We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”
Review of Hotel La Colonna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Colonna
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We chose this hotel because of other reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, the rooms are a good size, large beds and all you need in a bathroom, ours had bath and shower. Breakfast is good, they offer free parking which is a bonus in the area. There is a small garden with a swimming pool, loungers and deck chairs provided together with towels. There is a shuttle bus from outside the door of the hotel which goes into the centre of Siena for 1 Euro, tickets can be purchased from the hotel, so all very convenient. The receptionist, Loriana, made our stay as she spoke very good English, couldn't have been more helpful and sent us to lots of interesting places and good restaurants. Our rooms were at the back of the hotel and we couldn't hear anything, there is a busy road in the front so possibly more noise in front facing rooms

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Colonna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2010

Large rooms and bathrooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast included in hotel stay. Location perfect -- quiet neighborhood on the bus route to the center of Siena. Just a few minutes' bus ride. Ask for a room at the back. This is a super hotel for very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra35091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Stayed at the lovely La Colonna in March and it was perfect. Great price, clean and charming and it served a perfect breakfast buffet. The staff was wonderful and thoughtful. Probably would be very nice in the warmer weather when the gardens are blooming and the pool is available. Would stay longer next time and for the price, you can't beat it! Quick ride on the shuttle bus into town center. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bogeyks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

As advertised/recommended on TripAdvisor -- Very clean, comparitively cheap, wonderful staff, and decent location. Not in the center of town, but with good weather that's a bonus so you can walk off the food and wine! If the walk is too much, the bus stops right by the hotel -- the taxi from centro was €7.50 after a night of shear gluttony (sigh...). I have paid much more for much less, this one is a keeper on my list of "places to stay". Having said all that, I can see where this could be rather loud if it's full and/or there are kids present. The walls, ceilings are not exactly soundproof -- even though it was relatively empty (early season), we knew if there were other guests'. Still, this is Europe and part of the deal is adventure -- which inludes some noise -- that's what pillows are for (cover your head). I'd still stay here -- it's wonderfully clean and efficient and the staff was more than helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lostyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We spent 2 nights in the Hotel la Colonna. It is the perfect location for visiting Siena. Park in the free car park and no worries. There is a shuttle bus every 15 minutes (30 on Sunday) practically stopping at the front door that goes to the historic center!! Our room was located in the back of the hotel. It was quiet, large and comfortable. The king size bed had a very good mattress and linens were decent quality. The free internet worked perfectly. Breakfast was plentiful with fruit, cereal, yogurt, ham & cheese and excellent breakfast pastries. When we checked the prices of the hotels in Siena, they were rather high. Hotel la Colonna is an excellent value.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary_gregoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Arrived in beautiful Sienna on a Friday without any reservations. After a stroll through the city, we had amended our proposed one night stay to two nights! Hit an internet cafe and, on the strength of past tripadvisor reports, booked online into La Colonna. We were not disappointed. For the driver, the location is excellent; adjacent to the autostrada, with free parking, there's no necessity to get involved in the chaos that inevitably results in driving in Italy's historic centres. Drop the car, get a bus into town and take the escalator back (an experience in itself, with the top entrance beside the Duomo).

La Colonna was clean, comfortable, with very reasonable rates (even given our late booking), and with helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable staff. At the beginning of October, my friend swam both days in the pretty little pool. If you're bothered by noise, ask for a room at the rear, as the road to the front is very busy during the day. Sienna is stunning (with possibly the prettiest girls in the world). I'd go back tomorrow (I wish)!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whohim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

I stayed in this hotel one night in September and it definitely met our expectations with its cleanness, big enough double rooms to comfortably accommodate two people. Bathroom functioned very well with hot water and new looking bath environment. We reserved a room looking at the pool side of the hotel (based on recommendations in tripavdisor) to guarantee a quite night sleep and indeed it was quite and I could definitely say that this hotel provides almost all that you need for a decent night sleep, except for one thing; the curtains were too light in color and could not darken enough the room for the night so if you are looking for a complete darkness in the room during the night you need to make sure to bring your eye covers or ask for a room with darker curtains. The free parking area that the hotel offers was also a big advantage for a night stay in Siena if you are traveling with a car. There are close parking areas to the city which you can also park there but they cost about 5 Euro for 2 hr..Breakfast was rich from what we expected with cereals, bread, cakes, fruits, etc so I would conclude saying that La Colonna has very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rehber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
2.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
2,132 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#9 of 40 in Siena
520 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colonna

Address: Strada di Pescaia 73 / 75, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £61 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Colonna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colonna Hotel
La Colonna Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing