bathroom floor flooded every time we bathed. The included breakfast was the one redeeming factor. Decent selection of meat, cheese, pastries, cereal, and yogurt. The fresh croissants were delicious. Overall, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I booked the Hotel online based on the reviews and the suitable price
I was very pleasently surprised as the Hotel was great, big clean room,pool view,nice breakfast
The best staff who were very helpful especially Bruno and Reda
The hotel position is very convenient and has shops very close by and great restaurants and the bus at the door
Definitely reccomended

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or pool view as the front is on a main road
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Happy132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very nice Hotel. Comfortable, clean and well-equipped rooms. There is a pool and cozy terrace. It is not in the heart of the city, but you can easily get into the centre. And if you are travelling by car is perfect: free parking and easy acess to the road.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camillitcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is a very nice Hotel with comfortable well-equipped rooms which are very clean, a pool and terrace, free parking and easy to get to the centre of Siena and out of the City when you leave. There is a bus route into the Centre of the old part of Siena and buses run on a regular half hourly basis. Tickets can be bought next door to the hotel, which is useful! The hotel does not serve evening meals but does a very good breakfast. Staff are friendly and helpful, giving ideas of where to go and how to get there. There are not many restaurants in the area, as far as we could see, and the two recommended by the Hotel were owned by the same people and not that brilliant, but the one furthest from the Hotel was OK for an evening out. We didn't try the Pizzeria - we can get Pizza at home and wanted real Italian food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conquerors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a great location if you are exploring Tuscany via car - free parking and very close to the highway exit (Siena ovest). The hotel is down the hill from the Siena center, but the bus into Siena is just outside the hotel. There is also a grocery store and an excellent pizzeria within a few minutes walk. The reception staff, particularly Bruno, were exceedingly helpful in providing driving directions, bus information, calling taxis, etc. Several in our group had rooms facing the street and said that it could be noisy, but the hotel provides ear plugs in the rooms and no one had trouble sleeping. It was a little chilly to use the pool, but it is very nice with loungers. Breakfast was also very good. And, this was one of the best showers I've ever had in Italy - very strong water pressure and no shortage of hot hot water!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
2.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
2,133 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#9 of 40 in Siena
520 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colonna

Address: Strada di Pescaia 73 / 75, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £60 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Colonna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colonna Hotel
La Colonna Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing